何謂虛擬化?

當我們在談論雲端運算時,我們首先需要了解虛擬化是什麼,因為它是運算運算中主要的概念之一。

什麼是虛擬化?

在雲端運算中,虛擬化是指硬體虛擬化,也就是在操作系統(OS)中創建虛擬機。

為什麼使用虛擬化?

以前,當我們運行操作系統時,我們只能在一台物理伺服器上運行一個操作系統。如果我們需要同時運行多個操作系統,我們則需要具備多個伺服器來運行所有的操作系統,因為每個操作系統都需要一台專屬的物理伺服器。這意味著運行擁有多個操作系統是一項極為耗費成本的工作。您不僅需要購買大量物理伺服器,而且還需要在這些伺服器的運營和維護上花費更多的成本。

物理伺服器

現在,您有了更好的選擇 - 虛擬化。
虛擬化允許您將操作系統與底層硬體分開,這意味著您可以在單個物理計算機上同時運行多個操作系統,如windows和Linux操作系統。這些操作系統稱為虛擬系統(操作系統)。虛擬化可以節省金錢和時間。

虛擬機

虛擬化的好處

  • 靈活性:在同一硬體上同時運行多個操作系統
  • 敏捷性:移動操作系統的方式與將文件或圖片從一台物理伺服器移動到另一台物理伺服器的方式相同。
  • 容錯:當物理伺服器出現故障時,管理軟體會自動將實例遷移到可用伺服器,以至於您甚至無法意識到物理硬體出現故障。
  • 降低成本:您不再需要過多的物理伺服器,因此您的電費,以及操作和維護所需的費用也隨之減少。

虛擬化如何工作?

運行虛擬化首先還是需要具備物理伺服器硬體,但是我們不是直接在該硬體上安裝操作系統,而是安裝一個稱為虛擬機監視器的軟體,它允許我們將一個物理系統分成許多不同且孤立的虛擬環境,這些虛擬環境也稱為虛擬機。

相關文章

What Is Virtualization?

When talking about cloud computing, we first need to understand what virtualization is as it is one of the main concepts behind cloud computing.

What is virtualization?

In cloud computing, virtualization refers to hardware virtualization, which means to create virtual machines within an operating system (OS).

Why use virtualization?

Normally when we run an OS, we need to run each OS on a dedicated physical server. If we need to run more than one operating system simultaneously, we need multiple servers to run all of them, because one physical server is required per one operating system. This means that running multiple operating systems is an expensive endeavor. You not only need to buy a lot of physical servers, you would also need to spend more on the operations and maintenance (O&M) of these servers.

physical machines

Now, you have better option – virtualization.
Virtualization allows you to separate the operating system from the underlying hardware, which means you can run multiple operating systems such as Windows and Linux, at the same on a single physical machine. These operating systems are called guest OSes (operating systems). Virtualization allows you to save money and time.

virtual machines

Benefits of virtualization

  • Flexibility: Running multiple operating systems simultaneously on the same hardware
  • Agility: Moving operating systems the same way you can move a file or a picture from one physical server to another physical server.
  • Fault tolerance: When a physical server fails, management software automaticlaly migrates instances to available servers so quickly that you don’t even realize the physical hardware has failed.
  • Cost efficiency: You need less physical servers and pay less for your power bill, operations, and maintenance.

How does virtualization work?

Physical server hardware is of course still required, but instead of directly installing an operating system on that hardware, we instead install a piece of software called a hypervisor, which allows us split one physical system into many distinct and isolated virtual environments called virtual machines.

Related Articles