何謂虛擬機監視器?

虛擬機監視器(Hypervisor)是安裝在物理硬體上的軟體層,通過虛擬化可以將物理機分成許多虛擬機。這樣多個操作系統可以在一個物理硬體上同時運行。安裝在虛擬機上的操作系統稱為虛擬操作系統,也稱為實例。有虛擬機監視器運行的硬體稱為主機。虛擬機管理控制台(也稱為虛擬機管理員(VMM))是一種計算機軟體,可以輕鬆管理虛擬機。

虛擬機監視器

虛擬機監視器的類型

有兩種類型的虛擬機監視器:Type1虛擬機監視器和Type2虛擬機監視器。
Type1虛擬機監視器也稱為原生或裸機虛擬機監視器,可直接安裝在硬體上,將硬體拆分為多個虛擬機,我們可以在其中安裝虛擬機操作系統。虛擬機管理軟體有助於管理此虛擬機監視器,允許根據當前資源要求在物理伺服器之間自動移動虛擬機操作系統。

Type1虛擬機監視器的優點

  • 容錯:當實例所在的物理伺服器出現故障時,虛擬機管理軟體會將實例自動遷移到可用的伺服器上,我們甚至可能都注意不到物理硬體出現故障用戶不會遇到任何當機,並且可以在維護和操作人員方便的時間修理或更換發生故障的硬體。
  • RAM容量的超量/動態分配:在伺服器上運行多個實例時,分配給虛擬機的總RAM可以大於底層硬體的總物理內存容量。

type1虛擬機監視器

Type2虛擬機監視器也稱為主機虛擬機監視器,它安裝在主機操作系統中,其優點是不需要虛擬機管理控制台。Type2虛擬機監視器不支持RAM的動態/動態分配,因此在為虛擬機分配資源時需要小心。

type2虛擬機監視器

相關文章

What Is Hypervisor?

A hypervisor is a software layer installed on the physical hardware, which allows splitting the physical machine into many virtual machines. This allows multiple operating systems to be run simultaneously on the same physical hardware. The operating system installed on the virtual machine is called a guest OS, and is sometimes also called an instance. The hardware the hypervisor runs on is called the host machine. A hypervisor management console, which is also called a virtual machine manager (VMM), is computer software that enables easy management of virtual machines.

hypervisor

Types of hypervisor

There are two types of hypervisors: type 1 hypervisors and type 2 hypervisors.
Type 1 hypervisor is also called a native or bare-metal hypervisor that is installed directly on the hardware, which splits the hardware into several virtual machines where we can install guest operating systems. Virtual machine management software helps to manage this hypervisor, which allows guest OSes to be moved automatically between physical servers based on current resources requirements.

Benefits of type 1 hypervisors

  • Fault tolerance: when the physical server fails, the management software migrates instances to available servers so quickly that we don’t even realize the physical hardware failed. Users will not experience any downtime, and the failed hardware can be repaired or replaced at a time convenient for maintenance and operations staff.
  • Over/dynamic allocation of RAM capacity: when running multiple instances on a server, the total RAM allocated to the virtual machines can be larger than the total physical memory capacity of the underlying hardware.

type 1 hypervisor

Type 2 hypervisor is also called hosted hypervisor, which is installed within a host operating system, with the advantage that there’s no need to have a hypervisor management console. Type 2 hypervisors don’t support over/dynamic allocation of RAM, so care is required when allocating resources to virtual machines.

type 2 hypervisor

Related Articles