什么是对象存储?

对象存储,也称为基于对象的存储,是一种数据存储,其中每个数据单元存储为称为对象的离散单元。对象可以是离散单元,类似于pdf,音频,图像或视频文件。这些对象实际上可以是任何类型的数据和任何大小的数据。对象存储中的所有对象都存储在单个平面地址空间中,而没有文件夹层次结构。
与文件类型和块类型存储不同,对象存储支持有助于描述文件的全面元数据。元数据可帮助您理解和分析大型文件,而无需直接处理文件中包含的内容。

对象存储的好处

  • 更易于访问:对象存储由元数据驱动,通过对每个数据的这种分类级别,您可以轻松地对文件进行排序和搜索。
  • 无限存储:对象存储不依赖于硬件(不限于单个服务器或NAS)
  • 降低成本:由于对象存储的横向扩展性质,存储所有数据的成本更低。
  • 资源优化:由于对象存储没有归档层次结构,并且元数据完全可自定义,因此与文件或块存储相比,硬件限制要少得多。

对象存储用例

对象存储有多种用例,包括:
  • 提供富媒体:利用业界领先的解决方案来管理非结构化数据,从而定义工作流程。降低全球分布式富媒体的成本。
  • 管理分布式内容:在整个生命周期内优化数据价值,并提供有竞争力的存储服务。
  • 拥抱物联网(IoT):高效管理机器对机器数据,支持人工智能和分析,并压缩设计过程的成本和时间。

对象存储元数据

对于元数据为何产生影响的实际例子,我们可以看看医院如何存储和处理患者的X射线图像。 X射线文件将具有与其关联的有限元数据,例如创建日期,所有者,位置和大小。另一方面,X射线对象可以具有丰富的元数据信息。
元数据可以包括患者姓名,出生日期,受伤细节,身体的哪个区域进行X光检查 - 以及文件所具有的相同标签。这使得医生提取相关信息以供参考非常有用。

对象存储的局限性

  • 与Block Storage相比,访问速度更慢
  • 文件无法编辑,需要重写/重新上传整个内容
  • 难以限制/定义存储位置

什么是阿里云OSS(对象存储服务)?

阿里云OSS对象存储服务)是一种用于存储对象的存储服务。它是一种高度可用,耐用,可扩展且安全的存储服务,适用于在阿里云上提供的对象。此服务可用于存储任何类型的对象,因此可用于网站数据,备份和恢复,数据存档等应用程序。
除了基本的基于对象的存储功能之外,阿里云OSS还提供数据加密对象存储桶的基于权限的访问、反水蛭静态网站托管跨源资源共享(CORS)配置、对象生命周期规则图像处理

相关文章

What Is Object Storage?

Object storage, also known as object-based storage, is a type of data storage in which each unit of data is stored as a discrete unit called an object. An object can be a discrete unit, anything like a pdf, audio, image or video file. These objects can be virtually any type of data and any size. All objects in object storage are stored in a single, flat addresses space without a folder hierarchy.
Unlike file-type and block-type storage, object storage supports comprehensive metadata that helps describe a file. Metadata helps you understand and analyze large files without directly processing the content contained in the file.

Benefits of Object Storage

  • More Accessible: Object storage is driven by metadata, and with this level of classification for every piece of data, you can sort and search files easily.
  • Infinite storage: Object storage is not hardware dependent (not restricted to a single server or NAS)
  • Reduction in cost: Due to the scale-out nature of object storage, it's less costly to store all your data.
  • Optimization of resources: Because object storage does not have a filing hierarchy, and the metadata is completely customizable, there are far fewer hardware limitations than with file or block storage.

Object Storage Use Cases

There are multiple use cases for object storage, including:
  • Delivering rich media: Define workflows by leveraging industry-leading solutions for managing unstructured data. Reduce your costs for globally distributed rich media.
  • Managing distributed content: Optimize the value of your data throughout its lifecycle and deliver competitive storage services.
  • Embracing the Internet of Things (IoT) : Manage machine-to-machine data efficiently, support artificial intelligence and analytics, and compress the cost and time of the design process.

Object Storage Metadata

For a real-life example of why metadata makes a difference, we can look at how hospitals can store and process X-rays images of patients. An X-ray file would have limited metadata associated with it, such as created date, owner, location, and size. An X-ray object, on the other hand, could have a rich variety of metadata information.
The metadata could include patient name, date of birth, injury details, which area of the body was X-rayed – in addition to the same tags that the file had. This makes it incredibly useful for doctors to pull up the relevant information for reference.

Limitations of Object Storage

  • Slower access compared with Block Storage
  • Files cannot be edited; you need to rewrite/re-upload the entire file
  • Difficult to limit/define the storage location

What is Alibaba Cloud OSS (Object Storage Service)?

Alibaba Cloud OSS (Object Storage Service) is a storage service used to store objects. It is a highly available, durable, scalable and secure storage service for objects offered on Alibaba Cloud. This service can be used to store any type of object and hence can be used for applications like website data, backup and recovery, data archives etc.

Related Articles