您可以通过OSS的PutBucketLifecycle接口设置生命周期规则(Lifecycle),定期将对象(Object)转储为低频访问、归档存储或冷归档存储类型,或将过期的Object和碎片删除,从而节省存储费用。

说明 设置生命周期的API详细信息可参考 PutBucketLifecycle

使用场景

生命周期规则可以定期将非热门数据转换为低频访问、归档存储 或冷归档存储,将不再需要访问的数据删除,让您更高效地管理您存储的数据,节省大量人力及存储成本。例如:
  • 某医疗机构的医疗档案,上传至OSS后半年内需要偶尔访问,半年后基本不再访问。可以通过设置生命周期规则,将已上传180天的医疗档案转为归档存储。
  • 某公司服务热线的录音文件,上传至OSS后2个月内,需要作为数据统计及核查的依据,2个月后偶尔访问,半年后基本不再访问,2年后数据不再需要存储。可以通过设置生命周期规则,设置录音文件上传60天后转为低频访问存储,180天后转为归档存储,730天后删除。
  • 某存储空间内有大量文件需要全部删除,但是手动删除每次仅可以删除最多1000个文件,比较麻烦。此时可以配置一条匹配整个Bucket的生命周期规则,设置一天后删除所有文件。此Bucket内的数据会在第二天被全部删除。

操作方式

操作方式 说明
控制台 Web应用程序,直观易用
命令行工具 命令行工具,性能好
Java SDK 丰富、完整的各类语言 SDK demo
Python SDK
PHP SDK
Go SDK
C SDK
.NET SDK
Node.js SDK
Ruby SDK

注意事项

  • 费用说明
    • 请求费用

      成功的生命周期异步请求操作会记录在访问日志中并产生相关的请求次数费用,失败的操作不会被记录和收费。

    • 存储费用
      当您在OSS内存储文件时,OSS会根据您存储的文件类型、大小和时长收取一定的存储费用。当低频、归档、冷归档存储类型文件在不足规定时长时通过生命周期策略提前删除,还会产生不足规定时长容量费用。
      • 通过生命周期将文件存储类型转换为低频或归档,且在不足规定时长前删除文件

        低频访问类型最低存储时间(30天)和归档类型最低存储时间(60天)均以文件存储在OSS的Last Modified时间开始计算。例如标准类型文件在其创建10天后,通过生命周期将其转换为低频访问类型,过了20天后将其转换为归档类型,再过5天将其删除。此时会产生25天的归档存储不足规定时长容量费用。

      • 通过生命周期将文件存储类型转换为冷归档,且在不足规定时长前删除文件

        冷归档的最低存储时间(180天)以文件转为冷归档类型的时间开始计算。例如标准类型文件在其创建10天后,通过生命周期规则转换为冷归档存储类型,再过1天将其删除。此时会产生179天的冷归档存储不足规定时长容量费用。

      有关各存储类型的费用详情,请参见存储费用

  • 数量

    通过控制台最多可配置100条生命周期规则,通过SDK或者命令行工具ossutil最多可配置1000条生命周期规则。

  • 生效时间
    生命周期规则创建后的24小时内,OSS会加载规则。规则加载完成后,OSS会在每天的北京时间8:00开始执行规则,并在随后的24小时内执行完毕。Object的最后修改时间与生命周期规则开始执行时间(8:00)必须间隔24小时以上。例如生命周期规则为Object上传1天后删除,则2020年7月20日上传的文件删除时间如下:
    • 北京时间8:00前上传的文件会在2020年7月21日8:00开始删除,并在7月22日8:00前删除完毕。
    • 北京时间8:00后上传的文件会在2020年7月22日8:00开始删除,并在7月23日8:00前删除完毕。
    注意 更新生命周期规则会中止当天的生命周期任务,请不要频繁更新生命周期规则。

组成元素

生命周期规则由以下元素组成:
  • 策略:生命周期规则匹配的Object和碎片。
    • 按前缀匹配:按指定前缀匹配Object和碎片。可创建多条规则匹配不同的前缀,前缀不能重复。前缀的命名规范与Object命名规范相同,详情请参见对象(Object)
    • 按标签匹配:按指定标签的Key和Value匹配Object。单条规则可配置多个标签,OSS对所有拥有这些标签的对象执行生命周期规则。标签匹配规则不作用于碎片。
      说明 对象标签功能详情请参见 对象标签
    • 按前缀+标签匹配:按指定前缀和标签的筛选条件匹配对象。
    • 配置到整个Bucket:匹配整个Bucket内的所有Object和碎片。配置了覆盖整个Bucket的生命周期规则后,不支持再创建其他生命周期规则。
  • 文件过期策略:设置Object的过期时间及操作。
    • 过期天数:指定一个过期天数N,并指定非版本状态下的所有Object、以及版本控制状态下的当前版本Object过期后执行什么操作。Object会在其最后修改时间的N天后过期,并执行指定的操作。
    • 过期日期:指定一个过期日期,并指定非版本状态下的所有Object、以及版本控制状态下的当前版本Object过期后执行什么操作。最后修改时间在该日期之前的Object全部过期,并执行指定的操作。
    • Object成为非当前版本天数:指定一个过期天数N,并指定非当前版本Object过期后执行什么操作。Object会在其成为非当前版本的N天后过期,并执行指定的操作。

    您可以转换过期Object的存储类型或将其删除。详情请参见生命周期配置元素

  • 碎片过期策略:设置碎片的过期时间及操作。
    • 过期天数:可指定一个过期天数N,文件碎片会在其最后修改时间的N天后被删除。
    • 过期日期:指定一个过期日期,最后修改时间在该日期之前的文件碎片会被全部删除。

匹配逻辑

  • 规则生效
    例如,某个Bucket有如下几个Object:
    logs/program.log.1
    logs/program.log.2
    logs/program.log.3
    doc/readme.txt

    如果生命周期规则指定的前缀是logs/,那么此规则仅作用于前三个以logs/开头的Object;如果指定的前缀是doc/readme.txt,那么此规则则只对doc/readme.txt起作用。

    对过期策略匹配的Object执行GET或HEAD操作时,OSS会在响应Header中加入x-oss-expiration头。其中expiry-date的值表示Object的过期日期;rule-id的值表示相匹配的规则ID。

  • 规则冲突
    • 相同前缀和标签

      当不同生命周期规则作用于相同前缀和标签的Object时,删除操作优先于存储类型转换操作。rule1用于指定所有前缀为abc,标签为a=1的Object 20天后删除,rule2规则不生效。

      rule prefix tag action
      rule1 abc a=1 20天后删除
      rule2 abc a=1 20天后转为Archive
    • 前缀重叠+标签相同

      rule1用于指定所有标签为a=1的Object 10天后转为IA。rule2用于指定前缀为abc且标签为a=1的Object 120天后删除。

      rule prefix tag action
      rule1 - a=1 10天后转为IA
      rule2 abc a=1 120天后被删除

      rule3用于指定所有标签为a=1的Object 20天后转为Archive。由于Archive类型文件无法转换为IA类型,因此rule4指定的前缀为abc且标签为a=1的Object 30天后转为IA的规则不生效。

      rule prefix tag action
      rule3 - a=1 20天后转为Archive
      rule4 abc a=1 30天后转为IA

常见问题

  • 通过CopyObject覆写文件存储类型时,是否有最小存储天数限制?
    有最小存储天数限制。例如低频访问类型文件在其创建10天后,通过CopyObject覆写操作将存储类型转换为归档存储,此操作会产生低频访问存储不足规定时长费用。同时文件的创建时间发生变化,且转换后的归档存储类型文件因最小存储天数为60天,因此需再保存至少60天。
  • 通过生命周期规则进行的类型转换、过期删除操作,是否有日志记录?
    所有成功通过生命周期规则进行的类型转换、过期删除操作都会有日志记录,日志记录字段如下:
    • Operation
      • CommitTransition:通过生命周期规则转换存储类型,例如转换为低频访问、归档或冷归档存储类型。
      • ExpireObject:通过生命周期规则删除过期Object。
    • Sync Request

      lifecycle:生命周期规则触发的转换存储类型和删除过期Object的操作。

You can call PutBucketLifecycle to configure lifecycle rules. After you configure lifecycle rules for a bucket, OSS converts the storage class of expired objects to IA, Archive, or Cold Archive or deletes expired objects and parts to save storage costs.

Note For more information about the PutBucketLifecycle operation, see PutBucketLifecycle.

Scenarios

You can configure a lifecycle rule to regularly delete objects that are no longer accessed or convert the storage class of cold data to IA, Archive, or Cold Archive. This makes data management easier and saves storage costs. Examples:
  • A medical institution stores its medical records in OSS. These objects are occasionally accessed within six months after they are uploaded, and almost never after that. You can configure a lifecycle rule to convert the storage class of these objects to Archive 180 days after they are uploaded.
  • A company stores the call records of their service hotline in OSS. These objects are frequently accessed within the first two months, occasionally after two months, and almost never after six months. After two years, these objects no longer need to be stored. You can configure a lifecycle rule to convert the storage class of these objects to IA 60 days after they are uploaded and to Archive 180 days after they are uploaded, and delete them 730 days after they are uploaded.
  • You can manually delete up to 1,000 objects each time. If a bucket contains more than 1,000 objects, you must perform delete objects multiple times. To delete all objects in the bucket at the same time, you can configure a lifecycle rule that deletes all objects in the bucket after one day.

Implementation methods

Implementation method Description
Console A user-friendly and intuitive web application
ossutil A high-performance command-line tool
Java SDK SDK demos for a variety of programming languages
Python SDK
PHP SDK
Go SDK
C SDK
.NET SDK
Node.js SDK
Ruby SDK

Usage notes

  • API operation calling fees

    Successful API operations that are asynchronously called to perform actions triggered by lifecycle rules are recorded in access logs and incur fees. Failed operations are not recorded or charged.

  • Storage fees for IA, Archive, and Cold Archive objects that are stored for less than the minimum storage duration
    • Fees incurred when the storage class of objects is converted to IA or Archive and the objects are deleted within the minimum storage durations based on lifecycle rules

      The IA storage class has a minimum storage duration of 30 days and the Archive storage class has a minimum storage duration of 60 days. The minimum storage duration of an IA or Archive object is calculated from the time specified by the Last-Modified header of the object. For example, OSS converts a Standard object to an IA object 10 days after the object is created, converts the IA object to an Archive object after 20 days, and then deletes the Archive object after five days based on a lifecycle. In this case, fees for the remaining 25 days of minimum storage duration for Archive objects are incurred.

    • Fees incurred when the storage class of objects is converted to Cold Archive and the objects are deleted within the minimum storage durations based on lifecycle rules

      The Cold Archive storage class has a minimum storage duration of 180 days. The minimum storage duration of a Cold Archive object is calculated from the time when the storage class of the object is converted to Cold Archive. For example, OSS converts a Standard object to a Cold Archive object 10 days after the object is created and then deletes the Cold Archive object after one day based on a lifecycle. In this case, the remaining 179 days of minimum storage duration for Cold Archive object are incurred.

  • Number of lifecycle rules

    You can configure up to 1,000 lifecycle rules for each bucket.

  • Effective time
    After a lifecycle rule is configured, OSS loads the rule within 24 hours. After the lifecycle rule is loaded, OSS executes the rule every day at 08:00:00 (UTC+8) and completes the actions triggered by the rule within 24 hours. The interval between the last modified time of the object and the time when the lifecycle rule is executed must be greater than 24 hours. For example, if you configure a lifecycle rule for a bucket to delete objects one day after they are uploaded, objects that are uploaded on July 20, 2020 are deleted on a different date based on the time when the objects are uploaded.
    • Objects uploaded before 08:00:00 (UTC+8) are deleted from 08:00:00 (UTC+8) on July 21, 2020 to 08:00:00 (UTC+8) on July 22, 2020.
    • Objects uploaded after 08:00:00 (UTC+8) are deleted from 08:00:00 (UTC+8) on July 22, 2020 to 08:00:00 (UTC+8) on July 23, 2020.
    Notice When you update a lifecycle rule, tasks performed based on the rule on the current day are suspended. We recommend that you do not frequently update lifecycle rules.

Component element

A lifecycle rule consists of the following elements:
  • Policy: specifies the objects and parts that match the rule.
    • Match by prefix: indicates that the rule matches objects and parts by prefix. You can create multiple rules to configure different prefixes. Each prefix must be unique. The naming conventions for prefixes are the same as those for objects. For more information, see object.
    • Match by tag: indicates that the rule matches objects by tag key and tag value. You can specify multiple tags in a single lifecycle rule. The lifecycle rule applies to all objects that have the specified tags. Lifecycle rules cannot match parts by tag.
      Note For more information, see Object tagging.
    • Match by prefix and tag: indicates that the rule matches objects by specified prefix and tags.
    • Match by bucket: indicates that the rule matches all objects and parts stored in the bucket. After you configure a lifecycle rule for a bucket to match all objects and parts in a bucket, other lifecycle rules cannot be configured for the bucket.
  • Object lifecycle policy: specifies the validity period or expiration date of objects and the operation to perform on expired objects.
    • Validity period: specifies the validity period of objects in unversioned buckets and the current versions of objects in versioned bucket and the operation to perform on these objects after they expire. Objects that match the lifecycle rule are retained for the specified validity period after the objects are last modified. The specified operation is performed on these objects after they expire.
    • Expiration date: specifies the expiration date of objects in unversioned buckets and the current versions of objects in versioned bucket and the operation to perform on these objects after they expire. All objects that are last modified before this date expire and the specified operation is performed on these objects.
    • Validity period for the previous versions of objects: specifies the validity period for the previous versions of objects and the operation to perform on these previous versions. Objects that match the lifecycle rule are retained for the specified validity period after the objects become previous versions. The specified operation is performed on these objects after they expire.

    You can configure lifecycle rules to convert the storage class of expired objects or delete expired objects. For more information, see Configuration elements.

  • Part lifecycle policy: specifies the validity period or expiration date of parts and the operation to perform on these expired parts.
    • Validity period: specifies the validity period for parts. Parts that match the lifecycle rule are retained within the validity period and are deleted after they expire.
    • Expiration date: specifies the expiration date of parts. Parts that are last modified before this date expire and are deleted.

Matching logic

  • A lifecycle rule takes effect
    For example, the following objects are stored in a bucket:
    logs/program.log.1
    logs/program.log.2
    logs/program.log.3
    doc/readme.txt

    If the prefix specified by a rule is logs/, the rule applies to the first three objects whose names are prefixed with logs/. If the prefix specified by a rule is doc/readme.txt, the rule applies only to the object doc/readme.txt.

    When GetObjects or HeadObject operations are performed on an object based on a lifecycle rule, the x-oss-expiration header is contained in the response. This header contains two parameters: expiry-date that specifies the expiration date of the object, and rule-id that specifies the ID of the matched lifecycle rule.

  • Multiple lifecycle rules conflict
    • Same prefix and tags are specified in multiple lifecycle rules

      When objects that have the same prefix and tags match multiple lifecycle rules at the same time, lifecycle rules that are configured to delete objects take precedence over lifecycle rules that are configured to convert the storage classes of objects. For example, both rule1 and rule2 described in the following table apply to objects that have the abc prefix in their names and have the a=1 tag. rule1 is configured to delete matched objects 20 days after they are last modified. rule2 is configured to convert the storage class of matched objects to Archive 20 days after they are last modified. If rule1 and rule2 are configured for a bucket at the same time, rule2 does not take effect.

      rule prefix tag action
      rule1 abc a=1 Delete matched objects 20 days after they are last modified.
      rule2 abc a=1 Convert the storage class of matched objects to Archive 20 days after they are last modified.
    • Overlapped prefixes and same tags are specified in multiple lifecycle rules

      For example, rule1 described in the following table applies to all objects that have the a=1 tag and is configured to convert the storage class of matched objects to IA 10 days after they are last modified. rule2 described in the following table applies to objects that have the abc prefix in their names and have the a=1 tag. rule2 is configured to delete matched objects 120 days after they are last modified.

      rule prefix tag action
      rule1 - a=1 Convert the storage class of matched objects to IA 10 days after they are last modified.
      rule2 abc a=1 Delete matched objects 120 days after they are last modified.

      rule3 described in the following table applies to all objects that have the a=1 tag and is configured to convert the storage class of matched objects to Archive 20 days after they are last modified. rule4 described in the following table applies to objects that have the abc prefix in their names and have the a=1 tag and is configured to convert the storage class of matched objects to IA 30 days after they are last modified. If rule3 and rule4 are configured for a bucket at the same time, the storage class of objects that have the abc prefix in their names and have the a=1 tag is converted to Archive 20 days after they are last modified based on rule3 first. Archive object cannot be converted to IA objects. Therefore, rule4 does not take effect.

      rule prefix tag action
      rule3 - a=1 Convert the storage class of matched objects to Archive 20 days after they are last modified
      rule4 abc a=1 Convert the storage class of matched objects to IA 20 days after they are last modified

FAQ

  • Does OSS have a limit on the minimum storage duration of objects whose storage class are converted by using CopyObject.
    OSS have limits on the minimum storage duration of IA, Archive, and Cold Archive objects. For example, if you use CopyObject to convert the storage class of an IA object to Archive 10 days after the object is created, you are charged for the entire minimum storage duration of the IA object. In addition, the Last-Modified value of the object is updated to the time when the storage class of the object is converted. The converted Archive object must be stored for at least 60 days. Otherwise, you need to pay the minimum storage duration for Archive objects.
  • Does OSS record operations when the storage classes of objects are converted or expired objects are deleted based on lifecycle rules?
    Yes, OSS records operations when the storage classes of objects are converted or expired objects are deleted based on lifecycle rules. The logs include the following fields:
    • Operation
      • CommitTransition: the storage class to which that of the object is converted. Example: IA, Archive, or Cold Archive.
      • ExpireObject: expired objects that are deleted based on lifecycle rules.
    • Sync Request

      lifecycle: operations that are triggered by lifecycle rules. Example: deletion of expired objects or conversion of object storage classes.