业务实时监控服务

业务实时监控服务 (Application Real-Time Monitoring Service, 简称ARMS) 是一款阿里云APM类监控产品。用户可以基于该产品的前端,应用,或业务自定义监控,快速构建实时的业务监控能力。

立即购买 联系销售

概述

业务实时监控服务 (Application Real-Time Monitoring Service, 简称ARMS) 是一款阿里云APM类监控产品。您可以基于该产品的前端、应用或业务自定义监控,迅速便捷地构建实时响应的业务监控能力。


产品优点

一站式多功能监控平台

  • 应用性能和异常监控:具有对分布式应用进行性能异常监控和调用链路查询的APM能力。

  • 前端体验监控: 按地域、渠道、链接等多维度实时反应用户页面浏览情况。

  • 业务深度定制监控:可按需深度定制具备业务属性的实时监控报警和大盘。

  • 统一报警和报表平台:集自定义监控、前端监控、应用监控为一体的统一报警和报表平台。

产品详情

业务实时监控服务(Application Real-Time Monitoring Service,简称 ARMS)是一款阿里云应用性能管理(APM)类监控产品。借助本产品,您可以基于前端、应用、业务自定义等维度,迅速便捷地为企业构建秒级响应的业务监控能力。


功能

实时高效面向分布式应用的应用监控

  • 应用拓扑的自我发现:通过对RPC调用信息进行动态分析、智能计算,自动生成分布式应用间调用关系。

  • 常用诊断场景的指标下钻分析:根据应用响应时间、请求数、错误率等指标下钻分析,按应用、事务、数据库多维度查看。

  • 异常事务和慢事务捕获:基于调用事务(trace)的超时和异常分析,有效自定关联到对应的接口调用如SQL,MQ等。

  • 事务快照查询:智能收集基于调用链(trace)的问题事务,通过排查详细明细数据,掌握异常或错误来源。

针对用户体验监控的前端监控

  • 高时效性:实时感知用户实际访问网站的响应时间和错误率。

  • 页面异常监控:针对应用大量的异步数据调用的性能和成功率进行监控和诊断。

  • 多维度监控分析:基于地区、运营商、浏览器等多维的用户访问速度和错误分析。

支持业务监控深度定制的自定义监控

  • 丰富的数据源:支持各类实时数据源如日志,SDK,MQ,Loghub 等。

  • 灵活的实时计算和存储编排:支持用户根据指定维度和计算方式自行编排实时计算和存储方式。

  • 灵活的报警和大盘对接:监控数据集可快速对接ARMS报警和大盘平台,以提供各类场景的监控能力。

统一的报警和大盘平台

  • 灵活的报警配置功能。

  • 支持基于各类数据集的自定义同比环比、指标维度的报警策略配置。

场景

Java 应用监控和诊断方案

我们采用基于 ARMS 的应用监控方案来解决分布式 Java 应用监控中的业务痛点。

业务痛点

互联网业务的高速发展带来了日益增长的流量压力,业务逻辑也日趋复杂,传统的单机应用已经无法满足需求。越来越多的网站逐渐采用了分布式部署架构。同时,随着 Spring Cloud/Dubbo 等基础开发框架的不断成熟,越来越多的企业开始对网站架构按照业务模块进行垂直拆分,形成了更适合团队协同开发、快速迭代的微服务架构(Microservice Architechture)。

分布式的微服务架构在开发效率上具备先进性,但给传统的监控、运维、诊断技术带来了巨大挑战。以淘宝网(www.taobao.com)践行分布式架构与微服务实践的过程为例,遇到的主要挑战有:

问题定位难:客服人员接到用户反馈商品购买出现问题后,会交由技术人员排查解决。而微服务分布式架构中的一个网站请求通常要经过多个服务/节点后返回结果。一旦请求出现错误,往往要在多台机器上反复翻看日志才能初步定为问题,对简单问题的排查也常常牵扯到多个团队。

瓶颈发现难:当用户反馈网站出现卡顿现象,很难快速发现瓶颈在哪里。有可能是用户终端到服务端的网络问题、服务端负载过高导致响应变慢,或是数据库压力过大。即使定位到了导致卡顿的环节,也很难快速定位到代码层面的根本原因。

架构梳理难:在业务逻辑变得逐渐复杂以后,很难从代码层面去梳理某个应用依赖了哪些下游服务(数据库、HTTP API、缓存),以及被哪些外部调用所依赖。业务逻辑的梳理、架构的治理和容量的规划(例如“双十一”促销活动的准备过程中,需要为每个应用准备多少台机器)也变得更加困难。

基于 ARMS 的应用监控方案

ARMS 提供的应用监控功能,脱胎于阿里巴巴内部的分布式跟踪与监控系统(内部称为“鹰眼系统”),可以在不修改任何现有代码的情况下,帮助网站开发人员和运维人员解决下述问题:

调用拓扑图:您可以在 ARMS 中看到应用的调用关系拓扑图。例如应用被哪些服务依赖、依赖了哪些下游服务等。如图所示,我们可以清楚地看到图中被 ARMS 监控的应用依赖了 Redis、MySQL 数据库和外部的一些 HTTP 服务,而对 MySQL 数据库的依赖是瓶颈所在(平均耗时超过 1700 ms)。

慢服务/SQL 报表:该应用的 SQL 分析报表,可以清楚地定位到具体的慢 SQL、慢服务。

分布式调用链查询:点击对应的的接口快照,可以找到一条包含该 SQL 调用的请求,并能看到该方法的调用堆栈,进而定位到代码级别的问题。

无论从全局视角还是单个调用视角,ARMS 能够全方位解决您在分布式 Java 应用监控领域的痛点。ARMS 的应用监控可搭配前端监控、业务监控使用,从业务关键指标到用户体验,再到应用性能,为您的站点全方位保驾护航。

用户体验监控场景

关于用户体验的业务痛点

用户访问我们的业务时,整个访问过程大致可以分为三个阶段:页面生产时(Server 端状态)、页面加载时和页面运行时。为了保证线上业务稳定运行,我们会在 Server 端对业务的运行状态进行各种监控。现有的 Server 端监控系统相对已经很成熟了,而页面加载和页面运行时的状态监控一直比较欠缺。主要原因是对于前端监控的重视不足,认为服务端的监控可以部分替代前端监控,这种想法就导致系统在线上运行时,我们无法感知用户访问系统时的具体情况,因而定位线上用户偶现的前端问题变得非常困难。

业务痛点

定位性能瓶颈困难:当用户反馈页面加载较慢时,很难快速发现性能瓶颈在哪里,是网络问题、资源加载问题,还是页面 DOM 解析问题。是和用户所在的省份、国家有关系,还是和用户的浏览器、设备有关系。这些问题都无法快速复现并定位到具体原因。

无法获知用户访问时的报错情况:一个系统上线之后,访问时的大量 JS 报错导致用户无法正常使用。如果我们无法及时获知,是否会流失大量用户;如果用户反馈页面的使用情况,我们能否第一时间复现用户的使用场景;能否知晓用户遇到的详细报错信息而快速修复,这些都是开发人员目前遇到的难点。

API 异步调用情况未知: API 调用返回的 HTTP 状态码均为 200 并不能代表接口完全正常,如果业务逻辑出现异常,我们能否有所感知;如果 API 返回全部正常,但整体的耗时较长,那么如何了解全局概况并进行优化呢;在这些都未知的情况下,我们就无法发现问题,也无法提升用户体验。

基于 ARMS 的前端监控方案

前端监控功能基于 ARMS 平台提供的海量实时日志分析和处理服务,对当前线上所有真实用户的访问情况进行监控,从而解决以上问题。

通过应用总览,发现异常问题:ARMS 前端监控中可以看到应用总览信息,包括应用的满意度、JS 错误率、访问速度、API 请求成功率及 PV 信息的情况,其中 JS 错误率均值为 3.78%,相较上周同比上涨 56.25%。

通过性能数据趋势/瀑布图:在访问速度页面,可以看到关于页面性能的具体指标数据及对应的加载瀑布图,您可以根据具体数据来定位性能瓶颈。

通过JS 错误率/错误聚类查看页面稳定性:在 JS 稳定性页面,可以看到错误率从高到低的页面排行及错误聚类排行。您可以直观地看到哪些页面的 JS 错误率较高,以及哪些错误出现次数最多。

通过API请求分析API访问情况:在 API 请求页面,可以看到 API 的成功率及耗时数据,全面掌握接口情况。

访问明细查看:单击明细可进入访问明细,查看具体的访问情况。例如,根据报错的 File、Stack、Line、Col 信息定位错误。

零售行业实时监控方案

在这个应用场景案例中,某服装行业龙头公司采用基于 ARMS 的混合云解决方案,搭建了零售业务实时监控系统。

业务痛点

监控平台使用传统的商业 OLAP 数据库,许可证费用高昂。

监控平台在横向扩展和实时性方面难以满足业务要求。

基于 ARMS 的零售行业监控方案

基于ARMS的业务监控解决方案

交易日志通过 Logtail Agent 实时上传到阿里云 Loghub 日志服务。

ARMS 业务实时监控服务对接 Loghub 进行计算和存储,并通过自带交互大盘实时分析和查看销售业务数据。其中:

计算编排和存储:从日志中抽取每条交易的详细数据,包括总价、件数,按照交易发生地点、销售公司名称和客户会员信息等多个维度进行聚合。

交互展示:按照地域、门店、会员、类目等维度展示销售状态和各类下钻场景分析。

ARMS 数据输出到下游 DataV 数据可视化组件进行大屏展示。

基于 ARMS 的 IT 运维监控系统的业务价值

令 TCO 分析成本成百倍下降,满足高时效性的多维度分析,帮助您实时掌控前线销售情况,让您能够以销售策略和库存配置策略及时应对挑战。

监控展示方案满足多场合需求:DataV 的酷炫大盘用于监控室总体展示,ARMS 的交互大盘用于深度排查问题。

使用入门

应用监控

应用监控使用入门分为三个步骤

  • 下载应用监控探针包;

  • 安装探针包;

  • 启动应用,开始监控。

前端监控

前端监控使用入门分为三个步骤

  • 负载前端监控代码片段;

  • 粘贴代码片段到前端页面中;

  • 发布页面,开始监控。

自定义监控

自定义监控分为四个步骤

  • 定义数据源

  • 定义实时数据规则

  • 定义数据集聚合规则

  • 定制报表和监控

常见问题

1. ARMS 应用监控目前支持哪些语言?将来的计划是什么样的?

ARMS 应用监控目前支持 Java 语言,计划支持 PHP 和 C# 语言,且即将提供 OpenAPI 供其他语言开发者定制接入。

2. ARMS 前端监控都支持哪些地域?

目前,前端监控在中国大陆范围内只支持杭州地域,在国际范围内只支持新加坡地域。由于前端监控的统计数据来自公网,地域化的需求很小,所以暂无支持除杭州和新加坡以外地域的计划。在其他地域开通阿里云服务的客户,可直接使用上述两个区域的前端监控服务,性能和功能不会受到影响。

3. ARMS 自定义监控如何扩容?

如果通过界面提示发现 ARMS 自定义监控由于计算资源不足而需要扩容,请联系 ARMS 在线客服进行手动扩容。理论上,扩容仅需数分钟即可完成。

4. ARMS 自定义监控的实时计算引擎和列存储能直接暴露给用户使用吗?

不能。用户仅可通过 ARMS 提供的用户界面和 OpenAPI 的方式来定制监控数据和获取结果。主要原因是 ARMS 的实时计算和列存储在组装上进行过高度定制优化,所以并不适合直接暴露某个单独模块给用户使用。如果用户有实时计算和列存储的特别需求,请开通其他阿里云产品服务,例如流计算、表格存储等。

Application Real-Time Monitoring Service

Build business monitoring capabilities with real time response based on frontend monitoring, application monitoring, and custom business monitoring capabilities

Buy Now Contact Sales

Overview

Application Real-Time Monitoring Service (ARMS) is an Alibaba Cloud monitoring product for Application Performance Management (APM). You can conveniently and quickly develop business monitoring capabilities with real time response based on the service's front-end monitoring, application monitoring, or custom business monitoring capabilities.


Benefits

An all-in-one Multifunctional Monitoring Platform.

  • Application Performance and Exception Monitoring: ARMS implements APM on distributed applications, including performance exception monitoring and call link queries.

  • Frontend Experience Monitoring: ARMS reflects your web page browsing situation by region, channel, link, or other set dimensions.

  • Advanced Custom Monitoring: Customize real-time monitoring alarms and dashboards based on your specific business needs.

  • Centralized Alarm and Report Platform: Custom monitoring, front-end monitoring, and application monitoring are integrated into a centralized alarm and report platform.

Product Details

ARMS is an Alibaba Cloud monitoring product for APM. You can easily and quickly construct business monitoring capabilities with real-time response based on the front-end monitoring, application monitoring, or custom business monitoring capabilities of this service.


Features

Real Time Highly-efficient Monitoring for Distributed Applications

  • Application topology self-discovery: ARMS automatically generates calling relationship among distributed applications based on dynamic analysis and intelligent computing of RPCs.

  • Drill-down analysis of metrics for common diagnosis scenarios: ARMS performs drill-down analysis on metrics such as the application response time, request count, and error rate. You can view the analysis results by application, event, or database.

  • Capture of exceptional and slow transactions: ARMS analyzes time-outs and exceptions based on traces and effectively associates with related interface calling, such as SQL and MQ.

  • Transaction snapshot query: ARMS intelligently collects trace-based problematic transactions and identifies the sources of exceptions or errors by troubleshooting detailed data.

Front-end Monitoring For User Experience

  • High Time-efficiency: ARMS detects the response time and error rates in real time for websites that users actually access.

  • Page Exception Monitoring: ARMS monitors and diagnoses the performance and success rate of a large number of asynchronous data calls for applications.

  • Multidimensional Monitoring analysis: ARMS analyzes user access rates and errors by region, operator, or browser.

Advanced Custom Monitoring for Business

  • Rich Data Sources: ARMS supports various types of real time data sources, such as logs, SDKs, Message Queue, and Loghub.

  • Flexible Real Time Computing and Storage Orchestration: ARMS allows you to orchestrate real time computing and storage modes based on specified dimensions and computing methods.

  • Flexible Alarm and Dashboard Interconnection: ARMS quickly connects the monitored datasets to the ARMS alarm and dashboard platform to provide monitoring capabilities in various scenarios.

Integrated Alarm and Dashboard Platform

  • Flexible Alarm Configuration: Configuration of alarm policies based on custom comparison results and metrics of various datasets.

Scenarios

Java Application Monitoring and Diagnosis Solution

In this use case, the ARMS-based application monitoring solution is adopted to resolve pain points in monitoring distributed Java applications.

Business pain points

Rapid growth of Internet businesses has brought about increasing traffic pressure, and business logic has also become more complicated. In this context, traditional single-machine applications can no longer satisfy customer needs. More and more websites have adopted distributed deployment architecture. Moreover, basic development frameworks, such as Spring Cloud and Dubbo, have gradually matured. Now, more enterprises vertically split their website architectures by business module and adopt a microservice architecture (MSA), which is more suitable for collaborative development among teams and quick iterations.

The distributed MSA is advanced in terms of development efficiency. However, it brings about huge challenges for traditional monitoring, operation and maintenance, and diagnosis technologies. For example, we confronted the following challenges when applying the distributed MSA to www.taobao.com:

  • Difficulty in identifying the problem: The customer service center submits customer feedback about problems with buying items to technical support engineers for troubleshooting. A website request in the distributed MSA always passes through multiple services and nodes before a result is returned. Once an error occurs, the engineers usually have to go through the logs over and over to identify possible problems. Multiple teams are involved in solving simple problems.

  • Difficulty in identifying the bottleneck: In case a website freezes, identifying the bottleneck quickly is difficult. It may be a fault in the network between the user terminal and the server, a result of server overload, or high database pressure. Even when the cause is identified, it is still difficult to quickly identify the error in the code.

  • Difficulty in organizing the architecture: The business logic has become more complicated. It is difficult to organize the code that specifies the depending downstream services of an application, which may be the database, HTTP API, or cache, and to organize the code that specifies the external calls depending on this application. It is more difficult to organize the business logic, manage the architecture, and plan the capacity. For example, during preparations for "Double 11" promotion campaigns, it is hard to predict the number of servers required for each application.

ARMS-based application monitoring solution

The application monitoring function provided by ARMS originates from the Alibaba EagleEye distributed tracing and monitoring system. It resolves the preceding problems without requiring you to modify the existing code.

  • Call topology: You can view the call topology of an application on ARMS, for example, services that depend on the application and downstream services that the application depends on. As shown in the figure, you can find that the applications monitored by ARMS depend on Redis, MySQL databases, and some external HTTP services. The dependency on the MySQL database is the bottleneck, with an average time consumption of over 1700 ms.

  • Slow services and SQL reports: This application's SQL analysis reports clearly display slow SQL statements and slow services.

  • Distributed call link queries: Click the interface snapshot of a slow SQL statement to retrieve a request that includes the SQL call, view the call stack of the method, and then identify problems in the code.

Whether from a global perspective or from the perspective of a single call, ARMS comprehensively resolves your pain points in the distributed Java application monitoring field. ARMS supports browser monitoring and business monitoring as well as application monitoring to provide comprehensive protection for your sites, from key business metrics and customer experience to application performance.

User Experience Monitoring

User experience business pain points

When a user accesses a service, the whole access process can be classified into three phases: page production (server status), page loading, and page running. To ensure stable running of online services, the running statuses of services are monitored on the server. The existing monitoring system on the server has matured, but status monitoring for page loading and page running has been falling short. This is because less emphasis is put on front-end monitoring, as the monitoring on the server can partially replace the front-end monitoring. In this case, the system access details cannot be perceived when the system is running online and a user accesses the system. Therefore, it is difficult to locate a front-end problem that online users occasionally encounter.

Business pain points

  • Difficulty in identifying the performance bottleneck: When a user gives feedback on slow page loading, it is difficult to quickly find out the bottleneck. It may be a fault in network connection, resource loading, or page DOM parsing problem. Is it associated with the province and country where the user is located, or the browser and equipment used by the user? These problems cannot be reproduced quickly for cause identification.

  • Inability to view error reports during user access: After a system is put into operation, it cannot be used normally due to a large number of JavaScript errors generated during user access. If the error details for user access cannot be acquired in time, are a large number of users lost? If a user gives feedback on page usage details, can the use case be reproduced immediately? Or can the error details be acquired for quick restoration? All these problems are the difficulties currently encountered by developers.

  • Unknown asynchronous API calling details: All the HTTP status codes returned by API calls are 200, but this does not mean that the API is completely normal. If the business logic is abnormal, can it be perceived in time? If all the HTTP status codes returned by API calls are normal, but the whole process consumes a long time, how can the global conditions be grasped and optimized? Under these unknown situations, problems cannot be discovered in time, and the customer experience cannot be improved.

ARMS-based front-end monitoring solution

The front-end monitoring function is achieved based on the massive real-time log analysis and processing services provided by ARMS. The function is used to monitor the access conditions of all real online users and resolve the preceding problems.

  • Finding exceptions in the application overview: You can view the overall information on the application using the front-end monitoring function, including application satisfaction, JavaScript error rate, access speed, API request success rate, and PV details. In the following example, the average value of the JavaScript error rate is 3.78%, which has increased by 56.25% compared to the same period of the last week.

  • Performance data trend and waterfall chart: On the Access Speed page, you can view detailed metrics related to the page performance and the page loading waterfall chart. Then, you can locate the performance bottleneck based on the detailed data.

  • View page stability based on JavaScript error rates and error clustering: On the JavaScript Stability page, you can view a ranking of error rates from high to low and a ranking of error clusters. That is, you can intuitively see which pages have higher JavaScript error rates and which errors are most common.

  • Analysis on API access based on API requests: On the API Request page, you can view data on API success rates and time consumption, and fully grasp interface conditions.

  • Access details: Click Details and go to the Access Details page. There, you can view the access details. For example, you can identify an error according to the error information, including File, Stack, Line, and Col.

Retail Industry Real Time Monitoring Solution

In this use case, a leader in the apparel industry has adopted an ARMS-based hybrid cloud solution to build a real-time monitoring system for its retail business.

Business pain points

  • This customer has adopted a traditional commercial OLAP database as its monitoring platform, with expensive license expenses.

  • The monitoring platform cannot meet business needs for horizontal scalability and real-time monitoring.

  • ARMS-based retail monitoring solution

ARMS-based business monitoring solution

  • Transaction logs are uploaded in real time to the Loghub of Alibaba Cloud Log Service using the Logtail Agent.

  • ARMS monitors Loghub interconnected with the service for computing and storage and analyzes and displays sales business data on its interactive dashboard in real time. It provides the following functions:

  • Computing orchestration and storage: ARMS extracts detailed data of each transaction from logs, including data on the total price and number of items, and then aggregates the data according to multiple dimensions, such as the transaction location, sales firm name, and customer membership information.

  • Interactive presentation: ARMS presents sales status and analysis on various types of drill-down cases according to multiple dimensions, such as region, outlet, member, and product category.

  • The data generated by ARMS is delivered to the downstream DataV component for dashboard presentation.

Business value of the ARMS-based IT O&M monitoring system

  • ARMS reduces total costs of operation (TCO) by a factor in the hundreds and meets the need for high time-efficacy multidimensional analysis. It not only helps you grasp sales conditions in real time, but also helps you respond to challenges using sales and inventory configuration policies.

  • ARMS presents monitoring results in different ways. The amazing dashboard of DataV presents the overall data in monitoring, while the interactive dashboard presents data for advanced troubleshooting.

Getting Started

Application Monitoring

Start using application monitoring in three steps:

  • Download the application monitoring probe package.

  • Install the probe package.

  • Start the application and begin monitoring.

Front-end Monitoring

Start using front-end monitoring in three steps:

  • Copy the front-end monitoring code snippet.

  • Paste the code snippet to the front-end web page.

  • Publish the page and begin monitoring.

Custom Monitoring

Start using custom monitoring in four steps:

  • Define the data source.

  • Define real-time data rules.

  • Define dataset aggregation rules.

  • Formulate reports and monitoring.


FAQs

1. How are ARMS Free Edition and Premium Edition different?

For more information about the differences between the free edition and premium edition of ARMS products, see ARMS product catalog.

2. Which languages does ARMS Application Monitoring support? What is in the plan?

ARMS Application Monitoring currently supports Java, and plans to support PHP and C#. We also plan to provide OpenAPI for developers of other languages to integrate with customization.

3. Does ARMS support other regions than Hangzhou and Singapore?

Currently, Browser Monitoring only covers Hangzhou region in Mainland China, and Singapore internationally. Given that the statistical data of Browser Monitoring is from the public network, it doesn’t make a lot of sense to regionalize, and therefore we don’t plan to support other regions than Hangzhou and Singapore for the time being. Alibaba Cloud users in other regions can directly use the Browser Monitoring service provided in the preceding regions, without compromising the performance and functions.

4. How to expand ARMS Custom Monitoring?

If the on-screen message encourages you to expand ARMS Custom Monitoring due to insufficient computing resources, please reach out to ARMS online customer service for manual expansion. Theoretically, it only takes a few minutes to finish the expansion.