ECS instance specification family naming rules


Alibaba Cloud Server ECS is divided into multiple instance rules, the common ones are computing type c, general-purpose g, and memory type r, etc., large represents the number of vCPU cores, re memory enhancement, se represents storage enhancement, ne represents network enhancement, etc.

1. Naming rules for cloud server ECS instance specifications

Many users will see a lot of specifications when choosing Alibaba Cloud server ECS, such as computing type c6, general type g7, memory type r5, etc., which are relatively common, as well as big data type d3s, shared type s6, etc. In fact, these letters are all It is meaningful. Alibaba Cloud Encyclopedia shares the naming rules of cloud server ECS instance specifications.

Alibaba Cloud Encyclopedia takes a computing c6 instance configured with 4 cores and 8G as an example. The instance specification is: ecs.c6.xlarge:

1. ecs: ecs stands for cloud server ECS, and an ECS instance can be understood as a cloud server;

2. c6: c stands for computing, the abbreviation of the English word computational, and 6 stands for the sixth generation cloud server;

3. Large: Represents the number of vCPU cores. Add x, 2x, 3x, 4x, etc. in front of it. The larger the number, the more cores. For the computing-type c6 cloud server in this article, xlarge represents 4 cores;

Alibaba Cloud ECS is not only computing-type, but also general-purpose, memory-type, big-data-type, shared-type, burst-performance type, network-enhanced type, etc.

2. Description of the abbreviations c/g/r of the ECS specification family

The lowercase letters are the abbreviation of an English word and indicate the performance field to which the specification family belongs:
Number: The number represents the release time of the cloud server. The larger the number, the newer the version. 5 represents the fifth generation ECS, 6 represents the sixth generation, and 7 represents the seventh generation ECS;

c: general representation computational (computational)
g: generally means general
r: generally indicates memory type (ram)

re: generally means memory enhanced (ram enhanced)
hf (c/g/r): generally indicates high frequency type (high frequency)
i: generally indicates the local SSD type (instance family with local SSDs)
d: generally means big data type (big data)
s: generally means shared type (share)
t: generally indicates burst type (burst)
f: generally indicates FPGA computing type
ebm (c/g/r): generally means elastic bare metal server (elastic bare metal)
scc: generally means a super computing cluster (super computing cluster)
gn: generally indicates the GPU computing type equipped with NVIDIA
vgn: generally indicates an exclusive instance accelerated by NVIDIA GRID vGPU
sgn: generally indicates a shared instance accelerated by NVIDIA GRID vGPU

The above ECS specification families will also be subdivided into some representative ECS instance specification families in some aspects, such as network-enhanced, storage-enhanced, and security-enhanced, etc., with the following suffixes:

se: generally means storage enhanced (storage enhanced)
ne: generally indicates network enhanced (network enhanced)
t: generally means security enhanced (tpm)
p: generally indicates persistent memory type (persistent ram)

3. Large

Large represents the number of vCPU cores of the cloud server in the ECS instance type family. Generally, it starts with large. The larger the number n in "nx", the greater the number of vCPU cores.

Related Articles

Explore More Special Offers

  1. Short Message Service(SMS) & Mail Service

    50,000 email package starts as low as USD 1.99, 120 short messages start at only USD 1.00

phone Contact Us