按照 1996 年的健康保险可携性和责任法案( HIPAA)的要求,美国卫生与公共服务部(HHS)的秘书长需制定保护某些健康隐私和安全信息的法规。为了满足此要求,HHS 发布了俗称的 HIPAA 隐私规则和 HIPAA 安全规则。

该隐私规则也称为个人可识别健康信息隐私标准,为保护某些健康信息确立了国家标准。该隐私规则将这些健康信息称为“受保护的健康信息”(PHI)。而保护电子 PHI 信息安全标准(即安全规则)则确立了一套以电子方式存留或传输某些健康信息的国家安全标准。

之后,HHS 又借鉴 HITECH(关于促进经济与临床健康的健康信息科技法案)的大量规定颁布了一项最终的综合规则,以加强根据 HIPAA 建立的健康隐私和安全信息保护,从而最终形成了违反通知规则。

为满足客户保护健康隐私和安全信息的需求,阿里云支持 HIPAA 的商业伙伴协议(BAA)。阿里云提供的 HIPAA 白皮书覆盖了多种阿里云产品和服务,遵从 HIPAA 安全要求,以帮助客户满足相关合规需求。

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) of 1996 required the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to develop regulations protecting the privacy and security of certain health information. To fulfill this requirement, HHS published what are commonly known as the HIPAA Privacy Rule and the HIPAA Security Rule.

The Privacy Rule, or Standards for Privacy of Individually Identifiable Health Information, establishes national standards for the protection of certain health information. The Privacy Rule calls this information "Protected Health Information” (PHI). The Security Standards for the Protection of Electronic Protected Health Information (the Security Rule) establish a national set of security standards for protecting certain health information that is held or transferred in electronic form.

After, HHS enacted a final Omnibus rule that implements a number of provisions of the HITECH Act to strengthen the privacy and security protections for health information established under HIPAA, finalizing the Breach Notification Rule.

Alibaba Cloud fully support the Business Associate Agreement (BAA) for customers that require strict compliance with the HIPAA requirements to protect the privacy and security of healthcare information. For detail information, please refer to our HIPAA whitepaper, which covers multiple Alibaba Cloud products and services compliance under HIPAA security requirements.