If one or more snapshots are no longer needed or if the maximum number of snapshots is reached, you can delete snapshots to free up storage space. This topic describes how to delete snapshots in the Elastic Compute Service (ECS) console. The procedure applies to manual and automatic snapshots.
When you delete a snapshot, data that is contained in the snapshot is deleted, but the disk from which the snapshot was created is not affected.
When you delete a snapshot, all data that is contained in the snapshot is deleted and cannot be recovered. Deleted snapshots cannot be recovered. Proceed with caution.
When you delete snapshots, you can check region-specific snapshots and determine whether to delete the snapshots based on your business requirements. You are not charged for snapshots only after you delete snapshots in all regions in your account. For information about snapshot billing, see Snapshots.
Log on to the ECS console.
In the left-side navigation pane, choose .
In the upper-left corner of the top navigation bar, select a region.
On the Disk Snapshots tab, find the snapshot that you want to delete and choose in the Actions column.
In the Delete Snapshot dialog box, follow the on-screen instructions to delete the snapshot.
If disks or custom images are created based on the snapshot, forcefully delete the snapshot, or delete the images and then delete the snapshot.
Delete a snapshot based on which disks are created
Check the risk information. If you can accept the risks, select Proceed to Force Delete and click Next.Important
After you forcefully delete the snapshot, you cannot perform operations, such as re-initializing disks, that are dependent on the data status recorded in the snapshot.
If the disks are no longer needed, you can click Disks to go to the Disks page, release the disks, and then delete the snapshot on the Disk Snapshots tab.
Delete a snapshot based on which custom images are created
Click Images to go to the Custom Images tab of the Images page. Delete the custom images. Then, go back to the Disk Snapshots tab to delete the snapshot.Important
After you delete the custom images, you can no longer use the images to create ECS instances. In addition, you can no longer re-initialize the system disks of the ECS instances that were created from the images. For more information, see Re-initialize a system disk.
Delete a snapshot based on which disks and custom images are created
Click Images to go to the Custom Images tab of the Image page, and then delete the custom images.
Go back to the Disk Snapshots tab to delete the snapshot.
Check the risk information. If you can accept the risks, select Proceed to Force Delete and click Next.