Currently, RDS instances are divided into four series: Basic Edition, High-availability Edition, Cluster Edition, and Finance Edition. Different series support different engine types and instance types. For more information, see Instance type overview.
Note Currently the Finance Edition is applicable only to regions in China.

Brief introduction

Series Introduction Use cases
Basic Edition It uses the storage-computing-isolated architecture and a single computing node, realizing super high cost effectiveness. For more information, see Basic Edition.
  • Personal learning
  • Small websites
  • Development and test environments for small- and medium-sized enterprises
High-availability Edition It uses the classic high-availability architecture with one master node and one slave node. The ephemeral SSD storage provides the best and balanced performance.
  • Production databases of large-sized enterprises
  • Applications for Internet, Internet of things (IoT), retail e-commerce sales, logistics, gaming, and other industries
Cluster Edition It applies to only SQL Server 2017 Enterprise and is developed based on AlwaysOn technology. It provides a master and a slave node, and supports up to seven read-only nodes that horizontally scale read capabilities. For more information, see Cluster Edition (AlwaysOn Edition). Large- and medium-sized enterprises, such as online retail enterprises, automobile companies, and large ERP systems.

Feature differences

Feature Basic Edition High-availability Edition
  • MySQL 5.7
  • SQL Server 2012 Web, Enterprise
  • SQL Server 2016 Web
  • MySQL 5.5/5.6/5.7
  • SQL Server 2008 R2 Enterprise
  • SQL Server 2012 Standard, Enterprise
  • SQL Server 2016 Standard, Enterprise
  • PostgreSQL 9.4
  • PPAS 9.3
Number of nodes 1 2
Maximum configuration 32-core 128 GB/2 TB 60-core 470 GB/3 TB
Set monitoring and alarms Supported Supported
IP whitelist Supported Supported
Backup and recovery Supported Supported
Parameter settings Supported Supported
SSL and TDE Not supported Supported (Currently MySQL 5.7 does not support TDE)
Log management Not supported Supported
Performance optimization Not supported Supported
Read-only instance (Additional instances required) Not supported Supported only by MySQL 5.6/5.7
Read/write splitting Not supported Supported only by MySQL 5.6
Built-in read/write splitting Not supported Not supported
SQL audit Not supported Supported (Additional payment required)
High-frequency monitoring Not supported Supported (Additional payment required)