云服务器ECS提供快照功能,通过有计划地对云盘和共享块存储(以下简称磁盘)创建快照,能够保留磁盘在某一个或者多个时间点的数据状态。快照有力地保证了您的业务安全和提高了应用部署效率。

增量快照原理

磁盘格式化后会在逻辑块地址(LBA)的基础上划分数据块(Block)。一旦数据块有业务数据写入,就将参与计量。磁盘第一份快照是全量快照,不拷贝空数据块。后续快照均是增量快照,拷贝自上一个快照以来的增量业务数据和脏数据。因此同一个数据块在不同快照中可能会出现多个版本。例如,下图快照1、快照2和快照3分别是一块磁盘的第一份、第二份和第三份快照:



创建每一份快照时,文件系统分块检查磁盘数据,只有发生变化的数据块才会被拷贝到快照中:

  • 快照1是第一份快照,备份了该磁盘上某一时刻的所有数据。

  • 快照2只备份有变化的数据块B1和C1。数据块A和D引用快照1中的A和D。

  • 快照3只备份有变化的数据块B2。数据块A和D引用快照1中的A和D,数据块C1引用快照2中的C1。

  • 当磁盘需要恢复到快照3的状态时,回滚磁盘功能将数据块A、B2、C1和D备份到磁盘上,恢复磁盘到快照3的状态。

  • 假如您需要删除快照2,则快照中的数据块B1被删除,不会删除存在引用关系的数据块C1。当磁盘恢复到快照3的状态时,仍可以恢复数据块C1。

快照链

快照链是一块磁盘中所有快照组成的关系链。一块磁盘对应一条快照链,快照链ID即磁盘ID。一条快照链中有大量引用和被引用的数据块关系。快照链包括以下信息:

  • 快照容量:快照链中所有快照占用的存储空间。

  • 快照额度:每块磁盘最多只能创建64份快照。更多详情,请参见使用限制

    说明 磁盘快照数量达到额度上限后,如果要继续创建自动快照,系统会自动删除最早的自动快照;如果要手动创建快照,您需要手动删除不需要的快照。更多信息,请参见用户指南为磁盘设置自动快照策略删除快照
  • 快照节点:快照链中的一个节点表示磁盘的一份快照。每条快照链最多有64个节点,包括手动创建及自动创建的快照。

删除快照原理

当您不再需要某份快照或者快照个数超出额度时,您需要删除一部分快照释放空间。由于快照采用增量原理,假设您需要删除快照链中的某一份快照S1,则流程示意图和逻辑概述如下所示:



  1. 阿里云离线分析已删除快照S1的所有数据块(Block),删除未被快照链中其他快照引用的数据块。
  2. 添加快照S1脏数据块到快照S2。剩下的快照一共记录了10个Block的信息:
    • 快照S0的6个。
    • 快照S1的2个脏数据块。
    • 快照S2的2个。

Alibaba Cloud ECS offers the snapshot service, which allows for the ability to create snapshots for cloud disks and Shared Block Storage (hereinafter referred to as disks) as scheduled operations. Such operations allow you to retain disk data at one or more specific points in time. Snapshots can effectively guarantee service security while also improving your overall application deployment efficiency.

Incremental snapshots

After you format a disk, data blocks are divided based on Logical Blocking Addressing (LBA). All service data that is written in data blocks is measured by using snapshots. The first snapshot of a disk is a full snapshot that does not contain empty data blocks. Subsequent snapshots after the first snapshot are incremental snapshots, which are copies of service data and dirty data generated since the last snapshot. Therefore, each data block is copied multiple times and is stored across multiple snapshots. The following figure illustrates the preceding concepts. In the figure, snapshots 1, 2, and 3 represent the first, second, and third snapshots of a disk.



When a snapshot is created, the file system checks all data blocks, and only the data blocks with data changes are copied to the snapshot.

  • Snapshot 1 copies all data on the disk from a specific point in time.

  • Snapshot 2 only copies the changed data blocks B1 and C1. Data blocks A and D are taken from snapshot 1.

  • Snapshot 3 copies the changed data block B2. Data blocks A and D are taken from snapshot 1, and data block C1 from snapshot 2.

  • If you roll back the disk to snapshot 3, the Disk Rollback feature simultaneously copies data blocks A, B2, C1, and D to the disk to replicate snapshot 3.

  • If you delete snapshot 2, data block B1 will be deleted, but data block C1 will be retained because data blocks that are taken by or from other snapshots will not be deleted. Therefore, if you roll back a disk to snapshot 3, data block C1 will be recovered.

Snapshot chain

A snapshot chain contains all the snapshots of a disk. Each disk has a snapshot chain, whose ID is identical to the disk ID. A snapshot chain records the reference relationships among data blocks and contains the following information:

  • Snapshot capacity: the storage space occupied by all snapshots in the snapshot chain.

  • Snapshot quota: Each disk can have up to 64 snapshots. For more information, see Limits.

    Note If the snapshot quota is reached, but you need to create more automatic snapshots, the system will automatically delete automatic snapshots, starting with the oldest one first. If you want to create snapshots manually, then you must first delete unnecessary snapshots manually. For more information, see Apply automatic snapshot policies to disks and Delete snapshots or automatic snapshot policies in the User Guide.
  • Snapshot node: Each node in the snapshot chain represents a snapshot of a disk. Each snapshot chain can have up to 64 snapshot nodes, including both manual snapshots and automatic snapshots.

Snapshot deletion

If you no longer need a snapshot, you can delete it. Note that if the number of snapshots exceeds the snapshot quota, you must delete some snapshots to release storage space. The following figure shows the workflow and logic for when you delete a snapshot from a snapshot chain. In this example, snapshot S1 is deleted.



  1. Alibaba Cloud ECS conducts an offline analysis on all the data blocks in snapshot S1 to be deleted, and then deletes the data blocks that are not taken by other snapshots in the snapshot chain.
  2. Alibaba Cloud ECS adds the dirty data blocks of snapshot S1 to snapshot S2. Other snapshots record the information of 10 data blocks altogether:
    • Six of the data blocks of snapshot S0
    • Two of the dirty data blocks of snapshot S1
    • Two of the data blocks of snapshot S2