All Products
Search
Document Center

Service Catalog:Manage versions of a product

Last Updated:Jan 26, 2024

After you create a product, you can create, update, or delete a product version based on your business requirements. You can update product versions to generate multiple Terraform templates for the product.

Prerequisites

Create a product version

After a product is created, a baseline product version is automatically generated. If you want to modify the Terraform template of the product, you can create a version for the product.

  1. Log on to the Service Catalog console as the administrator.
  2. In the left-side navigation pane, choose Administrator > Product management.
  3. On the Product management page, click the name of the product for which you want to create a version.

  4. On the Product version tab, click Create new version.

  5. In the Create new version dialog box, configure the following parameters and click Confirm.

    Parameter

    Description

    Example

    Name

    Enter a name for the version of the product to be created. The name is used to identify the product version.

    2.0.

    Product version description

    Enter a detailed description for the product version to be created.

    Update the specifications of an ECS instance.

    Version content

    Specify the template content.

    • Click Upload Folder to upload a folder that contains an existing template.

    • Click Import the last version to import the template of the previous product version.

    For more information, see the sample template in the "Create a product" section of the "Manage products" topic.

Update a product version

You can modify the name and description of an existing product version and specify recommendation information for the product version.

Note
  • When a product version is updated, the product version is also automatically updated in the product portfolios to which the product is added.

  • If you do not want end users to use a specific product version, you can disable the product version.

  1. In the left-side navigation pane, choose Administrator > Product management.
  2. On the Product management page, click the name of the product for which you want to update a version.

  3. On the Product version tab, find the version that you want to update and click Edit in the Operation column.

  4. In the Version information dialog box, configure the following parameters and click Confirm.

    Parameter

    Description

    Example

    Name

    Enter a name for the product version. The name is used to identify the product version.

    2.0.

    Description

    Enter a detailed description for the product version.

    Update the specifications of an ECS instance.

    Recommended information

    Select recommendation information for the product version. Valid values:

    • Recommendation: the version that is recommended for end users.

    • Latest: the version that supports the latest features. This version may be unstable.

    • Abandoned: the version that is about to be deprecated. This version is not recommended for end users.

    • None: No recommendation information is provided. This is the default value.

    Recommendation.

    Activate

    Specifies whether to enable the product version. Valid values:

    • Activate. This is the default value.

    • Deactivate.

    Activate.

Delete a product version

Before a product version is deleted, make sure that the product version is no longer in use. If the product version is still in use and you delete the product version, end users cannot manage the product of this version. If the product that you want to delete is added to a product portfolio, the product version is also deleted from the product portfolio when you delete the product version. Proceed with caution.

  1. In the left-side navigation pane, choose Administrator > Product management.
  2. On the Product management page, click the name of the product for which you want to delete a version.

  3. On the Product version tab, find the version that you want to delete and click Delete in the Operation column.

  4. In the Delete version message, check the information and click OK.