You can delete a custom image that you no longer need.
Take note of the following items before you delete a custom image:
- After a custom image is deleted, you are no longer able to create instances from the image.
- After a custom image is deleted:
- The ECS instances that were created from the image can still be used and you continue to be charged for the instances.
- The system disks of ECS instances that were created from the image cannot be re-initialized.
- Before you delete a shared image, you must unshare the image. After a shared image
- The accounts to which the image was shared are no longer able to query the image by using the ECS console or by calling an API operation.
- The accounts to which the image was shared are no longer able to create ECS instances or replace the system disks by using the image.
- The system disks of ECS instances that were created from the shared image cannot be re-initialized.
- If you delete an image that has been copied, the image copies are not affected. If you delete the copies of an image, the image is not affected.
- If you delete a custom image, snapshots contained in the image are not deleted. If you do not want to keep the snapshots, navigate to the Snapshots page and delete the snapshots.
- Log on to the ECS console.
- In the left-side navigation pane, choose .
- In the top navigation bar, select a region.
- On the Images page, click the Custom Image tab. Select one or more custom images that you want to delete and click Delete Image in the lower part of the page.
- In the Delete Image dialog box, select Forcibly Delete.
- Click OK.