You can reset a data synchronization or change tracking instance whose configuration you no longer need. This action restores the instance to the Not Configured state, allowing you to reconfigure it.
Prerequisites
The data synchronization or change tracking instance has completed the Advanced Settings stage and is displayed on the Data Synchronization Tasks or Change Tracking Tasks page. For more information, see the relevant configuration documentation in Overview of data synchronization scenarios and Overview of change tracking scenarios.
Usage notes
Resetting a data synchronization or change tracking instance clears its configuration information.
Billing continues for pay-as-you-go instances after they are reset.
You cannot reset an instance that is in the Prechecking, Locking, or Starting state.
A data synchronization instance that includes a data validation task appears in both the Data Synchronization Tasks list and the Verification Task list. Be careful when you manage such an instance.
For subscription-based tasks that are no longer in use (especially those with automatic renewal enabled), please be sure to manually cancel the automatic renewal or release the instance to which the task belongs to avoid incurring additional fees. For specific instructions, please refer to Renewal guide and Release DTS instances.
When you reconfigure a task after resetting it, you cannot change the log parsing mode. Changing this mode may prevent the proper cleanup of source resources.
Procedure
The following steps use a data synchronization instance as an example.
Go to the data synchronization task list page in the destination region. You can do this in one of two ways.
DTS console
Log on to the DTS console.
In the navigation pane on the left, click Data Synchronization.
In the upper-left corner of the page, select the region where the synchronization instance is located.
DMS console
NoteThe actual steps may vary depending on the mode and layout of the DMS console. For more information, see Simple mode console and Customize DMS console layout and style.
Log on to the DMS console.
In the top menu bar, choose .
To the right of Data Synchronization Tasks, select the region of the synchronization instance.
Find the target instance.
Reset the instance.
In the Actions column of the target instance, choose .
In the Note dialog box that appears, review the information.
Click OK.
FAQ
Will resetting an instance delete data from the source or destination database?
No. Resetting an instance only clears its configuration information, such as the accounts and passwords for the source and destination databases, the selected synchronization objects, and alert settings. It does not affect the data in the source or destination database.
Can I reset a data migration instance?
No.
Can I reset multiple instances at the same time?
No.
How do I resynchronize data through DTS to ensure data consistency?
If you find that the data in the source and destination databases is inconsistent after DTS synchronization, complete the following steps to resynchronize the data:
Manually clear the data in the corresponding destination database.
On the task details page in the DTS console, click Modify Synchronization Objects and reselect the objects that you want to synchronize.
Set the initialization type to Schema Initialization + Full Data Synchronization + Incremental Data Synchronization.
After the synchronization is complete, click Create Verification Task and select Full Verification to check for data differences.
References
Next steps: Reconfigure the instance. For instructions, see the topics in Overview of data synchronization scenarios and Overview of change tracking scenarios.
Related API: ResetDtsJob.
> Reconfigure Task