負載平衡通過健康檢查來判斷後端伺服器(ECS執行個體)的業務可用性。健康檢查機制提高了前端業務整體可用性,避免了後端ECS異常對總體服務的影響。

開啟健康檢查功能後,當後端某台ECS健康檢查出現異常時,負載平衡會自動將新的請求分發到其它健康檢查正常的ECS上;而當該ECS恢複正常運行時,負載平衡會將其自動回復到負載平衡服務中。

如果您的業務對負載敏感性高,高頻率的健康檢查探測可能會對正常業務訪問造成影響。您可以結合業務情況,通過降低健康檢查頻率、增大健康檢查間隔、七層檢查修改為四層檢查等方式,來降低對業務的影響。但為了保障業務的持續可用,不建議關閉健康檢查。

健康檢查過程

負載平衡採用叢集部署。LVS叢集或Tengine叢集內的相關節點伺服器同時承載了資料轉寄和健康檢查職責。

LVS叢集內不同伺服器分別獨立、並行地根據負載平衡策略進行資料轉寄和健康檢查操作。如果某一台LVS節點伺服器對後端某一台ECS健康檢查失敗,則該LVS節點伺服器將不會再將新的用戶端請求分發給相應的異常ECS。LVS叢集內所有伺服器同步進行該操作。

如下圖所示,負載平衡健康檢查使用的地址段是100.64.0.0/10,後端伺服器務必不能屏蔽該地址段。您無需在ECS安全性群組中額外針對該地址段配置放行策略,但如有配置iptables等安全性原則,請務必放行(100.64.0.0/10 是阿里雲保留地址,其他使用者無法分配到該網段內,不會存在安全風險)。



HTTP/HTTPS監聽健康檢查機制

針對七層(HTTP或HTTPS協議)監聽,健康檢查通過HTTP HEAD探測來獲取狀態資訊,如下圖所示。

對於HTTPS監聽,證書在負載平衡系統中進行管理。負載平衡與後端ECS之間的資料互動(包括健康檢查資料和業務互動資料),不再通過HTTPS進行傳輸,以提高系統效能。



七層監聽的檢查機制如下:

  1. Tengine節點伺服器根據監聽的健康檢查配置,向後端ECS的內網IP+【健康檢查通信埠】+【檢查路徑】發送HTTP HEAD請求(包含設定的【網域名稱】)。
  2. 後端ECS收到請求後,根據相應服務的運行情況,返回HTTP狀態碼。
  3. 如果在【響應逾時時間】之內,Tengine節點伺服器沒有收到後端ECS返回的資訊,則認為服務無響應,判定健康檢查失敗。
  4. 如果在【響應逾時時間】之內,Tengine節點伺服器成功接收到後端ECS返回的資訊,則將該返回資訊與配置的狀態碼進行比對。如果匹配則判定健康檢查成功,反之則判定健康檢查失敗。

TCP監聽健康檢查機制

針對四層TCP監聽,為了提高健康檢查效率,健康檢查通過定製的TCP探測來獲取狀態資訊,如下圖所示。



TCP監聽的檢查機制如下:

  1. LVS節點伺服器根據監聽的健康檢查配置,向後端ECS的內網IP+【健康檢查通信埠】發送TCP SYN資料包。
  2. 後端ECS收到請求後,如果相應通信埠正在正常監聽,則會返回SYN+ACK資料包。
  3. 如果在【響應逾時時間】之內,LVS節點伺服器沒有收到後端ECS返回的資料包,則認為服務無響應,判定健康檢查失敗;並向後端ECS發送RST資料包中斷TCP串連。
  4. 如果在【響應逾時時間】之內,LVS節點伺服器成功收到後端ECS返回的資料包,則認為服務正常運行,判定健康檢查成功,而後向後端ECS發送RST資料包中斷TCP串連。
说明 正常的TCP三向交握,LVS節點伺服器在收到後端ECS返回的SYN+ACK資料包後,會進一步發送ACK資料包,隨後立即發送RST資料包中斷TCP串連。

該實現機制可能會導致後端ECS認為相關TCP串連出現異常(非正常退出),並在業務軟體如Java串連池等日誌中拋出相應的錯誤資訊,如Connection reset by peer

解決方案:

  • TCP監聽採用HTTP方式進行健康檢查。
  • 在後端ECS配置了獲取用戶端真實IP後,忽略來自前述負載平衡服務地址段相關訪問導致的串連錯誤。

UDP監聽健康檢查

針對四層UDP監聽,健康檢查通過UDP報文探測來獲取狀態資訊,如下圖所示。



UDP監聽的檢查機制如下:

  1. LVS節點伺服器根據監聽的健康檢查配置,向後端ECS的內網IP+【健康檢查通信埠】發送UDP報文。
  2. 如果後端ECS相應通信埠未正常監聽,則系統會返回類似返回 port XX unreachable的ICMP報錯資訊;反之不做任何處理。
  3. 如果在【響應逾時時間】之內,LVS節點伺服器收到了後端ECS返回的上述錯誤資訊,則認為服務異常,判定健康檢查失敗。
  4. 如果在【響應逾時時間】之內,LVS節點伺服器沒有收到後端ECS返回的任何資訊,則認為服務正常,判定健康檢查成功。
说明 當前UDP協議服務健康檢查可能存在服務真實狀態與健康檢查不一致的問題:

如果後端ECS是Linux伺服器,在大並發場景下,由於Linux的防ICMP攻擊保護機制,會限制伺服器發送ICMP的速度。此時,即便服務已經出現異常,但由於無法向前端返回port XX unreachable報錯資訊,會導致負載平衡由於沒收到ICMP應答進而判定健康檢查成功,最終導致服務真實狀態與健康檢查不一致。

解決方案:

負載平衡通過發送您指定的字元串到後端伺服器,必須得到指定應答後才認為檢查成功。但該實現機制需要用戶端程式配合應答。

健康檢查時間窗

健康檢查機制的引入,有效提高了商務服務的可用性。但是,為了避免頻繁的健康檢查失敗引起的切換對系統可用性的衝擊,健康檢查只有在健康檢查時間窗內連續多次檢查成功或失敗後,才會進行狀態切換。健康檢查時間窗由以下三個因素決定:

  • 健康檢查間隔 (每隔多久進行一次健康檢查)
  • 響應逾時時間 (等待伺服器返回健康檢查的時間)
  • 檢查閾值 (健康檢查連續成功或失敗的次數)

健康檢查時間窗的計算方法如下:

  • 健康檢查失敗時間窗=響應逾時時間×不健康閾值+檢查間隔×(不健康閾值-1)


  • 健康檢查成功時間窗= (健康檢查成功回應時間x健康閾值)+檢查間隔x(健康閾值-1)
    说明 健康檢查成功回應時間是一次健康檢查請求從發出到響應的時間。當採用TCP方式健康檢查時,由於僅探測通信埠是否存活,因此該時間非常短,幾乎可以忽略不計。當採用HTTP方式健康檢查時,該時間取決於應用伺服器的效能和負載,但通常都在秒級以內。


健康檢查狀態對請求轉寄的影響如下:

  • 如果目標ECS的健康檢查失敗,新的請求不會再分發到相應ECS上,所以對前端訪問沒有影響。
  • 如果目標ECS的健康檢查成功,新的請求會分發到該ECS上,前端訪問正常。
  • 如果目標ECS存在異常,正處於健康檢查失敗時間窗,而健康檢查還未達到檢查失敗判定次數(預設為三次),則相應請求還是會被分發到該ECS,進而導致前端訪問請求失敗。

Server Load Balancer (SLB) checks the service availability of backend servers (ECS instances) by performing health checks. Health checks improve the overall availability of your frontend service, and avoid service impacts caused by exceptions of backend ECS instances.

After you enable the health check function, SLB stops distributing requests to the instance that is discovered unhealthy and restarts forwarding requests to the instance only when it is declared healthy.

If your service is highly sensitive to traffic load, frequent health checks may impact your service. To reduce the impact on your service, you can reduce the health check frequency, increase the health check interval, or change a layer-7 health check to a layer-4 one based on the service conditions. To guarantee the service availability, we do not recommend disabling the health check function.

Health check process

SLB is deployed in clusters. Data forwarding and health checks are handled at the same time by node servers in the LVS cluster and Tengine cluster.

The node servers in the cluster independently perform health checks in parallel, according to health check configurations. If an LVS node server detects that a backend ECS instance fails, the LVS node server no longer sends new client requests to this ECS instance. This operation is synchronized among all node servers.

The IP address range used for health checks is 100.64.0.0/10. Make sure that backend ECS instances do not block this CIDR block. You do not need to configure a security group rule to allow access from this CIDR block. However, if you have configured security rules such as iptables, you must allow access from this CIDR block. (100.64.0.0/10 is reserved by Alibaba Cloud. Other users cannot use any IP address in this CIDR block and therefore no security risks exist.)

Health checks of HTTP/HTTPS listeners

For layer-7 (HTTP or HTTPS) listeners, SLB checks the status of backend servers by sending HTTP HEAD requests, as shown in the following figure.

For HTTPS listeners, certificates are managed in SLB. HTTPS is not used for data exchange (including health check data and service interaction data) between SLB and backend ECS instances so that the system performance is improved.

The health check process of a layer-7 listener is as follows:

  1. A Tengine node server sends an HTTP HEAD request to the intranet IP address, health check port, and health check path of a backend server according to the health check settings.
  2. After receiving the request, the backend server returns an HTTP status code based on the running status.
  3. If the Tengine node server does not receive the response from the backend server within the specified response timeout period, the backend server is declared as unhealthy.
  4. If the Tengine node server receives a response from the backend ECS instance within the specified response timeout period, the node server compares the response with the configured status code. If the status code is the same, the backend server is declared as healthy. Otherwise, the backend server is declared as unhealthy.

Health checks of TCP listeners

For TCP listeners, SLB checks the status of backend servers by establishing TCP connections, as the following figure shows.

The health check process of a TCP listener is as follows:

  1. The LVS node server sends a TCP SYN packet to the intranet IP address and health check port of a backend ECS instance.
  2. After receiving the request, the backend server returns a TCP SYN and ACK packet if the corresponding port is listening normally.
  3. If the LVS node server does not receive the packet from the backend ECS instance within the specified response timeout period, the server determines that the service does not respond and health check fails. Then, the server sends an RST packet to the backend ECS instance to terminate the TCP connection.
  4. If the LVS node server receives the packet from the backend ECS instance within the specified response timeout period, the server determines that the service runs properly and the health check succeeds. Then, the server sends an RST packet to the backend ECS instance to terminate the TCP connection.
Note In general, TCP three-way handshakes are conducted to establish a TCP connection. After the LVS node server receives the SYN and ACK data packet from the backend ECS instance, the LVS node server sends an ACK data packet, and then immediately sends an RST data packet to terminate the TCP connection.

This process may cause backend server to think an error occurred in the TCP connection, such as an abnormal exit, and then report a corresponding error message, such as Connection reset by peer.

Solution:

  • Use HTTP health checks.
  • If you have enabled the function of obtaining real IP addresses, you can ignore the connection errors caused by accessing the preceding SLB CIDR block.

Health checks of UDP listeners

For UDP listeners, SLB checks the status of backend servers by sending UDP packets, as shown in the following figure.

The health check process of a UDP listener is as follows:

  1. The LVS node server sends a UDP packet to the intranet IP address and health check port of the ECS instance according to health check configurations.
  2. If the corresponding port of the ECS instance is not listening normally, the system returns an ICMP error message, such as port XX unreachable. Otherwise, no message is sent.
  3. If the LVS node server receives the ICMP error message within the response timeout period, the ECS instance is declared as unhealthy.
  4. If the LVS node server does not receive any message within the response timeout period, the ECS instance is declared as healthy.
Note For UDP health checks, the health check result may fail to reflect the real status of a backend ECS instance in the following situation:

If the ECS instance uses a Linux operating system, the speed of sending ICMP messages in high traffic hours is limited due to the anti-ICMP attack protection function of Linux. In this case, even if an exception occurs to the ECS instance, SLB may declare the backend server as healthy because the error message port XX unreachable is not returned. Then, the health check result deviates from the actual service status.

Solution:

Specify a pair of request and response for UDP health checks. If the specified response is returned, the ECS instance is considered healthy. Otherwise, the ECS instance is considered unhealthy. To achieve this, you must configure the client accordingly.

Health check time window

The health check function effectively improves the availability of your service. However, to avoid the impact of switching caused by frequent health check failures on system availability, status is switched (health check succeeded or failed) only when the health check succeeds or fails for a specified number of times in the time window. The health check time window is determined by the following three factors:

  • Health check interval: how often the health check is performed.
  • Response timeout: the length of time to wait for a response.
  • Health check threshold: the number of consecutive successes or failures of health checks.

The health check time window is calculated as follows:

  • Health check failure time window = Response timeout × Unhealthy threshold + Health check interval × (Unhealthy threshold -1)
  • Health check success time window = Response time of a successful health check × Healthy threshold + Health check interval × (Healthy threshold - 1)
    Note The success response time of a health check is the duration from the time when the health check request is sent to the time when the response is received. When TCP health checks are used, the time is short and almost negligible because the health check only checks whether the port is alive. For HTTP health checks, the time depends on the performance and load of the application server and is generally within seconds.

The health check result has the following impact on request forwarding:

  • If the health check of the target ECS instance fails, new requests are distributed to other ECS instance. The client access is normal.
  • If the health check of the target ECS instance succeeds, new requests are distributed to it. The client access is normal.
  • If a request arrives during a health check failure window, the request is still sent to the ECS instance because the ECS instance is being checked and has not been declared unhealthy. Then, the client access fails.