If you have an overdue payment for a cluster, the system sends you a notification. If you want to continue using the cluster, you must settle your overdue payment at the earliest opportunity before the cluster is suspended. This topic describes the overdue payment of an Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch or Logstash cluster and how to view overdue amounts.

Overdue payments

The policies for handling the overdue payments of Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch and Logstash clusters vary based on the billing method. The following table describes the policies.

Billing method Policy to handle overdue payments
Subscription You can use your existing subscription clusters as expected regardless of whether you have an overdue payment because you have paid for the clusters. However, if you have an overdue payment, you cannot perform operations that generate fees, such as purchasing a new cluster, upgrading the configuration of a cluster, and renewing a cluster. For more information about how to renew a cluster, see Renew a cluster.

A subscription cluster has a validity period. The validity period depends on the subscription duration that you specify when you purchase the cluster. After the subscription duration ends, you cannot use the cluster. If you do not renew the cluster within a specific period, the cluster is automatically released. For more information, see Subscription.

Pay-as-you-go
  • If you have an overdue payment, the system sends you a notification.

    For pay-as-you-go resources, the system automatically deducts fees from your account. If your account balance is less than zero, the system sends you a notification by text message or email.

  • If you do not top up your account within 15 days after an overdue payment occurs, the system suspends your cluster and sends you a suspension notification.
  • The system releases your cluster and sends you a release notification 15 days after the cluster is suspended.
    If your account balance is greater than zero within 15 days after your cluster is suspended, you can continue to use the cluster. If your account balance is still less than zero 15 days after your cluster is suspended, the system releases the cluster. After the cluster is released, the data stored on the cluster is permanently deleted and cannot be restored.
    Important For clusters that are automatically released due to overdue payments, the system immediately deletes the clusters and the data stored on them. For clusters that are manually released in the console, if you do not select Immediately Delete when you release the clusters, the system retains the clusters for 24 hours before the system deletes them and the data stored on them. During this period, you are not charged for the clusters and can choose to recover or immediately release them. For more information, see Release a cluster.

View overdue amounts

  1. Log on to the User Center.
  2. In the left-side navigation pane, choose Spending Summary > Spending Summary. In the Total Cost section, view the overdue amounts.