This topic explains how to share a custom template with another user in Cloud Architect Design Tools (CADT).
Prerequisites
-
You have saved the application architecture that you want to share as a custom template. For more information, see Create a custom template.
-
You have the account ID of the user you want to share the template with. For more information, see How to view an account ID.
Share a template
-
Log on to the Cloud Architect Design Tools (CADT) console as the sharer.
-
From the menu bar, select New > My solution > Template to open the My solution page.
-
Find the template that you want to share and click Share Template.
-
In the Share Template dialog box, enter the user ID of the target user in the User ID and Confirm User ID fields, and then click Authorize. After the template is successfully shared, the authorized user appears in the list below. You can click Unauthorize to revoke the user's access. Note: Templates cannot be shared across different Alibaba Cloud sites. For example, you can share templates only between accounts on the China site or between accounts on the International site. Passwords and other sensitive information configured for resources, such as ECS and ACK instances, are also shared with the target user.
View a shared template
-
After logging on to the Cloud Architect Design Tools (CADT) console, the authorized user receives an architecture template sharing notification. The notification indicates that a shared template, such as Simple web application, is available. The notification includes the architecture template name and the sharer.
-
From the menu bar, choose New > My solution to go to the My solution page. On this page, you can view templates that other users have shared with you. Shared architecture templates, such as
Simple web application, are displayed as cards. -
The authorized user can perform several operations on the shared template, including creating applications based on the template, copying the template, viewing template variables, and viewing configurable attributes.
Revoke template access
To revoke a user's access to a shared template:
-
As the sharer, log on to the Cloud Architect Design Tools (CADT) console. On the My solution page, find the template and click Share Template.
-
In the Share Template dialog box, find the user, click Unauthorize, and then click OK in the confirmation message that appears.
-
If the message "Please clear the current sharing list first" appears when you try to delete a template, it indicates that the template is still shared with other users. You must revoke access for all users before you can delete the template.
-
On the My solution page, you can view the following two types of templates:
-
Custom templates: You can use your custom templates to create applications, and to modify, share, or delete them. You can also view template variables and configurable attributes.
-
Templates shared by other users: You can use these templates to create applications, copy the template, and view its template variables and configurable attributes. You cannot modify, share, or delete them.
-