本文将向您介绍对象存储OSS产品中涉及的几个基本概念,以便于您更好地理解OSS产品。

存储空间(Bucket)

存储空间是用户用于存储对象(Object)的容器,所有的对象都必须隶属于某个存储空间。存储空间具有各种配置属性,包括地域、访问权限、存储类型等。用户可以根据实际需求,创建不同类型的存储空间来存储不同的数据。

  • 同一个存储空间的内部是扁平的,没有文件系统的目录等概念,所有的对象都直接隶属于其对应的存储空间。
  • 每个用户可以拥有多个存储空间。
  • 存储空间的名称在OSS范围内必须是全局唯一的,一旦创建之后无法修改名称。
  • 存储空间内部的对象数目没有限制。

存储空间的命名规范如下:

  • 只能包括小写字母、数字和短划线(-)。
  • 必须以小写字母或者数字开头和结尾。
  • 长度必须在3~63字节之间。

对象(Object)

对象是OSS存储数据的基本单元,也被称为OSS的文件。和传统的文件系统不同,对象没有文件目录层级结构的关系。对象由元信息(Object Meta),用户数据(Data)和文件名(Key)组成,并且由存储空间内部唯一的Key来标识。对象元信息是一组键值对,表示了对象的一些属性,比如最后修改时间、大小等信息,同时用户也可以在元信息中存储一些自定义的信息。

对象的生命周期是从上传成功到被删除为止。在整个生命周期内,除通过追加方式上传的Object可以通过继续追加上传写入数据外,其他方式上传的Object内容无法编辑,您可以通过重复上传同名的对象来覆盖之前的对象。

对象的命名规范如下:

  • 使用UTF-8编码。
  • 长度必须在1~1023字节之间。
  • 不能以正斜线(/)或者反斜线(\)开头。
    说明 对象名称需要区分大小写。如无特殊说明,本文档中的对象、文件称谓等同于Object。

ObjectKey

在各语言SDK中,ObjectKey、Key以及ObjectName是同一概念,均表示对Object执行相关操作时需要填写的Object名称。例如向某一存储空间上传Object时,ObjectKey表示上传的Object所在存储空间的完整名称,即包含文件后缀在内的完整路径,如填写为abc/efg/123.jpg。

Region(地域)

Region表示OSS的数据中心所在物理位置。用户可以根据费用、请求来源等选择合适的地域创建Bucket。一般来说,距离用户更近的Region访问速度更快。详情请参见OSS已经开通的Region

Region是在创建Bucket的时候指定的,一旦指定之后就不允许更改。该Bucket下所有的Object都存储在对应的数据中心,目前不支持Object级别的Region设置。

Endpoint(访问域名)

Endpoint表示OSS对外服务的访问域名。OSS以HTTP RESTful API的形式对外提供服务,当访问不同的Region的时候,需要不同的域名。通过内网和外网访问同一个Region所需要的Endpoint也是不同的。例如杭州Region的外网Endpoint是oss-cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com,内网Endpoint是oss-cn-hangzhou-internal.aliyuncs.com。具体的内容请参见各个Region对应的Endpoint

AccessKey(访问密钥)

AccessKey简称AK,指的是访问身份验证中用到的AccessKeyId和AccessKeySecret。OSS通过使用AccessKeyId和AccessKeySecret对称加密的方法来验证某个请求的发送者身份。AccessKeyId用于标识用户;AccessKeySecret是用户用于加密签名字符串和OSS用来验证签名字符串的密钥,必须保密。对于OSS来说,AccessKey的来源有:

  • Bucket的拥有者申请的AccessKey。
  • 被Bucket的拥有者通过RAM授权给第三方请求者的AccessKey。
  • 被Bucket的拥有者通过STS授权给第三方请求者的AccessKey。

更多AccessKey介绍请参见创建AccessKey

强一致性

Object操作在OSS上具有原子性,操作要么成功要么失败,不会存在有中间状态的Object。OSS保证用户一旦上传完成之后读到的Object是完整的,OSS不会返回给用户一个部分上传成功的Object。

Object操作在OSS同样具有强一致性,用户一旦收到了一个上传(PUT)成功的响应,该上传的Object就已经立即可读,并且Object的冗余数据已经写成功。不存在一种上传的中间状态,即read-after-write却无法读取到数据。对于删除操作也是一样的,用户删除指定的Object成功之后,该Object立即变为不存在。

数据冗余机制

OSS使用基于纠删码、多副本的数据冗余存储机制,将每个对象的不同冗余存储在同一个区域内多个设施的多个设备上,确保硬件失效时的数据持久性和可用性。
  • OSS Object操作具有强一致性,用户一旦收到了上传或复制成功的响应,则该上传的Object就已经立即可读,且数据已经冗余写入到多个设备中。
  • OSS会通过计算网络流量包的校验和,验证数据包在客户端和服务端之间传输中是否出错,保证数据完整传输。
  • OSS的冗余存储机制,可支持两个存储设施并发损坏时,仍维持数据不丢失。
    • 当数据存入OSS后,OSS会检测和修复丢失的冗余,确保数据持久性和可用性。
    • OSS会周期性地通过校验等方式验证数据的完整性,及时发现因硬件失效等原因造成的数据损坏。当检测到数据有部分损坏或丢失时,OSS会利用冗余的数据,进行重建并修复损坏数据。

OSS与文件系统的对比

对比项 OSS 文件系统
数据模型 OSS是一个分布式的对象存储服务,提供的是一个Key-Value对形式的对象存储服务。 文件系统是一种典型的树状索引结构。
数据获取 根据Object的名称(Key)唯一的获取该Object的内容。

虽然用户可以使用类似test1/test.jpg的名字,但是这并不表示用户的Object是保存在test1目录下面的。对于OSS来说,test1/test.jpg仅仅只是一个字符串,和a.jpg这种并没有本质的区别。因此不同名称的Object之间的访问消耗的资源是类似的。

一个名为test1/test.jpg的文件,访问过程需要先访问到test1这个目录,然后再在该目录下查找名为test.jpg的文件。
优势 支持海量的用户并发访问。 支持文件的修改,比如修改指定偏移位置的内容、截断文件尾部等。也支持文件夹的操作,比如重命名目录、删除目录、移动目录等非常容易。
劣势 OSS保存的Object不支持修改(追加写Object需要调用特定的接口,生成的Object也和正常上传的Object类型上有差别)。用户哪怕是仅仅需要修改一个字节也需要重新上传整个Object。

OSS可以通过一些操作来模拟类似文件夹的功能,但是代价非常昂贵。比如重命名目录,希望将test1目录重命名成test2,那么OSS的实际操作是将所有以test1/开头的Object都重新复制成以test2/开头的Object,这是一个非常消耗资源的操作。因此在使用OSS的时候要尽量避免类似的操作。

受限于单个设备的性能。访问越深的目录消耗的资源也越大,操作拥有很多文件的目录也会非常慢。

因此,将OSS映射为文件系统是非常低效的,也是不建议的做法。如果一定要挂载成文件系统的话,建议尽量只做写新文件、删除文件、读取文件这几种操作。使用OSS应该充分发挥其优点,即海量数据处理能力,优先用来存储海量的非结构化数据,比如图片、视频、文档等。

以下是OSS与文件系统的概念对比:

对象存储 OSS 文件系统
Object 文件
Bucket 主目录
Region
Endpoint
AccessKey
多级目录
GetService 获取主目录列表
GetBucket 获取文件列表
PutObject 写文件
AppendObject 追加写文件
GetObject 读文件
DeleteObject 删除文件
修改文件内容
CopyObject (目的和源相同) 修改文件属性
CopyObject 复制文件
重命名文件

This topic describes several basic terms used in Object Storage Service (OSS).

bucket

The container for OSS objects. Each object in OSS is contained in a bucket. You can configure various attributes of a bucket, including the region, access control list (ACL), and storage class. You can create buckets of different storage classes to store data based on your requirements.

  • OSS does not use a hierarchical structure for objects, but instead uses a flat structure. Each object belongs to a bucket.
  • You can create multiple buckets.
  • A bucket name must be unique in OSS within an Alibaba Cloud account. Bucket names cannot be changed after the buckets are created.
  • A bucket can contain an infinite number of objects.

OSS supports the following bucket naming conventions:

  • The name can contain only lowercase letters, digits, and hyphens (-).
  • The name must start and end with a lowercase letter or a digit.
  • The name must be 3 to 63 characters in length.

object

The basic unit for data operations in OSS. Objects are also known as files. OSS does not use a hierarchical structure for objects, but instead uses a flat structure. All elements are stored as objects in buckets. However, OSS supports directories as a concept to group objects and simplify management. An object is composed of object metadata, user data, and a key. A key is used to identify an object in a bucket. Object metadata is a group of key-value pairs that define the properties of an object, such as the last modified time and the object size. You can also assign user metadata to the object.

The lifecycle of an object starts when the object is uploaded, and ends when the object is deleted. Throughout the lifecycle, content can be appended only to objects created by using append upload. If you want to modify the content of an object, you must upload a new object that has the same name as the existing object to replace the existing object.

The name of an object must comply with the following conventions:

  • The name must be encoded in UTF-8.
  • The name must be 1 to 1,023 characters in length.
  • The name cannot start with a forward slash (/) or a backslash (\).
    Note Object names are case-sensitive. Unless otherwise stated, objects and files mentioned in OSS documents are called objects.

ObjectKey

In SDKs for different programming languages, ObjectKey, Key, and ObjectName indicate the full path of the object. You must specify the full path of an object when you perform operations on the object. For example, when you upload an object to a bucket, ObjectKey indicates the full path that includes the extension of the object. For example, you can set ObjectKey to abc/efg/123.jpg.

region

The physical location of OSS resources. When you create a bucket, you can select a region based on the cost and source of the requests. In most cases, the closer a user is located from an OSS region, the faster the access. For more information, see Regions and endpoints.

A region is specified when a bucket is created. After a bucket is created, its region cannot be changed. All objects in this bucket are stored in the corresponding region. Regions are configured for buckets instead of objects.

endpoint

The domain name that is used to access OSS. OSS uses HTTP RESTful APIs to provide services. Different regions are accessed by using different endpoints. A region has different endpoints for access over the internal network and for access over the Internet. For example, the public endpoint used to access OSS data in the China (Hangzhou) region is oss-cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com, and the internal endpoint is oss-cn-hangzhou-internal.aliyuncs.com. For more information, see Regions and endpoints.

AccessKey pair

The access credential that is used to identify the requester. An AccessKey pair consists of an AccessKey ID and an AccessKey secret. OSS uses an AccessKey pair to implement symmetric encryption and verify the identity of a requester. The AccessKey ID is used to identify a user. The AccessKey secret is used to encrypt and verify the signature string. The AccessKey secret must be kept confidential. OSS supports AccessKey pairs obtained by using the following methods:

  • The bucket owner applies for an AccessKey pair.
  • The bucket owner uses Resource Access Management (RAM) to assign an AccessKey pair to a third party.
  • The bucket owner uses Security Token Service (STS) to assign an AccessKey pair to a third party.

For more information about AccessKey pairs, see Create an AccessKey pair.

strong consistency

The feature that requires object operations in OSS be atomic, which indicates that operations can either succeed or fail without intermediate states. To ensure that users can access only complete objects, OSS does not return partially uploaded objects.

Object operations in OSS are highly consistent. For example, when a user receives an upload (PUT) success response, the uploaded object can be immediately read, and copies of the object are created for redundancy. Therefore, the situations where data is not obtained when a user performs a read-after-write operation do not exist. The same is true for delete operations. After a user deletes an object, the object and its copies no longer exist.

data redundancy mechanism

The data redundancy mechanism that is implemented based on erasure coding and multiple replicas. Copies of each object are stored in different servers within the same region. This way, data durability and availability are ensured when hardware failures occur.
  • Operations on objects in OSS are highly consistent. For example, when a user receives an upload or copy success response, the uploaded object can be immediately read, and copies of the object are created for redundancy.
  • To ensure complete data transmission, OSS calculates the checksum of the network traffic packets and checks for errors when packets are transmitted between the client and the server.
  • The data redundancy mechanism of OSS can prevent data loss even when two storage facilities are damaged at the same time.
    • After data is stored in OSS, OSS regularly checks whether copies of the data are lost. Then, OSS recovers lost copies to ensure data durability and data availability.
    • OSS periodically verifies the integrity of data to detect data corruption caused by errors and hardware failures. If data is partially corrupted or lost, OSS recovers the data by using copies of the data.

Comparison between OSS and file systems

Item OSS File system
Data model OSS is a distributed object storage service that stores data as key-value pairs. A file system uses a typical tree structure for directory indexing.
Data retrieval Objects are retrieved based on unique object names (keys).

For example, the object name test1/test.jpg does not necessarily indicate that the object is stored in a directory named test1. In OSS, test1/test.jpg is only a string. test1/test.jpg is not essentially different from example.jpg. Therefore, similar amounts of resources are consumed regardless of which object you access.

To access a file named test1/test.jpg, you must first access the test1 directory and then query the test.jpg file in this directory.
Advantages OSS supports concurrent access from a large number of users. The file system supports modifications on files, such as modifying the content at a specified offset location or truncating the end of a file. It also supports directory operations such as rename, delete, and move directories.
Disadvantages Objects stored in OSS cannot be modified. A specific operation must be called to append an object. Generated objects are different from objects uploaded by using other methods. To modify an object, you must upload the entire object again.

OSS can simulate features similar to those of directories. However, such operations consume a large amount of resources. For example, if you want to rename the test1 directory to test2, OSS must copy all objects whose names start with test1/. Then, OSS creates objects whose names start with test2/. This operation consumes a large amount of resources. Therefore, we recommend that you do not perform such operations in OSS.

The performance of the file system is subject to the performance of a single device. More files and directories in the file system consume greater resources and take longer processing time.

We recommend that you do not map operations on OSS objects to file systems because it is inefficient. If you mount OSS as a file system, we recommend that you perform only add, delete, and read operations on objects. You can take advantage of OSS to process and store large amounts of unstructured data such as images, videos, and documents.

The following table describes the differences in some terms between OSS and file systems.

OSS File system
Object file
Bucket home directory
Region N/A
Endpoint N/A
AccessKey N/A
N/A multilevel directory
GetService obtain the list of home directories
GetBucket obtain the list of files
PutObject add a file
AppendObject append data to an existing file
GetObject read a file
DeleteObject delete a file
N/A modify file content
CopyObject (same destination and source objects) modify file attributes
CopyObject (different destination and source objects) copy a file
N/A rename a file