負載平衡主要應用於以下場景中:

場景一:應用於高訪問量的業務

如果您的應用訪問量很高,您可以通過配置監聽規則將流量分發到不同的ECS執行個體上。此外,您可以使用會話保持功能將同一用戶端的請求轉寄到同一台後端ECS,提高訪問效率。

場景二:橫向擴張系統

您可以根據業務發展的需要,通過隨時添加和移除ECS執行個體來擴充應用系統的服務能力,適用於各種Web伺服器和App伺服器。

場景三:消除單點故障

您可以在Server Load Balancer執行個體下添加多台ECS執行個體。當其中一部分ECS執行個體發生故障後,負載平衡會自動屏蔽故障的ECS執行個體,將請求分發給正常啟動並執行ECS執行個體,保證應用系統仍能正常工作。

場景四:同城容災 (多可用性區域容災)

為了提供更加穩定可靠的負載平衡服務,阿里雲負載平衡已在各地域部署了多可用性區域以實現同地域容災。當主可用性區域出現機房故障或不可用時,負載平衡仍然有能力在非常短的時間內(大約30s中斷)切換到另外一個備可用性區域恢複服務能力;當主可用性區域恢複時,負載平衡同樣會自動切換到主可用性區域提供服務。

使用負載平衡時,您可以將Server Load Balancer執行個體部署在支援多可用性區域的地域以實現同城容災。此外,建議您結合自身的應用需要,綜合考慮後端伺服器的部署。如果您的每個可用性區域均至少添加了一台ECS執行個體,那麼此種部署模式下的負載平衡服務的效率是最高的。

如下圖所示,在Server Load Balancer執行個體下綁定不同可用性區域的ECS執行個體。正常情況下,使用者訪問流量將轉寄至主可用性區域內的ECS執行個體;當可用性區域A發生故障時,使用者訪問流量將轉寄至備可用性區域內的ECS執行個體。此種部署既可以避免因為單個可用性區域的故障而導致對外服務的不可用,也可以通過不同產品間可用性區域的選擇來降低延遲。



如果您採取如下圖所示的部署方案,即在Server Load Balancer執行個體的主可用性區域下綁定多台ECS執行個體,而在備可用性區域沒有任何ECS執行個體。當主可用性區域發生故障時會造成業務中斷,因為備可用性區域沒有ECS執行個體來接收請求。這樣的部署方式很明顯是以犧牲高可用性為代價來獲取低延時。



場景五:跨地域容災

您可以在不同地域下部署Server Load Balancer執行個體,並分別掛載相應地域內不同可用性區域的ECS。上層利用雲解析做智能DNS,將網域名稱解析到不同地域的Server Load Balancer執行個體服務地址下,可實現全域負載平衡。當某個地域出現不可用時,暫停對應解析即可實現所有使用者訪問不受影響。

Server Load Balancer is suitable for applications with high traffic, improving the availability and reliability.

Load balance your applications

Server Load Balancer can automatically distribute incoming traffic across multiple backend servers (ECS instances). Additionally, the requests from the same client can be distributed to the same backend server by configuring session persistence.

Scale your applications

To meet the demand of your customers, you can increase the number of the backend servers at any time to scale your applications. Integrated with Auto Scaling, your applications can always be extensible if one of your backend server exceeds the preconfigured threshold.

Protect your applications from single point of failures

You can add multiple backend servers to an SLB instance. If some of the backend servers are unhealthy, Server Load Balancer will stop distributing incoming traffic to them and distribute the traffic to the healthy ones. Once the backend servers become healthy, Server Load Balancer will automatically resume distributing traffic to them.

Achieve better disaster tolerance in multiple zones

To provide more reliable services, Server Load Balancer is deployed in multiple zones in most regions. If the primary zone becomes unavailable, Server Load Balancer in the standby zone is capable to take over the load balancing service in 30 seconds. Once the primary zone becomes available, Server Load Balancer automatically switches back to the primary zone.

It is recommended that you create a Server Load Balancer instance in a region with multiple zones deployed. Additionally, you also need to consider the deployment of backend servers. It is recommended that you add at least one backend server in each zone to achieve the best efficiency.

As shown in the following figure, ECS instances in different zones are added to an SLB instance. In normal situation, Server Load Balancer will distribute incoming traffic to the ECS instances in the primary zone (Zone A). Once the primary zone is unavailable, the incoming traffic will be distributed to the ECS instances in standby zone. This avoids service interruption caused by the failure of a single zone, and also reduces latency between cloud resources.



However, if you deploy all ECS instances to the primary zone and have no ECS instances deployed in the standby zone. Your service may be interrupted when the primary zone is unavailable, because no ECS instances are available to handle the distributed requests in the standby zone. This deployment takes low latency at the expense of high availability.



Achieve better disaster tolerance cross regions

You can create multiple SLB instances in different zones and add ECS instances in the corresponding region as the backend servers. Then, use Alibaba Cloud DNS to resolve a domain to the IP addresses of the created SLB instances. When a region becomes unavailable, DNS will automatically resolve the domain to the standby Server Load Balancer.