服务网格ASM支持通过Sidecar代理来增强服务调用之间的网络安全性、可靠性以及可观测性。本文介绍如何安装Sidecar代理。

背景信息

Sidecar所支持的功能可以从应用程序的容器中抽象出来,并在作为同一Pod中的独立容器提供的代理中实现。为了充分利用这些功能,应用程序中的每个服务都需要在其Pod中运行一个Envoy Sidecar代理。Envoy代理拦截到该服务的所有入站和出站HTTP通信,并与服务网格ASM提供的控制平面Pilot组件通信。

步骤一:启用Sidecar注入

默认情况下,对所有命名空间禁用Sidecar自动注入。可以通过更新Pod的Kubernetes配置手动注入Envoy代理,也可以使用基于Webhook的机制自动注入。执行以下命令,启用自动注入:
kubectl label namespace {namespace} istio-injection=enabled --overwrite
说明 其中, namespace表示应用程序服务对应的命名空间,如果没有指定则会使用default命名空间。

步骤二:重新启动Pod

由于在创建Pod时会注入Sidecar,因此必须重新启动正在运行的Pod才能使更改生效。
注意 请在测试环境中反复进行重新启动Pod的验证测试,以确保您的服务可以处理任何潜在的流量中断。
  1. 运行以下命令重启Pod。
    kubectl get pod {podname} -n {namespace} -o yaml | kubectl replace --force -f -
  2. 检查Pod是否都注入了Sidecar。每个工作负载都有两个容器:主容器和Sidecar代理容器。
    kubectl get pod -n {namespace} --all

In Alibaba Cloud Service Mesh (ASM), you can install an Envoy sidecar proxy in the pod of each service in your application to improve the security, reliability, and observability of inter-service communication. This topic describes how to install sidecar proxies.

Background information

If you install a sidecar proxy in the pod of an application, an independent container is created in the pod to provide the features of the sidecar proxy. To make full use of these features, each service in your application requires an Envoy sidecar proxy running in the pod of that service. The Envoy proxy intercepts all inbound and outbound HTTP traffic to the service and communicates with the Pilot component on the Istio control plane of the corresponding ASM instance.

Step 1: Enable sidecar injection

By default, automatic sidecar injection is disabled for all namespaces. You can inject a sidecar proxy manually by updating the Kubernetes configuration of the target pod. Alternatively, you can use the automatic sidecar injection feature of Istio, which is based on webhooks. Run the following command to enable automatic sidecar injection:
kubectl label namespace {namespace} istio-injection=enabled --overwrite
Note In the preceding command, the namespace parameter specifies the namespace of the target application. If you do not specify this parameter, the default namespace is used.

Step 2: Restart the pod

Sidecar proxies are injected when pods are created. Therefore, you must restart the pods to make sidecar injection take effect.
Notice We recommend that you restart the pods in the test environment multiple times to ensure that your service will not be affected by any traffic interruptions.
  1. Run the following command to restart a pod:
    kubectl get pod {podname} -n {namespace} -o yaml | kubectl replace --force -f -
  2. Check whether a sidecar proxy is injected to every pod in the namespace. After a sidecar proxy is injected to a pod, each workload is supported by a main container and a sidecar proxy container.
    kubectl get pod -n {namespace} --all