After versioning is enabled for a bucket, data that is overwritten or deleted is saved as a previous version. Versioning allows you to restore objects in a bucket to any previous point in time after you overwrite or delete the objects.
- Restore data that was accidentally deleted
OSS does not provide functions of recycle bins. After data in OSS is deleted, deleted data cannot be restored. You must use a local or third party backup tool to restore deleted data.
- Restore data that was overwritten
Documents stored in online storage or online collaborative documents are frequently modified. In online office scenarios, a large number of temporary versions are generated when files are edited. Users need to find versions of a certain point in time.
Versioning applies to all objects instead of specified objects in buckets. After you enable versioning for a bucket, all objects in the bucket are subject to versioning. Each version has a unique version ID.
- Bucket versions can be in any of the following states:
Note After you have enabled versioning for a bucket, the status of the bucket version can only be suspended. The status can cannot be rolled back to unversioned.
- Unversioned (default)
- The following users can configure versioning for buckets:
- Users who have root accounts
- RAM users or roles who have been granted OSSFullAccess
- RAM users or roles who have been granted PutBucketVersioning