If you no longer require a resource group, you can delete the resource group. The default resource group cannot be deleted.
- Log on to the Resource Management console.
- In the left-side navigation pane, click Resource Group.
- On the Resource Group page, find the resource group that you want to delete and click its name in the Display Name column.
- Click the Settings tab. In the Delete section of the Settings tab, click Delete.
- In the Delete message, click OK. Note After a resource group is deleted, it cannot be recovered. Proceed with caution when you delete a resource group.
After the preceding steps are performed, the system checks whether the resource group contains resources. This process takes three days. The resource group remains in the Deleting state during this period.
- The system renames a resource group that is in the Deleting state in the following format:
<Original name of the resource group>-<ID of the resource group>-<Date when the resource group was deleted>. For example, if a delete operation was performed on the resource group
TestGroupon August 12, 2021, the resource group is renamed
- If the system detects that a resource group in the Deleting state still contains resources, the resource group fails to be deleted, and the system attempts to roll back the new name of the resource group to the original name. If the original name is already used by another resource group, the system retains the new name. If you still want to delete the resource group, you must delete resources from the resource group and delete the resource group again.
- A resource group in the Deleting state occupies your resource group quota. If your quota is insufficient, go to the Quota Center to apply for a quota.