This topic describes how to change the character set collation and the time zone of system databases. System databases include master, msdb, tempdb, and model.

  • The default character set collation is Chinese_PRC_CI_AS.
  • The default time zone is China Standard Time.
  • You can view the available character set collations and time zones in the console.


  • The instance runs one of the following SQL Server versions:
    • SQL Server 2019
    • SQL Server 2017
    • SQL Server 2016
    • SQL Server 2012
    • SQL Server 2008 R2 (with cloud disks)
  • No database other than system databases exists in the instance.
    Note If you have just deleted databases from the instance, the deletion task may be pending in the secondary instance. Before you change the character set collation and the time zone, make sure that neither the primary instance nor the secondary instance contains databases.


The instance is in the unavailable state during the change process. It takes about 1 minute to change the time zone, and 2 to 10 minutes to change the character set collation.


  1. Log on to the ApsaraDB for RDS console.
  2. In the upper-left corner of the page, select the region where the target RDS instance resides.Select a region
  3. Find the target RDS instance and click the instance ID.
  4. In the left-side navigation pane, click Databases.
  5. On the Databases page, click Change Character Set Collation and Time Zone.
    Note If you fail to find this button on the page, make sure that requirements in Prerequisites are met.
  6. In the dialog box that appears, select a time zone, character set collation, or both of them, and click OK.Change the character set collation and the time zone
  7. Go to the Basic Information page and view the new character set collation and time zone.

UTC offsets of time zones

Time zone UTC offset Description
Afghanistan Standard Time (UTC+04:30) Kabul
Alaskan Standard Time (UTC-09:00) Alaska
Arabian Standard Time (UTC+04:00) Abu Dhabi and Muscat
Atlantic Standard Time (UTC-04:00) Atlantic Time (Canada)
AUS Central Standard Time (UTC+09:30) Darwin
AUS Eastern Standard Time (UTC+10:00) Canberra, Melbourne, and Sydney
Belarus Standard Time (UTC+03:00) Minsk
Canada Central Standard Time (UTC-06:00) Saskatchewan
Cape Verde Standard Time (UTC-01:00) Cabo Verde Is.
Cen. Australia Standard Time (UTC+09:30) Adelaide
Central America Standard Time (UTC-06:00) Central America
Central Asia Standard Time (UTC+06:00) Astana
Central Brazilian Standard Time (UTC-04:00) Cuiaba
Central Europe Standard Time (UTC+01:00) Belgrade, Bratislava, Budapest, Ljubljana, and Prague
Central European Standard Time (UTC+01:00) Sarajevo, Skopje, Warsaw, and Zagreb
Central Pacific Standard Time (UTC+11:00) Solomon Islands and New Caledonia
Central Standard Time (UTC-06:00) Central Time (US and Canada)
Central Standard Time (Mexico) (UTC-06:00) Guadalajara, Mexico City, and Monterrey
China Standard Time (UTC+08:00) Beijing, Chongqing, Hong Kong, and Urumqi
E. Africa Standard Time (UTC+03:00) Nairobi
E. Australia Standard Time (UTC+10:00) Brisbane
E. Europe Standard Time (UTC+02:00) Chisinau
E. South America Standard Time (UTC-03:00) Brasilia
Eastern Standard Time (UTC-05:00) Eastern Time (US and Canada)
Georgian Standard Time (UTC+04:00) Tbilisi
GMT Standard Time (UTC) Dublin, Edinburgh, Lisbon, and London
Greenland Standard Time (UTC-03:00) Greenland
Greenwich Standard Time (UTC) Monrovia and Reykjavik
GTB Standard Time (UTC+02:00) Athens and Bucharest
Hawaiian Standard Time (UTC-10:00) Hawaii
India Standard Time (UTC+05:30) Chennai, Kolkata, Mumbai, and New Delhi
Jordan Standard Time (UTC+02:00) Amman
Korea Standard Time (UTC+09:00) Seoul
Middle East Standard Time (UTC+02:00) Beirut
Mountain Standard Time (UTC-07:00) Mountain Time (US and Canada)
Mountain Standard Time (Mexico) (UTC-07:00) Chihuahua, La Paz, and Mazatlan
US Mountain Standard Time (UTC-07:00) Arizona
New Zealand Standard Time (UTC+12:00) Auckland and Wellington
Newfoundland Standard Time (UTC-03:30) Newfoundland
Pacific SA Standard Time (UTC-03:00) Santiago
Pacific Standard Time (UTC-08:00) Pacific Time (US and Canada)
Pacific Standard Time (Mexico) (UTC-08:00) Baja California
Russian Standard Time (UTC+03:00) Moscow, St. Petersburg, and Volgograd
SA Pacific Standard Time (UTC-05:00) Bogota, Lima, Quito, and Rio Branco
SE Asia Standard Time (UTC+07:00) Bangkok, Hanoi, and Jakarta
China Standard Time (UTC+08:00) Kuala Lumpur and Singapore
Tokyo Standard Time (UTC+09:00) Osaka, Sapporo, and Tokyo
US Eastern Standard Time (UTC-05:00) Indiana (East)
UTC UTC Coordinated Universal Time
UTC-02 (UTC-02:00) Coordinated Universal Time-02
UTC-08 (UTC-08:00) Coordinated Universal Time-08
UTC-09 (UTC-09:00) Coordinated Universal Time-09
UTC-11 (UTC-11:00) Coordinated Universal Time-11
UTC+12 (UTC+12:00) Coordinated Universal Time+12
W. Australia Standard Time (UTC+08:00) Perth
W. Central Africa Standard Time (UTC+01:00) West Central Africa
W. Europe Standard Time (UTC+01:00) Amsterdam, Berlin, Bern, Rome, Stockholm, and Vienna