本文将介绍使用Sequence过程中的注意事项及问题处理的方法。

限制与注意事项

在使用Sequence时,您需要注意如下事项:

  • 转换Sequence类型时,必须指定START WITH起始值。
  • 单元化Group Sequence不支持作为源或目标的类型转换,也不支持起始值以外的参数修改。
  • 属于同一个全局唯一数字序列分配空间的每个单元化Group Sequence ,必须指定相同的单元数量和不同的单元索引。
  • DRDS非拆分模式库(即后端仅关联一个已有的RDS物理库)、或拆分模式库中仅有单表(即所有表都是单库单表,且无广播表)的场景下执行INSERT时, DRDS会自动优化并直接下推语句,绕过优化器中分配Sequence值的部分。此时INSERT INTO ... VALUES (seq.nextval, ...)这种用法不支持,建议使用后端RDS/MySQL自增列机制代替。
  • 如果将指定分库的Hint用在INSERT语句上,比如INSERT INTO ... VALUES ... 或INSERT INTO ... SELECT ...,且目标表使用了Sequence,则DRDS会绕过优化器直接下推语句,使Sequence不生效,目标表最终会使用后端RDS/MySQL表中的自增机制生成id。
  • 必须对同一个表采用一种统一的方式分配自增id:或者依赖于Sequence,或者依赖于后端RDS/MySQL表的自增列;应避免两种机制混用,否则很可能会造成id冲突(INSERT时产生重复id)的情况,且难于排查。
  • 将Time-based Sequence用于表中自增列时,该列必须使用BIGINT类型。

如何处理主键冲突

如果直接在RDS中写入了数据,而对应的主键值不是DRDS生成的Sequence值,那么后续让DRDS自动生成主键写入数据库,可能会和这些数据发生主键冲突,您可以通过如下步骤解决此问题:

  1. 通过SHOW SEQUENCES来查看当前已有Sequence。AUTO_SEQ_ 开头的Sequence是隐式Sequence(创建表时加上AUTO_INCREMENT参数的字段产生的Sequence)。

    请在命令行输入如下代码:

    mysql> SHOW SEQUENCES;

    返回结果如下:

    +---------------------+-------+--------------+------------+-----------+-------+-------+ 
    | NAME                | VALUE | INCREMENT_BY | START_WITH | MAX_VALUE | CYCLE | TYPE  | 
    +---------------------+-------+--------------+------------+-----------+-------+-------+ 
    | AUTO_SEQ_xkv_t_item | 0     | N/A          | N/A        | N/A       | N/A   | GROUP | 
    | AUTO_SEQ_xkv_shard  | 0     | N/A          | N/A        | N/A       | N/A   | GROUP | 
    +---------------------+-------+--------------+------------+-----------+-------+-------+ 
    2 rows in set (0.04 sec)
  2. 若xkv_t_item表有冲突,并且xkv_t_item表主键是ID,那么从DRDS获取这个表最大主键值。

    请在命令行输入如下代码:

    mysql> SELECT MAX(id) FROM xkv_t_item;

    返回结果如下:

    +-----------+ 
    | MAX(id)   | 
    +-----------+ 
    | 8231      | 
    +-----------+ 
    1 row in set (0.01 sec)
  3. 更新Sequence表中对应的值,这里更新成比8231要大的值,比如9000,更新完成后,后续插入语句生成的自增主键将不再报错。

    请在命令行输入如下代码:

    mysql> ALTER SEQUENCE AUTO_SEQ_xkv_t_item START WITH 9000;

This topic describes the limits on using sequences. This topic also describes how to troubleshoot primary key conflicts.

Limits and additional considerations

When you use a sequence, take note of the following points:

  • You must specify the START WITH parameter when you convert a sequence from one type to another.
  • You cannot convert a unit group sequence to another type or convert a sequence of another type to a unit group sequence. In addition, you cannot change the parameter values of a unit group sequence, except the value of the START WITH parameter.
  • Unit group sequences that belong to the same globally unique sequence space must have the same number of units but have different unit indexes.
  • Whenthe INSERT statement is executed in a non-sharded Distributed Relational Database Service (DRDS) database or in a sharded database that has only non-sharded tables but no broadcast tables, DRDS automatically optimizes and sends the statement. This way, you do not need to use an optimizer to allocate sequence values. The INSERT INTO ... VALUES (seq.nextval, ...) statementis not supported. We recommend that you use the auto-increment column feature provided by ApsaraDB RDS instead.
  • If a hint for a specific database shard is used in the INSERT statement such as INSERT INTO ... VALUES ... or INSERT INTO ...SELECT ..., and the destination table uses a sequence,DRDS bypasses the optimizer and directly sends the statement for execution. This way, the sequence does not take effect and the auto-increment column in the ApsaraDB RDS table is used to generate IDs in the destination table.
  • Make sure that the auto-increment IDs in the same table are generated by using the same method: a sequence or the auto-increment feature provided by ApsaraDB RDS. If the two methods are used in the same table, duplicate IDs may be generated. Duplicate IDs are difficult to identify.
  • If you want to use a time-based sequence in an auto-increment column of a table, make sure that the data type of the column is BIGINT.

Troubleshoot primary key conflicts

If a data record is directly written to ApsaraDB RDS and the corresponding primary key value is nota sequence value generated by DRDS, the primary key value automatically generated by DRDS may conflict with the primary key value that corresponds to the data record. To solve this issue, perform the following steps:

  1. Execute the SHOW SEQUENCES statement to view the existing sequences. Sequences prefixed with AUTO_SEQ_ are implicit sequences. To create an implicit sequence, you must specify the AUTO_INCREMENT parameter in the statement executed to create a table.

    Execute the following statement in your CLI:

    mysql> SHOW SEQUENCES;

    The following query result is returned:

    +---------------------+-------+--------------+------------+-----------+-------+-------+ 
    | NAME                | VALUE | INCREMENT_BY | START_WITH | MAX_VALUE | CYCLE | TYPE  | 
    +---------------------+-------+--------------+------------+-----------+-------+-------+ 
    | AUTO_SEQ_xkv_t_item | 0     | N/A          | N/A        | N/A       | N/A   | GROUP | 
    | AUTO_SEQ_xkv_shard  | 0     | N/A          | N/A        | N/A       | N/A   | GROUP | 
    +---------------------+-------+--------------+------------+-----------+-------+-------+ 
    2 rows in set (0.04 sec)
  2. If the primary key of the xkv_t_item table is ID and duplicate primary key values exist in this table,query the maximum primary key value of this table from DRDS.

    Execute the following statement in your CLI:

    mysql> SELECT MAX(id) FROM xkv_t_item;

    The following query result is returned:

    +-----------+ 
    | MAX(id)   | 
    +-----------+ 
    | 8231      | 
    +-----------+ 
    1 row in set (0.01 sec)
  3. Change the maximum sequence value in the table to a value greater than 8231, such as 9000. Then, no error is returned for the subsequently generated auto-increment primary key values when you execute the INSERT statement.

    Execute the following statement in your CLI:

    mysql> ALTER SEQUENCE AUTO_SEQ_xkv_t_item START WITH 9000;