edit-icon download-icon

User management

Last Updated: Nov 03, 2017

If you do not have an E-HPC cluster, Create an E-HPC cluster first.

The E-HPC console provides functions for E-HPC cluster users, including user creation, user permission modification, resetting user password, and user deletion.

Go to the user management page

Go to the E-HPC console, and click User from the left-side navigation pane to go to the user management page.

Create a user

Note: After a cluster is created, no non-root users are created by default. The process described here is for the creation of non-root users. Root users can only be initialized (including password setting and so on) during cluster creation.

Click Create User at the upper-right corner, and configure the user information in the pop-up window. Pay attention to the naming rules and password strength requirements.

Select one of the two user types from the User Group drop-down list:

  • Normal permission group: This group is for non-root users without Sudo permissions. We recommend this type for normal E-HPC cluster users for job submission and debugging.

  • Sudo permission group: This group is for non-root users who perform commands using Sudo. We recommend this type for E-HPC cluster administrators. Note: Be careful when using this permission group, because misoperations (such as deleting the E-HPC software stack module) may lead to cluster faults.

Click OK to complete the creation. Now you can see the user information in the user list on this page.

Modify permissions

Find the user name in the user list and click Modify Permissions in the Actions column.

Select a permission group from the User Group drop-down list and click OK to complete the operation.

Reset passwords

E-HPC does not provide a password retrieval function. If your passwords are lost or disclosed, you can use the password reset function to reset your passwords. Find the user name in the user list and click Reset User Password in the Actions column.

The new password must comply with the password strength requirements.

Delete a user

Find the user name in the user list and click Delete in the Actions column.

Note: Although the /home directory under the deleted user name is not cleared, data in the $HOME directory is not reused even if you create a user with the same name. However, other users can still access the data.

Thank you! We've received your feedback.