視頻簡介

概述

負載平衡(Server Load Balancer)是將訪問流量根據轉寄策略分發到後端多台雲端服務器(ECS執行個體)的流量分發控制服務。負載平衡擴充了應用的服務能力,增強了應用的可用性。

負載平衡通過設定虛擬服務地址,將添加的ECS執行個體虛擬成一個高效能、高可用的應用服務池,並根據轉寄規則,將來自用戶端的請求分發給雲端服務器池中的ECS執行個體。

負載平衡預設檢查雲端服務器池中的ECS執行個體的健康狀態,自動隔離異常狀態的ECS執行個體,消除了單台ECS執行個體的單點故障,提高了應用的整體服務能力。此外,負載平衡還具備抗DDoS攻擊的能力,增強了應用服務的防護能力。

組成部分

負載平衡由以下三個部分組成:

  • Server Load Balancer執行個體 (Server Load Balancer instances)

    一個Server Load Balancer執行個體是一個啟動並執行負載平衡服務,用來接收流量並將其分配給後端伺服器。要使用負載平衡服務,您必須建立一個Server Load Balancer執行個體,並至少添加一個監聽和兩台ECS執行個體。

  • 監聽 (Listeners)

    監聽用來檢查用戶端請求並將請求轉寄給後端伺服器。監聽也會對後端伺服器進行健康檢查。

  • 後端伺服器(Backend Servers)

    一組接收前端請求的ECS執行個體。您可以單獨添加ECS執行個體到伺服器集區,也可以通過虛擬伺服器組或主備伺服器組來大量新增和管理。

    如下圖所示,來自用戶端的請求經過Server Load Balancer執行個體後,監聽會將請求根據配置的監聽規則分發給後端添加的ECS執行個體處理。



產品優勢

  • 高可用

    採用全冗餘設計,無單點,支援同城容災。搭配DNS可實現跨地域容災,可用性高達99.95%。

    根據應用負載進行彈性擴容,在流量波動情況下不中斷對外服務。

  • 低成本

    與傳統硬體負載平衡系統高投入相比,成本可下降60%。

  • 安全

    阿里雲對開源四層負載平衡LVS的管理軟體Keepalived進行了全面優化,使得基於LVS的四層負載平衡具備接近於即時防禦的能力。結合雲盾,可提供5Gbps的防DDOS攻擊能力。

    採用Tengine作為負載平衡基礎模組的七層負載平衡具備多維度CC攻擊防禦能力。

Server Load Balancer (SLB) is a traffic distribution control service that distributes the incoming traffic among multiple Elastic Compute Service (ECS) instances according to the configured forwarding rules. SLB expands application service capabilities and enhances application availability.

SLB virtualizes the added ECS instances into a high-performance and highly available application service pool by setting virtual service addresses, and distributes the requests from clients to ECS instances in the backend server pool based on forwarding rules.

By default, SLB checks the health status of the added backend servers, and isolates abnormal ECS instances automatically to eliminate single point of failure (SPOF) on a single ECS instance and improves the overall service capability of an application. In addition, the SLB is able to resist DDoS attacks, enhancing application service protection.

Components

SLB consists of three parts:

  • SLB instances

    A Server Load Balancer instance is a running load balancing service that receives and distributes the incoming traffic to the backend servers. To use the Server Load Balancer service, you must create a Server Load Balancer instance with at least one listener and two ECS instances configured.

  • Listeners

    A listener checks the client requests and forwards the requests to the backend servers.  It also performs health check on the backend servers.

  • Backend servers

    Backend servers are the ECS instances added to a Server Load Balancer instance to process the distributed requests. You can either add the ECS instances to the backend server pool or group the ECS instances hosting different applications or functioning different roles into different server groups.

    As shown in the following figure, after the Server Load Balancer instance receives a client request, the listener forwards the request to the corresponding backend ECS instances according to the configured listening rules.



Benefits

  • High availability

    Server Load Balancer is designed to work in the full-redundancy mode without SPOF. Server Load Balancer supports local and cross-region disaster tolerance.  When Server Load Balancer is used together with DNS, the service availability is up to 99.95%.

    You can scale your service based on the application load, without interrupting services continuity.

  • Cost-effective

    Compared with the traditional hardware load balancing system, Server Load Balancer reduces the cost by 60%.

  • Security

    Alibaba Cloud makes a full optimization on Keepalived, an open-source software used to manage LVS. Therefore, the Layer-4 Server Load Balancer that is based on LVS is able to provide real-time defense. Combined with Alibaba Cloud Security, Server Load Balancer can defend against up to 5 Gbps DDoS attacks, such as HTTP flood and SYN flood attacks.

    Using Tengine as the basic module, the Layer-7 Server Load Balancer can provide multi-dimensional CC attack defenses.