数据库起源于上世纪70年代,在技术发展浪潮中历久弥新,已成为IT科技的核心技术之一,支撑着现代社会的经济活动和商业文明。长期以来,全球商业化数据库主要以Oracle、IBM、Microsoft、SAP传统四大厂商为主。 数据库类别

随着新金融、新零售、新制造、新技术、新能源、人工智能、IoT新场景不断涌现,企业对数据存储和计算分析的能力要求不断加强。SQL和NoSQL的边界正在消失,软硬件一体化将成为未来数据库的发展方向。云数据库天然具备云上灵活性,能够提供强大的创新能力、丰富多样的产品体系、经济高效的部署方式和按需付费的支付模式,符合当下企业的市场需求和应用场景。

Gartner 2016年数据显示,四大厂商的关系型数据库超越90%的市场规模,一度占据了商业数据库市场。伴随着云数据库的兴起和发展,云计算大潮来袭,传统数据库市场正面临重新洗牌,云数据库在内的一批新生力量崛起,动摇了传统数据库的垄断地位。经多年发展,国外数据库厂商在云数据库领域中依然走在世界前列。据2019年数据显示,当前全球云数据库市场中,Microsoft和Amazon Web Services (AWS)占领了75.5%的市场份额。

云是数据库市场的未来。根据Gartner公司发布的分析报告,2018年全球数据库管理系统总收益已达到460亿美金,同比上升18.4%。其中,云数据库收益贡献率为68%。Gartner预测,随着数据库被越来越多的用于数据分析及SaaS (Software-as-a-Service)模型,到2022年,预计将有75%的数据库天然部署或迁移至云平台。数据库上云将成为未来数据库的发展趋势。

云计算快速发展为国内数据库云化提供换道超车的新机会,推动国产数据库在国际市场发展,开始在国际数据库行业中崭露头角。阿里云在云数据库领域营收已位列全球前三位。 云数据库市场情况(上图为2016-2018年全球云数据库市场情况,来源:2019 Gartner The Future of the Database Management System (DBMS) Market Is Cloud)
在国产云数据库中,阿里云通过持续的技术研发创新,成为第一家也是唯一一家被入选Gartner 2018数据库魔力象限的中国公司。在Gartner 2019年全球数据库魔力象限评选中,阿里云成功进入“领导者”象限。知名市场研究机构Forrester在最新发布的数据库评估报告《The Forrester Wave™: Database-As-A-Service,Q2 2019》中将阿里云数据库列入“强劲表现者(strong performance)”象限。 评选结果(上图为Gartner数据库魔力象限2020年评选结果)

阿里云数据库技术已先后走过了“商业-开源-自研”的演进路线,不断突破数据库技术和应用生态,实现了数据库领域的自主可控。2008年,率先发起“去IOE”战略,采用开源数据库技术替代Oracle数据库,成功解决商业数据库高成本压力和业务支持不足等问题。从2010年开始,踏上自研数据库之路,抓住云数据库的技术变革机遇,打造出了一系列先进的数据库产品。自2017年推出自主数据库产品PolarDB以来,通过自主技术引领国内数据库技术发展,并于2019年将业务扩展到全球。已经在中国内地、中国香港特别行政区、美国、新加坡、马来西亚、德国等10多个国家及地区部署自研数据库云计算服务,并在2019年12月协助马来西亚电商PrestoMall完成核心系统 Oracle 迁移。

Databases originated in the 1970s and play an increasingly important role in the surge of the advancement of technology. Database technology is one of the major technology in the IT industry and supports economic and business activities in modern society. For a long time, the traditional vendors Oracle, IBM, Microsoft, and SAP have been the major database providers in global commercial database markets.

The rise of new scenarios reshapes the database industry. The new scenarios include new finance, new retail, new manufacturing, new technology, new energy, AI, and IoT. In these scenarios, enterprises require databases that provide strong storage and analysis capabilities. The separation between SQL databases and NoSQL databases is fading. Databases that use integrated software and hardware are expected to become the trend. Cloud databases are scalable by design. Cloud databases are developed based on innovative technology and support diverse product systems, cost-effective deployment methods, and the pay-as-you-go billing method. All of these features meet the market requirements and are suitable for enterprises.

In 2016, the Gartner statistics show that the four traditional vendors owned more than 90 percent of the market share of relational databases and dominated the commercial database market. Due to the innovation and rise of cloud databases, the demand for cloud computing capabilities rapidly increases. This trend transforms the traditional database market. The increase in demand for cloud services that include cloud databases significantly affects the monopoly of traditional databases. Database vendors outside China still lead the cloud database industry due to years of development. In 2019, the Gartner statistics show that Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services (AWS) owned 75.5 percent of the market share in global cloud database markets.

The future of the database market is the cloud. In 2018, a Gartner report shows that the revenue from Database Management Systems (DBMS) in global markets reached USD 46 billion and was 18.4 percent higher than in the previous year. The revenue from cloud databases accounted for 68 percent of the total revenue. By 2022, 75 percent of all databases are to be deployed or migrated to cloud platforms, Gartner predicted. This trend is caused by an increasing number of databases that are used for analytics and the Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) model. An increasing number of databases are shifting to the cloud. As a result, the cloud becomes the future trend of databases.

The rapid growth of cloud computing provides opportunities for Chinese vendors to migrate databases to the cloud. This fuels the development of self-developed databases in China and gives Chinese vendors an international role in global database markets. The revenue from Alibaba Cloud databases ranked third in global cloud database markets. 2016The preceding image shows the trends of cloud databases in global markets from 2016 to 2018. The image is from a Gartner report published in 2019. The report is titled The Future of the DBMS Market Is Cloud.

Due to continuous technical innovation and R&D, Alibaba Cloud became the first and only Chinese vendor named in Gartner 2018 Magic Quadrant for Cloud DBMS. In 2019, Alibaba Cloud was named a leader in Gartner Magic Quadrant for Cloud DBMS. Forrester, a well-known market research company, recognized Alibaba Cloud as a strong performer in a report titled The Forrester Wave™: Database-As-A-Service, Q2 2019.

The technology used by Alibaba Cloud databases evolves from commercial database technology, open source database technology, and self-developed database technology. Alibaba Cloud continuously makes breakthroughs in database technology and application ecosystems. As a result, you can independently manage and control Alibaba Cloud databases. In 2008, Alibaba Group launched a de-IOE campaign that aimed to use open source databases instead of databases developed by IBM, Oracle, and EMC. This resolved the issues caused by commercial databases. The issues include high costs and inadequate business support. Alibaba Cloud began developing self-developed databases in 2010. Since this time, Alibaba Cloud has demonstrated technical innovation in cloud databases and released industry-leading databases. In 2017, Alibaba Cloud released the self-developed database service PolarDB. Since then, Alibaba Cloud led the database market in China based on the self-developed database technology and expanded the business of Alibaba Cloud to global markets in 2019. Alibaba Cloud databases are deployed in more than 10 regions worldwide. This includes the regions in mainland China, China (Hong Kong), the regions in the United States, Singapore (Singapore), Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur), and Germany (Frankfurt). In December 2019, the E-commerce company Presto Mall migrated data from Oracle databases to Alibaba Cloud databases.