本文介绍如何使用阿里云虚拟化Enclave创建一个可信的隔离空间,从而保护您的应用程序和数据的安全。

背景信息

数据一般分为三种形态:静态数据、传输中的数据以及使用中的数据。前两者可以通过加密等方式来保障数据安全;而使用中的数据的安全性保障十分困难,目前一般使用机密计算(Confidential Computing)来保护使用中的数据的安全性。

阿里云虚拟化Enclave在ECS实例内部提供一个可信的隔离空间,将合法软件的安全操作封装在一个Enclave中,保障您的代码和数据的机密性与完整性,不受恶意软件的攻击。

说明 阿里云虚拟化Enclave正在邀测中。您可以前往 产品详情页申请使用。

阿里云虚拟化Enclave适用于对敏感和机密数据有强保护需求的业务,例如金融服务、互联网、医疗等。

Enclave的工作原理

使用阿里云虚拟化Enclave构建机密计算环境的工作原理,是在ECS实例(即主VM)内切分计算资源(包括vCPU和内存),创建一个Enclave VM(简称EVM)作为可信执行环境。EVM的安全性保障体现在以下几方面:
  • 由底层虚拟化技术提供安全隔离,EVM和主VM之间隔离,并且和其他ECS实例也隔离。
  • EVM运行独立的、定制化的可信操作系统,没有持久化存储、交互式连接或外部网络通路,仅允许通过本地安全信道(基于vsock)与主VM进行通信,最大程度缩小攻击面。您可以将涉及机密数据的应用放入EVM中运行,通过安全调用的形式与运行在主VM上的应用进行交互。

阿里云虚拟化Enclave提供的安全性由多个方面结合实现。底层基于带有TPM/TCM芯片的第三代神龙架构,且为EVM提供vTPM/vTCM设备来增强其安全性和可信能力;上层提供高兼容性的SDK,方便您快速搭建Enclave环境并使用。在可信证明能力方面,您可以对运行在机密执行环境中的代码进行验证,例如借助SDK,机密应用可在运行时生成证明材料(包括平台、应用信息、签名等),再通过远程证明服务端(可结合KMS)验证证明材料的有效性。当主VM切分资源给EVM,并且EVM开始运行时,底层会执行资源访问隔离,确保主VM无法访问这些已经切分出去的vCPU或内存资源,保障EVM的正常运行和私密性。

使用限制

  • 仅g7、c7、r7支持阿里云虚拟化Enclave。
  • 每台ECS实例只允许创建一个Enclave。
  • 使用Enclave前您必须至少保留一个处理器物理核以及部分内存给主VM使用,剩余的处理器和内存资源可以灵活地分配给Enclave。如果您开启了超线程,则代表保留了属于一个物理核的两个处理器超线程,因此启用Enlave特性的ECS实例至少需要具备4 vCPU。

其他通用限制,请参见使用限制

通过工具集使用Enclave

  1. 安装Enclave Runtime工具集。
    Enclave Runtime工具集负责在主VM上管理Enclave的生命周期,包括Enclave的启动和终止。您可以通过以下任一方式安装:
    • 在创建ECS实例时勾选Enclave,自动安装Enclave Runtime工具集。随实例安装
      说明 通过OpenAPI创建Enclave机密计算的ECS实例时,只能调用 RunInstances实现, CreateInstance目前不支持设置机密计算模式参数( SecurityOptions.ConfidentialComputingMode)。
    • 在创建ECS实例后,运行以下命令,在主VM中安装Enclave Runtime工具集。
      sudo rpmkeys --import http://mirrors.aliyun.com/epel/RPM-GPG-KEY-EPEL-7
      sudo yum install -y alinux-release-experimentals
      sudo yum install -y https://enclave.oss-cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com/de-platform-runtime-0.1.0-1.2.al7.x86_64.rpm

    安装Enclave Runtime后,本地服务会尝试自动拉起Enclave,默认的Enclave镜像存储于/usr/local/share/dragonfly/image.bin,您可以修改配置文件/etc/enclave.conf来变更镜像存储所在路径。配置文件还提供了更多的配置选项,包括分配给Enclave的vCPU和内存资源等。

  2. 初次手动安装后,运行以下命令将Enclave镜像下载保存到本地。
    wget -O /usr/local/share/dragonfly/image.bin \
      https://enclave-cn-shenzhen.oss-cn-shenzhen.aliyuncs.com/download/linux/enclave_image/x86_64/0.1.0/image-0.1.0.bin
  3. 运行systemctl命令,对Enclave进行操作。
    systemctl status de_platform_service # 查看运行状态
    systemctl start de_platform_service # 启动服务
    systemctl restart de_platform_service # 重启服务
    systemctl stop de_platform_service # 关闭服务

通过SDK使用Enclave

阿里云虚拟化Enclave提供了SDK,让您在启用了Enclave的ECS实例上开发自己的应用。阿里云虚拟化Enclave还提供了一组与SGX-SDK兼容的API接口定义和代码库,如果您已经有SGX应用,则只需经过少量迁移工作即可将应用运行在Enclave平台上。

  1. 在开发环境中准备以下Dockerfile文件。
    FROM registry.cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com/alinux/aliyunlinux
    RUN rpmkeys --import http://mirrors.aliyun.com/epel/RPM-GPG-KEY-EPEL-7 \
        && yum install -y alinux-release-experimentals \
        && yum install -y devtoolset-9 wget openssl-devel zlib-devel patch git cmake3 \
          https://enclave.oss-cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com/de-platform-runtime-0.1.0-1.2.al7.x86_64.rpm \
          https://enclave.oss-cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com/teesdk-0.1.0-1.1.al7.x86_64.rpm \
        && yum clean all -y \
        && wget -O /devtoolset9_enable.sh \
          https://enclave.oss-cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com/devtoolset9_enable.sh \
        && chmod +x /devtoolset9_enable.sh
    WORKDIR /opt/app-root/src
    ENTRYPOINT ["/devtoolset9_enable.sh"]
  2. 运行以下命令,利用docker创建Enclave镜像。
    docker build -t deenclave/sdk-builder .
    执行成功后,自动生成名为 deenclave/sdk-builder的镜像。您只需使用该镜像,即可进行DE Enclave的应用构建。阿里云提供了 SDK示例供您参考。

SDK示例一:启动容器构建应用

阿里云提供了SDK示例程序,位于/opt/alibaba/teesdk/desdk/examples/SampleMath。该示例程序接收外部输入的两个平面坐标点,并在Enclave内计算两点之间的直线距离,最后将计算结果输出至控制台。您可以按照以下步骤完成示例操作。

  1. 运行以下命令,通过构建的docker镜像deenclave/sdk-builder启动容器。
    docker run -it \
      -v /opt/alibaba/teesdk/desdk/examples/SampleMath:/opt/app-root/src:z \
      deenclave/sdk-builder
  2. 在启动后的容器实例内,运行以下命令配置环境变量。
    source /opt/alibaba/teesdk/desdk/environment
  3. 在启动后的容器实例内,运行cmake命令对示例代码执行构建。
    cmake3 -B build && \
    cmake3 --build build
    构建成功后,应用和Enclave所在路径分别为 /opt/app-root/src/build/SampleMath/App/app/opt/app-root/src/build/SampleMath/Enclave/enclave.signed.so
  4. 将应用上传至主VM。
  5. 在主VM上启动Enclave,并执行示例代码SampleMath,然后查看执行结果。
    [root@AliYun ~]# ./app
    A(3,4) -> B(1,8) -> 4.47214
    A(6,9) -> B(6,2) -> 7
    A(3,3) -> B(7,5) -> 4.47214

SDK示例二:通过Attestation生成证明材料

Attestation是一个认证的过程,您可以通过它来确保运行在Enclave中的镜像、操作系统和应用程序代码没有被修改或篡改。您可以在自己的Enclave应用代码内调用SDK提供的API接口生成证明材料,并将证明材料上传至远程证明服务进行验证,远程证明服务会将验证结果返回给调用者。

阿里云提供了以下示例,您可以使用与 SDK示例一中SampleMath相同的方式构建并运行这些示例。
  • 生成证明材料的示例程序,位置在/opt/alibaba/teesdk/desdk/examples/QuoteGenerationSample
  • 验证证明材料的示例程序,位置在/opt/alibaba/teesdk/desdk/examples/QuoteVerificationSample

This topic describes how to create a trusted isolation space by using the Enclave feature to protect your applications and data.

Background information

Typically, data is classified into three states: data at rest, data in transit, and data in use. Data at rest and data in transit can be protected by using encryption, but you may encounter difficulties in ensuring security for data in use. Typically, confidential computing is used to protect data in use.

The Enclave feature provides a trusted isolation space inside Elastic Compute Service (ECS) instances to encapsulate the secure operations of legitimate software within an enclave. This ensures the confidentiality and integrity of your code and data against malware attacks.

Note The Enclave feature is in invitational preview. If you want to use this feature, go to the Enclave product page.

The Enclave feature is applicable to business in industries such as finance, Internet, and healthcare that require strong protection for sensitive and confidential data.

How Enclave works

Computing resources (including vCPUs and memory) are split within an ECS instance (the primary VM) and an Enclave VM (EVM) is created as a trusted execution environment. The security of the EVM is ensured in the following aspects:
  • The underlying virtualization technology provides security isolation. The EVM is isolated from the primary VM and other ECS instances.
  • The EVM runs an independent, customized, and trusted operating system. The EVM has no persistent storage, interactive connections, or external network channels, and allows communication with the primary VM only by using a local secure channel (based on vsock) to ensure a minimal attack surface. You can put applications that involve confidential data into the EVM for running, and make secure calls to interact with the applications that run within the primary VM.

The security provided by the Enclave feature is implemented in multiple aspects. At the underlying layer, the third-generation SHENLONG architecture that uses Trusted Platform Module (TPM) or Trust Cryptography Module (TCM) chips provides vTPM or vTCM devices for the EVM to enhance security and trusted capabilities. At the upper layer, highly compatible SDKs are provided so that you can build an Enclave environment for use in a quick manner. To verify the trusted capabilities, you can verify the code running in the confidential execution environment, such as by using SDKs. Confidential applications can generate attestation materials (including the platform, application information, and signatures) at runtime, and then verify the attestation materials by using the remote attestation server (with reference to KMS). When the primary VM splits resources to the EVM and the EVM starts to run, the underlying layer performs resource access isolation to ensure that the primary VM cannot access these split vCPU or memory resources. This ensures the normal operation and privacy of the EVM.

Limits

  • Only g7, c7, and r7 instance families support the Enclave feature.
  • You can create only one enclave for each ECS instance.
  • Before you use an enclave, you must reserve at least one processor core and a portion of the memory for the primary VM. The remaining processor and memory resources can be flexibly allocated to the enclave. If Hyper-Threading is enabled, two hyperthreads that belong to one physical core are reserved. Therefore, an ECS instance that has the Enclave feature enabled must have at least four vCPUs.

For information about other general limits, see Limits.

Use an enclave by means of a toolset

  1. Install the Enclave Runtime toolset.
    The Enclave Runtime toolset manages the lifecycle of enclaves on the primary VM, including the startup and termination of enclaves. You can use one of the following methods to install the Enclave Runtime toolset:
    • When you create an ECS instance, select Enclave. The Enclave Runtime toolset is automatically installed. Install the Enclave Runtime toolset along with the instance
      Note When you create an ECS instance in an Enclave confidential computing environment by calling API operations, you can call only the RunInstances operation. You cannot set the confidential computing mode parameter (SecurityOptions.ConfidentialComputingMode) when you call the CreateInstance operation.
    • After the ECS instance is created, run the following commands to install the Enclave Runtime toolset on the primary VM:
      sudo rpmkeys --import http://mirrors.aliyun.com/epel/RPM-GPG-KEY-EPEL-7
      sudo yum install -y alinux-release-experimentals
      sudo yum install -y https://enclave.oss-cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com/de-platform-runtime-0.1.0-1.2.al7.x86_64.rpm

    After the Enclave Runtime toolset is installed, the local service attempts to automatically start the enclave. By default, the enclave image is stored in /usr/local/share/dragonfly/image.bin. You can modify the /etc/enclave.conf configuration file to change the storage path. The configuration file also provides additional configuration options, including the vCPU and memory resources allocated to the enclave.

  2. After the Enclave Runtime toolset is manually installed for the first time, run the following command to download the enclave image and save it to your computer:
    wget -O /usr/local/share/dragonfly/image.bin \
      https://enclave-cn-shenzhen.oss-cn-shenzhen.aliyuncs.com/download/linux/enclave_image/x86_64/0.1.0/image-0.1.0.bin
  3. Run the systemctl commands to perform operations on the enclave:
    systemctl status de_platform_service # View the running status.
    systemctl start de_platform_service # Start the service.
    systemctl restart de_platform_service # Restart the service.
    systemctl stop de_platform_service # Stop the service.

Use an enclave by means of SDKs

Alibaba Cloud Enclave provides SDKs for you to develop your own applications on ECS instances that have Enclave enabled. Alibaba Cloud Enclave also provides a set of API definitions and code libraries that are compatible with SGX SDKs. If you already have an SGX application, you can run the application on a platform that has Enclave enabled only with a small amount of migration work.

  1. Prepare the following Dockerfile file in the development environment:
    FROM registry.cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com/alinux/aliyunlinux
    RUN rpmkeys --import http://mirrors.aliyun.com/epel/RPM-GPG-KEY-EPEL-7 \
        && yum install -y alinux-release-experimentals \
        && yum install -y devtoolset-9 wget openssl-devel zlib-devel patch git cmake3 \
          https://enclave.oss-cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com/de-platform-runtime-0.1.0-1.2.al7.x86_64.rpm \
          https://enclave.oss-cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com/teesdk-0.1.0-1.1.al7.x86_64.rpm \
        && yum clean all -y \
        && wget -O /devtoolset9_enable.sh \
          https://enclave.oss-cn-hangzhou.aliyuncs.com/devtoolset9_enable.sh \
        && chmod +x /devtoolset9_enable.sh
    WORKDIR /opt/app-root/src
    ENTRYPOINT ["/devtoolset9_enable.sh"]
  2. Run the following command to use Docker to create an enclave image:
    docker build -t deenclave/sdk-builder .
    After the command is run, an image named deenclave/sdk-builder is created. You can use this image to build DE Enclave applications. Alibaba Cloud provides the following SDK examples for your reference.

SDK example 1: Start a container to build an application

Alibaba Cloud provides an SDK sample program in /opt/alibaba/teesdk/desdk/examples/SampleMath. This sample program receives two externally entered plane coordinate points, calculates the straight-line distance between the two points within the enclave, and sends the calculation results to the console. Perform the following operations:

  1. Run the following command to start a container by using the created deenclave/sdk-builder image:
    docker run -it \
      -v /opt/alibaba/teesdk/desdk/examples/SampleMath:/opt/app-root/src:z \
      deenclave/sdk-builder
  2. Run the following command to configure the environment variables within the started container instance:
    source /opt/alibaba/teesdk/desdk/environment
  3. Run the cmake command to build the sample code within the started container:
    cmake3 -B build && \
    cmake3 --build build
    The application is located in /opt/app-root/src/build/SampleMath/App/app, and the enclave is located in /opt/app-root/src/build/SampleMath/Enclave/enclave.signed.so.
  4. Upload the application to the primary VM.
  5. Start the enclave on the primary VM, run the sample code SampleMath, and then check the execution result.
    [root@AliYun ~]# ./app
    A(3,4) -> B(1,8) -> 4.47214
    A(6,9) -> B(6,2) -> 7
    A(3,3) -> B(7,5) -> 4.47214

SDK example 2: Generate attestation materials through Attestation

Attestation is an authentication process that allows you to ensure that images, operating systems, and application code running in an enclave are not modified or tampered with. You can call API operations provided by the SDK in your Enclave application code to generate attestation materials and upload the attestation materials to the remote attestation server for verification. Then, the remote attestation server returns the verification results.

Alibaba Cloud provides the following sample programs. You can build and run these sample programs in the same way as you run SampleMath in SDK example 1.
  • The sample program for generating attestation materials is located in /opt/alibaba/teesdk/desdk/examples/QuoteGenerationSample.
  • The sample program for verifying attestation materials is located in /opt/alibaba/teesdk/desdk/examples/QuoteVerificationSample.