全部产品
Search
文档中心

设置容器终止消息

更新时间: 2021-01-28

本文介绍如何设置容器的terminationMessagePath和terminationMessagePolicy字段,实现自定义设置容器终止消息。

Kubernetes可以通过terminationMessagePath来设置容器退出的消息来源,即当容器退出时,Kubernetes 从容器的terminationMessagePath字段中指定的终止消息文件中检索终止消息,默认值为: /dev/termination-log。

通过定制terminationMessagePath字段,可以使得Kubernetes在容器运行成功或失败时,使用指定的自定义文件中的内容来填充容器的终止消息。终止消息内容最大为4KB。

在以下示例中,配置了terminationMessagePath字段为:/tmp/termination-log,则容器将把终止消息写入/tmp/termination-log给Kubernetes接收。

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
metadata:
  name: msg-path-demo
spec:
  containers:
  - name: msg-path-demo-container
    image: debian
    terminationMessagePath: "/tmp/termination-log"

此外,您还可以设置容器的terminationMessagePolicy字段,进一步自定义容器终止消息。该字段默认值为:File,即仅从终止消息文件中检索终止消息。您可以根据需要设置为:FallbackToLogsOnError,即在容器因错误退出时,如果终止消息文件为空,则使用容器日志输出的最后一部分内容来作为终止消息。

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
metadata:
  name: msg-path-demo
spec:
  containers:
  - name: msg-path-demo-container
    image: debian
    terminationMessagePath: "/tmp/termination-log"
    terminationMessagePolicy: "FallbackToLogsOnError"

Pod内所有容器的终止信息大小之和最大为12KB。当总和超过12KB时,Kubernetes的状态管理器会对其加以限制,例如:Pod内有4个InitContainer和8个应用Container,则状态管理器会限制每个容器的终止信息最大为1KB,既截取每个Container终止信息的前1KB。

All Products
Search
Document Center

Configure container termination messages

Last Updated: Mar 05, 2021

This topic describes how to set the terminationMessagePath and terminationMessagePolicy fields for a container. This allows you to customize the termination message of a container.

Kubernetes can configure the source of a container termination message by using terminationMessagePath. When a container is terminated, Kubernetes retrieves the termination message from the termination message file specified by the terminationMessagePath field of the container. Default value: /dev/termination-log.

You can customize the terminationMessagePath field of a container for Kubernetes to use the content of the specified custom file to fulfill the termination message of the container when the container running process completes or fails. The maximum size of a termination message is 4 KB.

In the following example, the terminationMessagePath field is configured as /tmp/termination-log. The container writes the termination message to the /tmp/termination-log file for Kubernetes to receive.

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
metadata:
  name: msg-path-demo
spec:
  containers:
  - name: msg-path-demo-container
    image: debian
    terminationMessagePath: "/tmp/termination-log"

In addition, you can set the terminationMessagePolicy field of the container to further customize the container termination message. Default value: File. This value indicates that termination messages can be retrieved only from the termination message file. You can set the terminationMessagePolicy field to FallbackToLogsOnError. This value indicates the last part of the container log output is used as the termination message if the termination message file is empty when the container exits due to exceptions.

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
metadata:
  name: msg-path-demo
spec:
  containers:
  - name: msg-path-demo-container
    image: debian
    terminationMessagePath: "/tmp/termination-log"
    terminationMessagePolicy: "FallbackToLogsOnError"

The total size of termination messages of all containers in a pod cannot exceed 12 KB. If the total size exceeds 12 KB, the state manager of Kubernetes sets a limit on the termination message sizes. For example, if a pod contains four InitContainers and eight application containers, the state manager limits the termination message of each container to 1 KB. This indicates that only the first 1 KB of the termination message of each container is intercepted.