This topic describes how to save, save and publish, restore, unpublish, and republish a workbook. These features allow users to view only published workbooks. All changes made by developers are invisible to users until they are published.

Background information

Workbooks are published automatically after they are saved. Users may view intermediate versions that are generated as developers save changes to the workbooks. To improve user experience, the save feature is separated from the publish feature, and the unpublish and republish features are added.

Save

The save feature saves only the current operation. New workbooks are not published after you save them. To publish a new workbook, you can use the save and publish feature. If you want to update a published workbook, you can republish it.

Save and publish

You can use this feature to save the current operation and publish a workbook. This feature is available only for workbooks that are not published.

Restore

You can use this feature to restore a workbook that is saved but not published to the latest published version. The current modifications are overwritten.

  1. Select a published workbook.
  2. Modify the workbook and save the modifications.
    The workbook is in the Saved But Not Published state.
  3. On the workbook edit page, click More and select Restore.Restore a workbook
  4. In the Confirm message that appears, click OK.

Unpublish

You can unpublish a workbook. Unpublished workbooks are invisible to users.

  1. Select a published workbook.
  2. On the workbook edit page, click More and select Unpublish.Unpublish a workbook
  3. In the Confirm message that appears, click OK.

Republish

After you update a published workbook, you can republish it to make the updates available for users. You can republish a workbook if "To Be Updated" is displayed and its state is Saved But Not Published.To Be Updated