灰度发布是指在应用的新、旧版本间平滑过渡的一种发布方式。EDAS支持单应用的灰度流量控制和多应用的全链路流量控制。

使用场景

您可以基于HTTP和HSF两种方式完成单应用和多应用的流量控制。

  • 单应用升级

    应用迭代过程中会不断有新版本发布,在正式发布前,可以使用流量控制先进行小规模灰度验证,通过收集使用体验的数据,对应用新版本的功能、性能、稳定性等指标进行评判,然后再全量升级。

  • 多应用问题排查

    当部署在EDAS中的HSF微服务应用出现问题时,可以通过全链路流量控制将特定流量引入到某个应用,排查链路中具体应用的问题,保证整个微服务应用正常运行。

入口应用与流量控制规则

在全链路流量控制中首先要指定入口应用,并根据HTTP和HSF设置各自的流量控制规则。入口应用和灰度流量控制规则作用如下图所示。

  • 对于HTTP流量,在流量进入该入口应用之后才会执行灰度判断。如果符合规则条件,就会将其标记为对应的灰度。简单地说,就是只做灰度判断。
    注意
    • 此处仅仅是对已收到的HTTP流量进行灰度判断,全链路流量控制目前还不支持HTTP流量的灰度路由。实际是在入口应用处根据HTTP流量判断灰度,对之后各环节产生的所有HSF流量进行灰度路由。
    • 和全链路流量控制不同,单个应用的HTTP流量控制规则是针对应用分组的,不只做灰度判断,也会进行灰度路由。
  • 对于HSF流量,在流量进入该入口应用之前就会执行灰度流量判断,并且进行标准的灰度路由处理。如果入口应用有属于当前灰度的应用分组实例,灰度流量就会直接路由到该灰度分组,否则灰度流量就会降级处理,路由到该入口应用的非灰度默认分组。简单地说,就是既做灰度判断,又进行灰度路由。

    灰度规则的设置和在单应用流量控制中是类似的,不同的是在灰度中可以设置多条规则。

    • 每个规则都要指定流量协议类型,有HTTP和HSF两种类型。
    • 每个规则都可以有多项规则条件,相互之间是“与”或者“或”的关系。

流量控制环境

EDAS通过定义流量控制环境来管理灰度发布。流量控制环境包含入口应用、识别规则,同时也是一个逻辑空间概念,容纳同处于该流量控制环境的应用实例分组。因此,也可以将应用的某个实例分组(非默认分组)添加或移出某个流量控制环境。

灵活特性

EDAS全链路流量控制方案能够通过控制台实现灰度发布和流量管控,具有以下灵活特性:

  • 只需为要求灰度的部分应用准备实例资源,不用将业务系统整体再搭建一套。
  • 支持多重灰度,允许不同的应用有各自不同的灰度控制,甚至允许同一个应用同时参与多个灰度控制。
  • 支持链路灰度,允许多个应用同处于一个流量控制环境,上游环节识别出来的灰度流量,经过非灰度的中间应用环节,在下游环节仍可路由到对应的灰度应用实例。

Canary release helps developers smoothly upgrade applications to a later version. EDAS supports canary traffic adjustment on a single application and end-to-end traffic adjustment on multiple applications.

Scenarios

You can implement traffic adjustment on a single application and multiple applications based on the following two methods: HTTP and HSF.

  • Upgrade of a single application

    New versions are continuously released in the application iteration process. Before a new version is officially released, you can use canary traffic adjustment to verify the new version on a small number of instances by collecting the user experience data. This way, you can check metrics, such as features, performance, and stability, of the new application version before you perform a full upgrade.

  • Multi-application troubleshooting

    When your HSF microservice applications that are deployed in EDAS fail, you can use the end-to-end traffic adjustment to route specific traffic to an application for troubleshooting problems in the application. This ensures that the entire microservice application runs as expected.

Entry application and traffic adjustment rule

In the end-to-end traffic adjustment, you must first specify the entry application. Then, you must specify the traffic adjustment rule for each application by HTTP and HSF. The following figure describes the features of the entry application and the canary traffic adjustment rule.

  • For HTTP traffic, the canary release traffic is identified only after it accesses the entry application. If the traffic complies with the rule, it is marked as the canary release traffic. In simple terms, the system identifies only the canary traffic.
    Notice
    • This feature identifies the canary traffic only for the allocated HTTP traffic. End-to-end traffic adjustment cannot route HTTP canary traffic. The system identifies canary traffic based on HTTP traffic on the entry application and routes HSF canary traffic that is generated in each subsequent step.
    • The HTTP traffic adjustment rule for a single application is different from the end-to-end traffic adjustment in that the rule is used for application groups. The rule identifies the canary traffic and routes it to the application groups.
  • For the HSF traffic, the canary traffic is identified and routed before it reaches the entry application. If the entry application has an instance in the current canary instance group, the canary traffic is directly routed to the canary instance group. Otherwise, the canary traffic is routed to the default group of this entry application. In simple terms, the system identifies the canary traffic and routes it.

    You can specify a canary release rule in a similar way as the traffic adjustment rule of a single application. The difference is that you can specify multiple rules for the canary traffic.

    • You must specify the traffic protocol type for each rule. The traffic supports two protocol types: HTTP and HSF.
    • Each rule can have multiple rule conditions that are in the AND or OR relationship.

Traffic adjustment environment

EDAS manages canary releases by defining a traffic adjustment environment. A traffic adjustment environment includes the entry application and identification rules. It is also a logical space that contains application instance groups that are deployed in the traffic adjustment environment. Therefore, you can add or remove an instance group that is a non-default group of an application to or from a traffic adjustment environment.

Flexible features

The EDAS end-to-end traffic adjustment solution implements canary release and traffic adjustment through the console. It provides the following flexible features:

  • You need only to prepare instance resources for the applications that require canary release. You do not need to build an entire service system.
  • The solution allows you to enable canary release for multiple applications and specify different rules of canary traffic adjustment for different applications. The solution even allows one application to be involved in multiple rules for canary traffic adjustment at the same time.
  • The solution supports link-based canary release. This indicates that the solution allows multiple applications to be deployed in the same traffic adjustment environment. The canary traffic identified by the upstream process can pass through immediate application instances that do not require canary release. The canary traffic can still be routed to the corresponding canary application instance in the downstream process.