全部产品
Search
文档中心

【漏洞公告】CVE-2017-16943/16944:开源邮件代理服务Exim远程执行命令和DOS漏洞

更新时间: 2018-05-10

2017年11月25日,Phil Pennock宣布了Exim的新版本,修复了两个漏洞。这些漏洞可被利用来远程执行代码(RCE),存在严重的安全风险。

开源邮件传输代理Exim简介

Exim是由剑桥大学Philip Hazel开发的邮件传输代理,负责邮件的路由,转发和投递。它可运行在绝大多数的类Unix系统上,包括Solaris、AIX、Linux、macOS等。相比其他MTA,Exim配置更灵活,支持String Expansion技术,能执行诸如条件判断,字符转换等功能。

漏洞详情见下文。


漏洞编号:

CVE-2017-16943

CVE-2017-16944

漏洞名称:

开源邮件代理服务Exim远程执行命令和DOS漏洞

官方评级:

高危

漏洞描述:

CVE-2017-16943

通过构造一个BDAT命令序列,就可被用于在SMTP服务器中远程执行任意代码。研究人员还公布了用Python编写的PoC利用代码,任何人均可在易受攻击的Exim服务器中执行代码。

CVE-2017-16944

可导致远程攻击者在连接关闭的情况下,通过强制其在不崩溃的前提下,无限循环地运行,将Exim服务器挂起。这个漏洞是因解析BDAT数据头时未正确检查表示邮件结束的 ‘.’字符导致。研究人员还提供了PoC利用代码,该代码可导致Exim服务器耗尽栈并崩溃。

漏洞利用条件和方式:

通过PoC直接远程利用。

PoC状态:

已公开

漏洞影响范围:

Exim 4.88 和 4.89 版本

漏洞检测:

检查是否使用了受影响版本范围内的Exim。

漏洞修复建议(或缓解措施):

  • 在Exim的配置文件中,添加chunking_advertise_hosts=,也就是将chunking_advertise_hosts 的值设置为空,这样可以禁用ESMTP CHUNKING 扩展,使BDAT不可用,从而避免被攻击者利用。

  • 目前官方已经发布新版本4.89.1 ,建议您及时更新。

情报来源:

edit-icon download-icon

[Vulnerability notice] CVE-2017-16943 and CVE-2017-16944: Remote command execution vulnerability and DoS vulnerability in Exim

Last Updated: Apr 02, 2018

On November 25, 2017, Phil Pennock announced that the latest version of Exim fixed two vulnerabilities. These vulnerabilities can be exploited to start a remote code execution (RCE) attack, with a high level of security risk.

See Introduction to Exim for more information about Exim.

See the following for more information about the vulnerability.


CVE identifier

CVE-2017-16943 and CVE-2017-16944

Vulnerability name

  • CVE-2017-16943: Exim remote command execution vulnerability
  • CVE-2017-16944: Exim DoS vulnerability

Vulnerability rating

High

Vulnerability description

  • CVE-2017-16943

    Remote attackers can craft BDAT commands to run arbitrary code on the SMTP server. The research personnel also publish the PoC code written by using Python. Anyone can run code on the vulnerable Exim server.

  • CVE-2017-16944

    The remote attacker can force the code to run infinitely until the Exim server is suspended, even if the connection to the server is closed. This vulnerability is caused by the improper check on the mail end character ‘.’ when parsing the BDAT data header. The research personnel also provide the PoC code that causes the exhaustion and crash of the Exim server.

Condition and method of exploitation

The vulnerability can be remotely exploited through PoC.

PoC status

Published

Affected scope

Exim 4.88 and 4.89

Vulnerability detection

Check whether any affected version of Exim is used.

How to fix or mitigate

  • Add chunking_advertise_hosts= to the Exim configuration file. That is, set the chunking_advertise_hosts value to empty. This can disable ESMTP CHUNKING and BDAT, preventing the vulnerability from being exploited by attackers.

  • The latest version 4.89.1 has been released on the official website. Upgrade the software as soon as possible.

Reference

[1]. https://lists.exim.org/lurker/message/20171125.034842.d1d75cac.en.html
[2]. https://xorl.wordpress.com/2017/11/26/cve-2017-16943-exim-use-after-free/

Introduction to Exim

Exim is a message transfer agent (MTA) developed by Philip Hazel at the University of Cambridge for the use of mail routing, forwarding, and delivering. It can run on most Unix-like systems, such as Solaris, AIX, Linux, and macOS. Compared with other MTAs, Exim is more flexible. It supports string expansion, and provides the functions such as condition judgment and character conversion.

Thank you! We've received your feedback.