全部产品
Search
文档中心

Docker服务安全加固

更新时间: 2018-05-10

Docker是一个开源的引擎,可以轻松地为任何应用创建一个轻量级的、可移植的、自给自足的容器。本文介绍了使用Docker服务的安全加固方案,帮助您搭建一个安全可靠的容器集成环境。

加固主机操作系统

在部署前需要对服务器操作系统进行安全加固,例如,更新所有软件补丁、配置强密码、关闭不必要的服务端口等。具体请参考以下内容:

使用强制访问控制策略

启用强制访问控制(Mandatory Access Control (MAC)),根据业务场景的具体分析,对Docker中使用的各种资源设置访问控制。

启用AppAamor功能:

  1. docker run --interactive --tty --security-opt="apparmor:PROFILENAME" centos
  2. /bin/bash

启用SElinux功能:

  1. docker daemon --selinux-enabled

配置严格的网络访问控制策略

根据实际应用,对需要外网访问的端口(例如管理界面、API 2375端口等重要端口)、需要与外网交互的网络地址、端口、协议等进行梳理,使用iptables或ECS安全组策略对网络的出入设置严格的访问控制。

不要使用root用户运行docker应用程序

在软件使用中,有一些必须由root用户才能够进行的操作。但从安全角度,您需要将这一部分操作与仅使用普通用户权限即可执行的操作分离解耦。

在编写dockerfile时,您可以使用类似如下的命令创建一个普通权限用户,并设置创建的UID为以后运行程序的用户:

  1. RUN useradd noroot -u 1000 -s /bin/bash --no-create-home
  2. USER noroot
  3. RUN Application_name

Docker命令参考:

禁止使用特权

默认情况下,Docker容器是没有特权的,一个容器不允许访问任何设备;但当使用--privileged选项时,则该容器将能访问所有设备。

例如,当打开--privileged选项后,您就可以对Host中/dev/下的所有设备进行操作。但如果不是必须对host上的所有设备进行访问的话,您可以使用--device仅添加需要操作的设备。

控制Docker容器资源配额

控制CPU资源配额

控制CPU份额

  • Docker提供–cpu-shares参数,用于在创建容器时指定容器所使用的CPU份额值。

    使用示例: 当使用命令docker run -tid –cpu-shares 100 ubuntu:stress创建容器时,则最终生成的cgroup的CPU份额配置可以下面的文件中找到。

    1. root@ubuntu:~# cat /sys/fs/cgroup/cpu/docker/<容器的完整长ID>/cpu.shares
    2. 100

    cpu-shares的值不能保证可以获得1个vcpu或者多少GHz的CPU资源,仅仅只是一个弹性的加权值。

  • Docker提供了–cpu-period–cpu-quota两个参数,用来控制容器可以分配到的CPU时钟周期。

    –cpu-period用来指定容器对CPU的使用要在多长时间内做一次重新分配,而–cpu-quota是用来指定在这个周期内,最多可以有多少时间用来运行这个容器。与–cpu-shares不同的是,这种配置是指定一个绝对值,而且没有弹性在里面,容器对CPU资源的使用绝对不会超过配置的值。

    cpu-periodcpu-quota的单位为微秒(μs)。cpu-period的最小值为1000微秒,最大值为1秒(10^6 μs),默认值为0.1秒(100000 μs)。cpu-quota的值默认为-1,表示不做控制。

    举例说明,如果容器进程需要每1秒使用单个CPU的0.2秒时间,可以将cpu-period设置为1000000(即1秒),cpu-quota设置为200000(0.2秒)。当然,在多核情况下,如果允许容器进程需要完全占用两个CPU,则可以将cpu-period设置为100000(即0.1秒),cpu-quota设置为200000(0.2秒)。

    使用示例:使用如下命令来创建容器docker run -tid –cpu-period 100000 –cpu-quota 200000 ubuntu

控制CPU内核

对于多核CPU的服务器,使用–cpuset-cpus–cpuset-mems参数,可以限定容器运行使用哪些CPU内核和内存节点。

该功能可以对需要高性能计算的容器进行性能最优的配置,对具有NUMA拓扑(具有多CPU、多内存节点)的服务器尤其有用。而如果服务器只有一个内存节点,则–cpuset-mems的配置基本上不会有明显效果。

使用示例:使用命令docker run -tid –name cpu1 –cpuset-cpus 0-2 ubuntu,表示创建的容器只能用0、1、2这三个内核。

混合使用CPU配额控制参数

在上述参数中,cpu-shares控制只用在容器竞争同一个内核的时间片时。如果通过cpuset-cpus指定容器A使用内核0,容器B只使用内核1,则在主机上只有这两个容器使用对应内核的情况,它们各自占用全部的内核资源,cpu-shares没有明显效果。

cpu-periodcpu-quota这两个参数一般联合使用。在单核或者通过cpuset-cpus强制容器使用一个CPU内核的情况下,即使cpu-quota超过cpu-period,也不会使容器使用更多的CPU资源。

cpuset-cpuscpuset-mems只对多核、多内存节点上的服务器有效,并且必须与实际的物理配置匹配,否则也无法达到资源控制的目的。

控制内存配额

和CPU控制一样,Docker也提供了若干参数来控制容器的内存使用配额,可以控制容器的swap大小、可用内存大小等。主要有以下参数:

  • memory-swappiness:控制进程将物理内存交换到swap分区的倾向,默认系数为60。系数越小,就越倾向于使用物理内存。取值范围为0-100。当值为100时,表示尽量使用swap分区;当值为0时,表示禁用容器swap功能。这点不同于宿主机,宿主机swappiness设置为0时,也不会禁用swap。

  • –kernel-memory:内核内存,不会被交换到swap上。一般情况下,不建议修改,可以直接参考Docker的官方文档。

  • –memory:设置容器使用的最大内存上限。默认单位为byte,可以使用K、G、M等带单位的字符串。

  • –memory-reservation:启用弹性的内存共享。当宿主机资源充足时,允许容器尽量多地使用内存,当检测到内存竞争或者低内存时,强制将容器的内存降低到memory-reservation所指定的内存大小。不设置此选项时,有可能出现某些容器长时间占用大量内存,带来性能上的损失。

  • –memory-swap:等于内存和swap分区大小的总和。设置为-1时,表示swap分区的大小是无限的。默认单位为byte,可以使用K、G、M等带单位的字符串。如果–memory-swap的设置值小于–memory的值,则使用默认值,为–memory-swap值的两倍。

不要运行不可信的Docker镜像

不要运行不可信的Docker镜像作为互联网服务器,避免运行不完全理解的Docker镜像作为互联网服务器。

开启日志记录功能

Docker的日志可以分成两类,一类是stdout标准输出,另一类是文件日志。Dockerd支持的日志级别有debug、info、warn、error、fatal,默认的日志级别为info。

必要的情况下,您需要设置日志级别,这可以通过配置文件,或者启动参数-l--log-level来完成。

方法一:修改配置文件/etc/docker/daemon.json

  1. {
  2. "log-level": "debug"
  3. }

方法二:使用docker run的时候指定--log-driver=syslog --log-opt syslog-facility=daemon

定期安全扫描和更新补丁

在生产环境中使用漏洞扫描工具可以检测镜像中的已知漏洞。

  • 容器通常都不是从头开始构建的,所以一定要进行安全扫描,以便及时发现基础镜像中任何可能存在的漏洞,并及时更新补丁。
  • 在应用程序交付生命周期中加入漏洞扫描的安全质量控制,防止部署易受攻击的容器。

通过采用以上积极的防范措施,即在整个容器的生命周期中建立和实施安全策略,可以有效地保证一个集成容器环境的安全性。

参考文档

[1]. https://benchmarks.cisecurity.org/downloads/show-single/index.cfm?file=docker16.100
[2]. https://linux-audit.com/docker-security-best-practices-for-your-vessel-and-containers/-
[3]. https://d3oypxn00j2a10.cloudfront.net/assets/img/Docker%20Security/WP_Intro_to_container_security_03.20.2015.pdf
[4]. https://docs.docker.com/edge/engine/reference/commandline/dockerd/

All Products
Search
Document Center

Harden Docker service

Last Updated: May 07, 2018

Docker is an open source engine that easily creates a lightweight, portable, and self-sufficient container for any application. This article describes how to use the security hardening scheme of the Docker service to build a secure and reliable container integrated environment.

Harden the host operating system

Before deploying Docker, perform security hardening for the server operating system, for example, updating all software patches, configuring strong passwords, and disabling unnecessary service ports. For more information, see the following sections:

Use a MAC policy

Enable Mandatory Access Control (MAC) to set access control for various resources in Docker based on analysis of business scenarios.

Run the following command to enable AppArmor:

 
  1. docker run --interactive --tty --security-opt="apparmor:PROFILENAME" centos
  2. /bin/bash

Run the following command to enable SELinux:

 
  1. docker daemon --selinux-enabled

Configure a strict network access control policy

Based on the actual scenario, sort out the ports that must access the Internet (such as management interface, API 2375, and other important ports) and the network addresses, ports, and protocols that must interact with the Internet.

Use iptables or ECS security group policies to set strict network access control.

Do not run Docker as the root user

In Docker, some operations must be performed as the root user. For security reasons, you must separate such operations from those that require only the common user permissions.

For example, when configuring the dockerfile, you can use the following command to create a user with common permissions (UID=noroot) and allow the created user to run the specified program:

 
  1. RUN useradd noroot -u 1000 -s /bin/bash --no-create-home
  2. USER noroot
  3. RUN Application_name

For more information about Docker commands, see the following:

Prohibit the privilege option

By default, a Docker container has no privilege and cannot access any device. However, when the --privileged option is enabled, the container can access all devices.

For example, when --privileged is enabled, the container can operate all devices under /dev/ on the host. If it is not necessary to access all devices on the host, you can use --device to add only devices to be operated.

Control the Docker container resource quota

CPU resource quota

Control the CPU share

  • Docker provides the –cpu-shares parameter to specify the CPU share used when a container is created.

    Example: When the command docker run -tid –cpu-shares 100 ubuntu:stress is run to create a container, the CPU share configuration of the generated cgroup can be located in the following file.

       
    1. root@ubuntu:~# cat /sys/fs/cgroup/cpu/docker/<Complete ID of the container>/cpu.shares
    2. 100

    The value of cpu-shares is only an elastic weight and does not guarantee that one vCPU or the specified CPU resources in GHz can be obtained.

  • Docker provides the –cpu-period and –cpu-quota parameters to specify the CPU clock cycle that can be allocated to a container.

    –cpu-period specifies the interval for the container to reallocate the CPU resources, and –cpu-quota specifies the maximum time used to run the container within the specified cycle. Different from –cpu-shares, cpu-quota specifies an absolute value and is inelastic. The number of CPU resources used by the container does not exceed the configured value.

    The values of cpu-period and cpu-quota are in μs. The minimum and maximum values of cpu-period are 1000 μs and 1s (10^6 μs), respectively. The default value is 0.1s (100,000 μs). The default value of cpu-quota is –1, indicating that no quota is specified.

    For example, if a container process needs to use 0.2s of a CPU every 1s, you can set cpu-period to 1000000 (1s) and cpu-quota to 200000 (0.2s). For multi-core CPUs, if a container process needs to completely occupy two CPUs, you can set cpu-period to 100000 (0.1s) and cpu-quota to 200000 (0.2s).

    Example: Run docker run -tid –cpu-period 100000 –cpu-quota 200000 ubuntu to create a container.

Control the CPU core

You can use the –cpuset-cpus and –cpuset-mems parameters on a server with a multi-core CPU to specify the CPU cores and memory nodes used for container running.

This function can be used to provide optimal configuration for containers that require high-performance computing, especially for servers with the NUMA topology (multiple CPU cores and multiple memory nodes). However, if a server has only one memory node, the configuration of –cpuset-mems basically has no effect.

Example: Run docker run -tid –name cpu1 –cpuset-cpus 0-2 ubuntu to restrict the created container to use only cores 0, 1, and 2.

Use CPU quota control parameters together

In the preceding parameters, cpu-shares is used only when containers compete for the time slice of the same core. If you use cpuset-cpus to specify that container A uses core 0 and container B uses core 1, only these two containers use the cores on the host and respectively occupy all resources of its own core. cpu-shares has no effect.

cpu-period and cpu-quota are usually used together. When a single-core CPU is used or the container is forced to use only one CPU core by setting cpuset-cpus, the container does not use more CPU resources even if the value of cpu-quota exceeds that of cpu-period.

cpuset-cpus and cpuset-mems are available only for servers with multiple CPU cores and multiple memory nodes and must match the actual physical configuration. Otherwise, the purpose of resource control cannot be achieved.

Memory quota

Like CPU control, Docker provides some parameters to control the memory quota for containers, such as the container swap size and available memory size. The following parameters are used:

  • memory-swappiness: Controls the tendency that the process exchanges the physical memory for the swap partition. The default coefficient is 60. The smaller the coefficient, the more likely that the process uses the physical memory. The value ranges from 0 to 100. When the value is 100, the swap partition is used as much as possible. If the value is 0, the swap function is disabled. This is different from the host, in which swap is not disabled when swappiness is set to 0.

  • –kernel-memory: Kernel memory, which is not exchanged to the swap partition. Generally, we recommend that you do not change the value of this parameter. For more information, see the Docker official documentation.

  • –memory: Specifies the maximum memory size used by the container. The default unit is byte. You can use strings in kilobytes, gigabytes, or megabytes.

  • –memory-reservation: Enables elastic memory sharing. When the host resources are sufficient, the container can use the memory as much as possible. When memory competition or a low memory size is detected, the memory used by the container is forcibly reduced to the size specified by memory-reservation. If this option is not set, some containers may occupy a large amount of memory for a long term, resulting in performance loss.

  • –memory-swap: Sum of the memory and swap partition sizes. When this parameter is set to –1, it indicates that the swap partition has an unlimited size. The default unit is byte. You can use strings in kilobytes, gigabytes, or megabytes. If the value set for –memory-swap is smaller than that of –memory, the default value is used, which is twice the value of –memory-swap.

Only run trusted Docker images

Only run trusted Docker images as the Internet servers and do not run any Docker image that is not fully understood.

Enable the logging function

Docker logs include standard outputs (stdout) and file logs. The Docker-supported log levels include debug, info, warn, error, and fatal, and the default log level is info.

If necessary, you must set the log level by modifying the configuration file or enabling the parameter -l or --log-level. The following methods are available:

  • Modify the configuration file /etc/docker/daemon.json.

       
    1. {
    2. "log-level": "debug"
    3. }
  • Specify --log-driver=syslog --log-opt syslog-facility=daemon when using docker run.

Periodically scan vulnerabilities and update patches

You can use a vulnerability scanner in a production environment to detect known vulnerabilities in the image.

Generally, containers are not built from scratch. Therefore, you must perform security scanning to find any vulnerabilities in the basic image in time and update patches.

Add security quality control of vulnerability scanning to the application delivery lifecycle to prevent deployment of vulnerable containers.

Summary

By taking the preceding positive preventive measures, security policies are established and implemented throughout the entire lifecycle of the container, effectively guaranteeing the security of an integrated container environment.