全部产品
Search
文档中心

【漏洞公告】WordPress存储型XSS漏洞

更新时间: 2018-05-10

2017年10月19日,WordPress官方发布了一条安全通告,表示在4.8.1版本中发现了一个存储型的XSS漏洞。通过该漏洞,攻击者可以在受影响网站的评论区写下包含恶意代码的留言,当该留言页面被打开时,其中的恶意代码会被执行,导致该网站的权限,插件等被更改,甚至被完全控制,安全风险为高危。

阿里云安全建议站长们关注,并尽快开展自查工作,及时更新到最新版WordPress。

漏洞详情见下文。


漏洞编号

暂无

漏洞名称

WordPress储存型XSS漏洞

官方评级

高危

漏洞描述

该漏洞影响WordPress4.8.1版本。攻击者可以未授权通过WordPress的评论注入JavaScript攻击代码。管理员登录后查看评论时,JavaScript即被触发,可能导致攻击者进入后台,并通过主题或插件编辑命令控制整个服务器。该漏洞安全风险为高危。

漏洞利用条件和方式

远程利用。

PoC状态

PoC已经公开。

漏洞影响范围

  • 受影响的版本 WordPress 4.8.1
  • 不受影响的版本 WordPress 4.8.2

漏洞检测

开发或运维人员排查是否使用了受影响版本范围内的WordPress。

漏洞修复建议(或缓解措施)

  • 目前已经发布最新版本4.8.2,建议用户登录到面板通过 更新升级 修复该漏洞。

  • 使用阿里云WAF进行防护。

情报来源

[1]. https://blog.sucuri.net/2017/09/stored-cross-site-scripting-vulnerability-in-wordpress-4-8-1.html
[2]. WordPress官方安全公告:https://wordpress.org/news/2017/09/wordpress-4-8-2-security-and-maintenance-release/

小科普

  • 存储型XSS漏洞是什么?

    存储型XSS漏洞具有持久化的特性,被插入的恶意代码是存储在服务器中的。例如,在个人信息或发表文章等地方,如果没有过滤或过滤不严,那么这些代码将储存到服务器中,用户访问该页面的时候会触发代码执行。这种存储类型的XSS漏洞安全风险很高,容易造成蠕虫,盗窃cookie等。

  • 反射型XSS漏洞是什么?

    反射型XSS,它具有非持久化特性,需要欺骗用户自己去点击(用户交互)链接才能触发XSS代码(服务器中没有这样的页面和内容),一般容易出现在搜索页面。

edit-icon download-icon

[Vulnerability notice] Stored XSS vulnerability in WordPress

Last Updated: Apr 08, 2018

On October 19, 2017, WordPress released a security notice about a stored XSS vulnerability in version 4.8.1. An attacker can leave a comment that contains malicious code on the affected website. When the comment page is opened, the malicious code is ran, causing the website permissions and plug-ins to be changed or even fully controlled. This vulnerability brings high security risks.

We recommend that you check for the vulnerability and upgrade WordPress to the latest version immediately.

See the following for more information about the vulnerability.


CVE identifier

None

Vulnerability name

WordPress stored XSS vulnerability

Vulnerability rating

High

Vulnerability description

This vulnerability affects WordPress 4.8.1. It is exploitable by an unauthorized attacker to inject JavaScript attack code into a comment in WordPress. Once the administrator logs on and reviews the comment, the JavaScript is triggered. The attacker can access the backend and control the server by using the topic or plug-in editor. This vulnerability brings high security risks.

Condition and method of exploitation

Remote exploitation

PoC status

Published

Affected scope

  • Affected version: WordPress 4.8.1
  • Unaffected version: WordPress 4.8.2

Vulnerability detection

Check whether any affected version of WordPress is used.

How to fix or mitigate

  • Select Update on the backend dashboard of WordPress to upgrade WordPress to the latest official version 4.8.2.

  • Use Alibaba Cloud Security WAF for defense.

Reference

[1]. https://blog.sucuri.net/2017/09/stored-cross-site-scripting-vulnerability-in-wordpress-4-8-1.html
[2]. https://wordpress.org/news/2017/09/wordpress-4-8-2-security-and-maintenance-release/

Information you may want to know

  • What is a stored XSS vulnerability?

    The stored XSS vulnerability is persistent. It can be exploited to inject and store malicious code on the server. On vulnerable web pages, malicious code may be stored in input fields, for example, fields for editing user profile or posting comments. The code execution is triggered when users visit the vulnerable page. Websites infected with the stored XSS vulnerability are vulnerable to worms and cookie theft.

  • What is a reflected XSS vulnerability?

    The reflected XSS vulnerability is non-persistent. It triggers XSS code by inducing visitors to click a malicious link. The code is not stored in any page or content on the server. Websites with a search page are prone to this type of XSS vulnerability.

Thank you! We've received your feedback.