全部产品
Search
文档中心

网络钓鱼攻击和防御

更新时间: 2018-01-15

什么是网络钓鱼攻击

网络钓鱼攻击(Phishing,与钓鱼的英语 fishing 发音相近,又名钓鱼法或钓鱼式攻击)是通过大量发送声称来自于银行或其他知名机构的欺骗性垃圾邮件,意图引诱收信人给出敏感信息(如用户名、口令、账号 ID、ATM PIN 码,或信用卡详细信息)的一种攻击方式。

常见攻击方式

钓鱼攻击会使用多种技术,使一封电子邮件信息或网页的显示同其运行表现出欺骗性差异。下面列出了一些较为常见攻击技术。

使用相似的域名,复制页面内容,假冒网页设计

由于大多数浏览器以无衬线字体显示URL,为了达到欺骗目的,攻击者会注册与要假冒的网站域名相似的域名(有时,攻击者还会改变大小写或使用特殊字符)。例如,“paypaI.com”可用来假冒“paypal.com”,“barcIays.com”可用来假冒“barclays.com”。

假域名也可能只是简单地将真域名的一部分插入其中。例如,用“ebay-members-security.com”假冒“ebay.com”,用“users-paypal.com”假冒“paypal.com”。而大多数用户缺少判断一个假域名是否为域名持有者所拥有的工具和知识,

隐藏URL

假冒URL会利用URL语法中一种不常见的特性来隐藏其URL。在URL语法中,用户名和密码可包含在域名前,语法结构为http://username:password@domain/。攻击者可能将一个看起来合理的域名放在用户名位置,而把真实的域名隐藏起来或放在地址栏的最后。例如,http://earthlink.net%6C%6C...%6C@211.112.228.2

最新版本的网页浏览器已关闭这个漏洞,其方法是在地址栏显示前将URL中的用户名和密码去掉,或者完全禁用含用户名/密码的URL语法(Internet Explorer使用这种办法)。

使用IP地址显示

隐藏一台服务器身份的最简单办法就是使它以IP地址的形式显示,如http://210.93.131.250。由于许多合法URL也包含一些不透明且不易理解的数字,因此,只有懂得解析URL且足够警觉的用户才有可能对这种地址产生怀疑。

欺骗性的超链接

一个超链接的标题完全独立于它实际指向的URL。攻击者利用这种显示和运行间的差异,在链接标题中显示一个URL,而在背后使用了一个完全不同的URL。即便是一个有着丰富知识的用户,在看到消息中显而易见的URL后,也可能不会去检查其真实的URL。

检查超链接目的地址的方法是将鼠标放在超链接上,检查在状态栏中显示出来的URL(但所显示内容也可能被攻击者利用JavaScript或URL隐藏技术更改)。

隐藏提示

隐藏提示通过完全替换地址栏或状态栏达到使其提供欺骗性提示信息的目的。攻击者用JavaScript在Internet Explorer的地址栏上创建的一个简单的小窗口,用来显示一个完全无关的URL。

弹出窗口

在浏览器中显示的是真实的Citibank网页,但在页面上弹出了一个简单的窗口,要求用户输入个人信息。

社会工程

社会工程使用的是非技术手段使用户坠入陷阱。

  • 一个常见的策略是急迫性,使用户急于采取行动,而较少花时间去核实消息的真实性。
  • 另一个策略是威胁用户,如果不按照所要求的去做就会造成可怕的后果,如终止服务或关闭账户;少数攻击还许诺将获得巨额回报(如“你中了一个大奖!”),但威胁攻击更为常见。

网络钓鱼攻击有什么危害

网络钓鱼(Phishing)攻击者利用欺骗性的电子邮件和伪造的Web站点来进行网络诈骗活动。诈骗者通常会将自己伪装成网络银行、在线零售商和信用卡公司等可信的品牌,骗取用户的私人信息。受骗者往往会泄露自己的私人资料,如信用卡号、银行卡账户、身份证号等内容。

如何防御网络钓鱼攻击

  • 不要随意点击不明链接,打开陌生人的电子邮件。
  • 对服务器或终端电脑进行安全加固,安装杀毒软件并及时升级病毒知识库和操作系统(如Windows操作系统、应用服务软件)补丁。

edit-icon download-icon

Phishing attacks and defense

Last Updated: May 07, 2018

What is a phishing attack

Phishing (pronounced as “fishing”) is an attempt to lure recipients into providing sensitive information (such as usernames, passwords, account IDs, ATM PINs, or credit card details) by disguising as trustworthy entities such as banks or well-known institutions to send a number of spoofed spam emails.

Phishing types

Phishing attacks use a variety of techniques to make an email or web page display and run like one from the authentic source. Some common attacking techniques are listed as follows.

Fake domain names

Most browsers display URLs in Sans-Serif (a font-style). The attackers may register a domain name similar to the name of the website they want to imitate. Sometimes attackers may change the case style or use special characters. For example, “paypaI.com” can be used to counterfeit “paypal.com”, and “barcIays.com” can be used to counterfeit “barclays.com”.

A fake domain name can also incorporate part of the real domain name. For example, “ebay-members-security.com” is used to counterfeit “ebay.com” and “users-paypal.com” is used to counterfeit “paypal.com”. Most users lack the tools and knowledge to identify whether a fake domain name is really owned by the company being counterfeited.

URL hiding

URL hiding takes advantage of a type of less-used URL syntax. In the URL, the user name and password can be inserted in front of the domain name by using the syntax: http://username:password@domain/. Attackers can place a seemingly reasonable domain name at the username position, and hide the real domain name or place it at the end of the address bar. For example, http://earthlink.net%6C%6C...%6C@211.112.228.2.

Recent updates to the web browser have eliminated this vulnerability by removing the username and password in the URL before displaying the URL in the address bar, or by completely prohibiting the URL syntax with the username/password. Internet Explorer takes the latter approach.

Display as an IP address

The easiest way to hide a server’s identity is to display it as an IP address, such as http://210.93.131.250. Because many legitimate URLs also contain some opaque numbers that are difficult to understand, only users who know URL parsing and are alert enough can be suspicious with such addresses.

The title of a hyperlink is completely independent of the URL it actually points to. Attackers can exploit such difference to display a URL in the link title and use an entirely different URL on the backend. Users often do not double check the real URL when the URL is explicitly displayed in the message.

A standard way to check the destination of a hyperlink is to place the mouse over it so that its real URL is displayed in the status bar. However, the content displayed may also be tampered by attackers by using JavaScript or URL hiding techniques.

Prompt hiding

Prompt hiding indicates completely replacing the address bar or the status bar to provide a spoofed prompt message. Attackers may create a simple window with JavaScript on the address bar of Internet Explorer to show a completely irrelevant URL.

Fake message windows

Attackers may create a message window asking for your personal information when you are browsing a real web page such as a Citibank page.

Social engineering

Social engineering indicates using non-technical means to lure users into a trap.

  • One of the tricks is to create an urgent atmosphere, so that users may take action without enough time to validate the message’s authenticity.
  • Another trick is to threaten users, alerting them of the severe consequences (such as service termination or account closure) if they fail to follow the instructions. A small number of attacks also promise a huge return (such as “You win a prize!”). Threatening attacks are more common.

What are the hazards of phishing attacks

Phishing attackers use phishing emails and forged websites to run online frauds. Fraudsters usually disguise themselves as trusted brands such as online banks, online retailers, and credit card companies to defraud users’ personal information. As a result, victims often disclose their personal information such as credit card numbers, bank card accounts, and ID numbers.

How can I defend against phishing attacks

  • Do not click on unknown links or open emails from strangers.
  • Reinforce security for servers or terminal computers, install anti-virus software, and upgrade the virus library and operating system (such as Windows and application service software) with patches regularly.
Thank you! We've received your feedback.