edit-icon download-icon

Enterprise-level instances FAQ

Last Updated: Sep 06, 2018

What are enterprise-level instances and entry-level instances?

In September 2016, Alibaba Cloud released enterprise-level instances. enterprise-level instances are a collection of instance type families that feature high performance, stable computational capabilities, and balanced network performance. Designed with exclusive and stable computing, storage, and network resources, enterprise-level instances are ideal for enterprise scenarios where high business stability is required.

Entry-level instances are ideal for small and mid-sized websites or individual customers. Compared with enterprise-level instances, entry-level instances highlight the sharing of resource performance. Their computing performance may be unstable, but the cost is relatively low.

What is the main difference between enterprise-level instances and entry-level instances?

  • Enterprise-level instances adopt CPU-bound scheduling model. Each vCPU is bound to a physical CPU hyper thread. Instances do not contend for CPU resources from each other. Hence, the computing performance of the instances is stable and complies with SLA.

  • Entry-level instances adopt CPU-unbound scheduling model. Each vCPU is randomly dispatched to an idle CPU hyper thread. vCPUs of different instances contend for CPU resources, so the computing performance is unstable under high pressure. Moreover, there are availibility guarantees in SLA, but no computing performance guarantees.

Which are enterprise-level instances and entry-level instances?

For all instances listed in Instance type families, n4, mn4, xn4, and e4 are entry-level instances, and others are enterprise-level instances.

Which business scenarios are enterprise-level instances ideal for?

Enterprise-level instances are ideal for the following scenarios:

  • Massively Multiplayer Online Game (MMO) front ends, data analysis, and computing
  • Mid and large-sized Web servers featuring high concurrency
  • Computing scenarios with a fixed performance, such as high-precision coding/decoding, rendering, and gene computing by using a CPU
  • Other computing scenarios with a fixed performance, such as Cache/Redis, search, in-memory databases, databases with a high I/O (for example, Oracle and MongoDB), Hadoop clusters, and mass data processing

How is the network performance of enterprise-level instances?

The network performance of a enterprise-level instance is determined by its specification. Higher-level specification means higher network performance. For more information about the network performance of each instance type, see Instance type families.

Which disk categories are supported by enterprise-level instances?

Enterprise-level instances support Ultra Cloud Disks and SSD Cloud Disks.

Which image types are supported by enterprise-level instances?

Images of all operating systems are supported.

What are the limits on changing the configurations of enterprise-level instances?

The following rules apply when you change the configurations of enterprise-level instances:

  • You can change configurations between sn2ne, sn1ne, se1, and se1ne and within one of these families.
  • You can change configurations within ce4 type families.
  • You can change configuration between hfc5 and hfg5 and within one of these families.
  • You can change configurations only within the gn4 family.
  • You cannot change configurations of d1, d1ne, i1, i2, gn5, ga1, and f1 instances.

Can I upgrade entry-level instances to enterprise-level instances?

You can change the type of a VPC instance from types of Generation 3, including n4, mn4, xn4, and e4, to se1.

Thank you! We've received your feedback.