Top-level domains (TLDs) include generic top-level domains (gTLDs, including new gTLDs) and country code top-level domains (ccTLDs). This topic describes the types of TLDs.

Types of TLDs

TLDs include gTLDs and ccTLDs.
  • gTLDs:

    gTLDs, which are also called internationalized domain names, are the earliest and most widely used domain names. For example, .com is used by commercial entities, .net is originally used by network infrastructures, and .org is originally used by nonprofit organizations.

  • ccTLDs:

    ccTLDs are domain names assigned to different countries/regions. For example, .cn indicates China, .us indicates the United States, and .jp indicates Japan.

Currently, thousands of TLDs are available, which are classified as follows:
  • gTLDs:

    gTLDs are used by some specific organizations and have different suffixes, such as .com, .net, .org, .int, .arpa, .biz, .info, .name, and .pro.

  • New gTLDs:

    New gTLDs were opened for registration when the resources of traditional domain suffixes were nearly exhausted. The first batch of new gTLDs were approved by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) in 2012 and were opened for registration around the world in 2014. A number of gTLDs are available, such as .xin, .top, .xyz, and .vip.

  • TLDs with two characters:

    TLDs that consist of two characters, such as .uk and .de, correspond to the official abbreviations of more than 250 countries and regions. These domain names are called ccTLDs. Each ccTLD corresponds to a registry operator that operates ccTLDs in accordance with the local policies. For example, the registrant of a ccTLD domain name must be a local resident.