When a consumer group for an instance of an earlier version is deleted, its routing information is not completely cleared.

Symptoms

A deleted consumer group still receives messages.

Causes

In earlier versions, when a consumer group is deleted, its routing information is not completely cleared. Therefore, a deleted consumer group can still receive messages. After you upgrade your instance to the latest version, the routing information of any consumer group you deleted in the source version is retained. To completely clear the routing information, you need to create a consumer group with the same configuration as the previously deleted consumer group and then delete it. Then, you can create a consumer group with the same configuration again.

Solutions

  1. Upgrade the instance version to the latest version.

    Upgrade the instance version to the latest version.

    In the Message Queue for Apache Kafka console, go to the Instance Details page. In the Basic Information section, view the current Internal Version.
    • If Latest Version is displayed, you do not need to upgrade the version.
    • If Upgrade Minor Version is displayed, click Upgrade Minor Version to upgrade the version.
  2. Create a consumer group with the same configuration as the previously deleted consumer group, delete it, and then create it again.
    Go to the Consumer Groups page, create a consumer group with the same configuration as the previously deleted consumer group, delete it, and then create it again.