This topic describes how to delete a device in the IoT Platform console. You can delete a device regardless of the status of the device. After you delete a device from IoT Platform, the certificate of the device becomes invalid. Data that is related to the device is deleted, except for the IoT Platform logs. You can still query the IoT Platform logs of the device, but you can no longer perform operations on the device in the IoT Platform console.
- Before you delete a device in the IoT Platform console, make sure that the corresponding actual device is offline. If the actual device is online, the actual device continues to initiate connection requests to IoT Platform after the device is deleted from IoT Platform. If the number of requests exceeds the upper limit, IoT Platform starts request throttling. In this case, access of other devices within your Alibaba Cloud account is affected.
- After you delete a device, the certificate of the device becomes invalid and cannot be restored. Proceed with caution.
- Log on to the IoT Platform console. Important
- When you log on to the IoT platform console with an Alibaba Cloud account to delete a device, IoT Platform sends a verification code by text message to confirm your identity.
- When you log on to the IoT platform console with a RAM user to delete a device, IoT Platform does not send a verification code. To ensure device security, you can create custom permission policies to perform fine-grained permission management. For more information, see Mapping between IoT Platform API operations and RAM policies and Custom permissions.
- On the Overview page, find the instance that you want to manage and click the instance name to go
to the Instance Details page. Important Enterprise Edition instances are available in the China (Shanghai) and Japan (Tokyo) regions. If the Enterprise Edition instances are unavailable in the region that you select, skip this step.
- In the left-side navigation pane, choose .
- On the Device List tab, find the device that you want to delete.
- Click Delete in the Actions column. In the message that appears, click OK.