The earlier version of Data Warehouse Development is scheduled to be discontinued. Data Management (DMS) allows you to migrate task flows that were developed in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development to the new version of Data Warehouse Development with a few clicks. If the task flows have been published in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development, you can select an option during the migration to unpublish them in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development and publish them in the new version of Data Warehouse Development.

Prerequisites

You are the owner of the task flows to be migrated.

Background information

The new version of Data Warehouse Development provides more features and improves the stability of task scheduling. For more information, see Data warehouse development.

If you have questions when you migrate task flows, join the DingTalk group (ID: 31975377) for assistance.

Usage notes

  • If you do not have projects in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development, you do not need to perform the operations described in this topic. The discontinuance of the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development has no impact on your use of DMS.
  • You can migrate each task flow only once. After a task flow is migrated, we recommend that you do not modify the task flow in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development because the task flow cannot be migrated again. The modifications that you make cannot be synchronized to the corresponding task flow in the new version of Data Warehouse Development.
    Note If you want to modify a task flow after the task flow is migrated, modify the task flow in the new version of Data Warehouse Development.
  • The internal tables that are migrated from a project in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development are displayed in Tables Migrated From Data Warehouse Development in the corresponding workspace in the new version of Data Warehouse Development.
  • The permission system of a workspace in the new version of Data Warehouse Development is different from that of a project in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development. For more information about the permission system of a workspace in the new version of Data Warehouse Development, see Manage permissions on a workspace.
  • The folder feature provided by the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development is not supported by the new version of Data Warehouse Development. When you migrate task flows to the new version of Data Warehouse Development, DMS automatically deletes the folders but retains the tables and nodes in the folders. The tables and nodes can still work as expected in the new version of Data Warehouse Development.
  • The new version of Data Warehouse Development does not allow you to create workspaces in simple mode. However, you can use workspaces in simple mode that are migrated from the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development.
    Note A workspace in simple mode does not separate the test environment from the production environment. They are the same environment. Databases that are deployed in the test environment are also used in the production environment.

Procedure

  1. Go to the DMS console V5.0.
  2. In the top navigation bar, click DTS. In the left-side navigation pane, choose Data Development > Data Warehouse Development(Old).
  3. Go to the Quick Migration dialog box.
    • On the DMS Data Warehouse Development page, click Quick Migration. Data Warehouse Development(Old) - Quick Migration 1
    • Alternatively, click the Develop Space icon icon and then click the Migrate icon icon next to Data warehouse. Data Warehouse Development(Old) - Quick Migration 2
  4. In the Quick Migration dialog box, set the parameters and click Migrate.
    Note If you have questions, move the pointer over Online Consultation in the upper-right corner of the Quick Migration dialog box and scan the QR code to join the DingTalk group for assistance.
    Parameter Description
    Migration Level Selected Task Flows: migrates the selected task flows to the new version of Data Warehouse Development.
    Note You must be the owner of the selected task flows.
    Migration Option
    • Migrate Task Flows and Data: migrates the nodes and configurations of the specified task flows to the new version of Data Warehouse Development. This option is selected by default and cannot be cleared.
      Note The execution records of task flows are not migrated.
    • Automatically Unpublish and Publish: publishes the task flow versions that were last published in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development in the new version of Data Warehouse Development and unpublishes the task flows in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development.
      Note
      • We recommend that you select this option for a task flow only if the task flow is not scheduled to run.
      • If a task flow has not been published in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development, DMS does not automatically publish the task flow in the new version of Data Warehouse Development even if you select this option.
    Task Flow Selection
    1. In the Task Flows to Be Migrated section, select one or more task flows that you want to migrate.
    2. Click the Icon icon to add the selected task flows to the Selected Task Flows section.
    Note The projects to which the task flows belong are automatically selected and migrated at the same time.
  5. In the Confirm Migration message, confirm the migration configurations and click OK.
    If the Successful Migration message appears in the upper part of the page, the task flows are migrated.

    After you migrate a task flow, the data of the task flow in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development remains unchanged, but the task flow is marked as migrated in the task flow list.

    • If only Migrate Task Flows and Data is selected for the Migration Option parameter when you migrate the task flow, the task flow is marked by the Tick icon icon in the task flow list after migration.
    • If the task has been published in the earlier version and both Migrate Task Flows and Data and Automatically Unpublish and Publish are selected for the Migration Option parameter when you migrate the task flow, the task flow is marked by the Icon for automatic publishing icon in the task flow list after migration.
    Note After a task flow is migrated, we recommend that you do not modify the task flow in the earlier version of Data Warehouse Development because the task flow cannot be migrated again. The modifications that you make cannot be synchronized to the corresponding task flow in the new version of Data Warehouse Development.
  6. Optional:View and modify migrated task flows in the new version of Data Warehouse Development.
    1. In the top navigation bar, move the pointer over DTS and select Data Warehouse Development in the Data Development section.
    2. Double-click the name of the workspace to which the task flow that you want to view or modify belongs.
    3. In the navigation tree of the workspace details page, view or edit the task flow.
      Note A migrated task flow is displayed in the default business scenario of the workspace.