阿里云Elasticsearch部署在逻辑隔离的专有网络中,结合多种网络访问控制、认证授权、安全加密能力,以及商业插件X-Pack中的高级安全措施,确保云上集群的高安全性。本文介绍阿里云Elasticsearch的安全特性。

背景信息

开源软件一直是黑客攻击的首选,例如之前黑客组织对MongoDB数据发起大规模的勒索软件攻击事件就是典型的例子。当然黑客组织也一直在关注Elasticsearch,给未进行特殊安全配置的Elasticsearch自建服务带来数据被删除或业务被入侵的安全风险。

阿里云安全中心曾发布《Elasticsearch被入侵的安全风险预警》,并提供过一系列安全加固的策略和方案。与自建Elasticsearch需要进行的安全配置相比,阿里云Elasticsearch在数据和服务安全上提供了更加全面和专业的方案。

安全特性说明

阿里云Elasticsearch自2017年11月提供全托管服务以来,针对集群潜在的风险,提供了一系列的安全措施。

自建Elasticsearch与阿里云Elasticsearch服务的安全配置对比如下表。

安全指标项 阿里云Elasticsearch默认能力 自建Elasticsearch需要进行的配置
访问控制
  • 专有网络内部署数据链路层,进行网络隔离。
  • Elasticsearch和Kibana均支持IP地址白名单设置(单个IP地址或IP网段),并且支持IPv6地址。公网地址默认禁止所有IP地址访问,必须先配置公网地址访问白名单才能访问。详细信息,请参见配置ES公网或私网访问白名单
  • 不允许用户登录集群中各类型节点对应的服务器。
  • 公网地址和内网地址只开放特定的服务端口(9200和9300)。
  • 购买云安全产品(如安全组、云防火墙等)对来访IP进行隔离控制。
  • 尽量不要开启9200端口。
  • 绑定访问源IP地址。
  • 修改默认端口。
认证授权
  • 基于访问控制RAM(Resource Access Management)的集群访问策略(ReadOnlyAccess只读访问、FullAccess管理员等)。
  • 基于RAM的权限控制(Instance、Account等资源及GET、POST、PUT操作等)。
  • 基于X-Pack安全插件的RBAC的权限体系,支持Field级别的数据权限管控。
  • 基于X-Pack安全插件的SSO能力,支持通过Active Directory、LDAP或Elasticsearch原生Realm验证身份。
安装三方安全插件(如Searchguard、Shield等)。
安全加密
  • 支持HTTPS的访问协议。
  • 支持基于KMS的静态数据存储加密。
  • 基于X-Pack安全插件的SSL/TLS节点传输加密。
  • 使用支持静态加密的存储介质。
  • 在YML配置中关闭HTTP访问。
监控审计
  • 基于X-Pack安全插件的操作日志审计。
  • 基于云监控(CloudMonitor)的集群负载等全维度指标的监控。
借助三方工具进行审计和监控。
数据服务容灾
  • 数据自动定时备份。
  • 单集群同城多活。
  • 购买文件系统进行定期备份。
  • 维护多个集群进行服务容灾。

访问控制

阿里云Elasticsearch通过以下方式进行访问控制:

  • 专有网络访问
    通过阿里云Elasticsearch实例的内网地址在专有网络环境下访问实例。如果您对应用程序的访问环境安全性要求较高,可以购买与阿里云Elasticsearch实例在同一地域、同一可用区和同一专有网络下的阿里云ECS实例,将应用程序部署在ECS实例中,然后在ECS中通过Elasticsearch的内网地址访问实例。
    说明 专有网络是独有的云上私有网络,与公网隔离,可以提供更加安全的访问环境。
  • 访问白名单

    内网地址支持系统白名单配置,只有符合内网白名单规则的IP地址所属设备,才能访问实例。详细信息,请参见配置ES公网或私网访问白名单

    公网地址支持公网地址访问白名单配置,只有符合公网白名单规则的IP地址所属设备,才能访问实例。详细信息,请参见配置ES公网或私网访问白名单

认证授权

  • RAM访问控制

    支持访问控制RAM策略,每个RAM账号之间可以实现资源隔离,并且只能查看和操作属于自己的Elasticsearch实例。详细信息,请参见权限策略检查规则

  • X-Pack角色权限管控

    提供了商业插件X-Pack服务(X-Pack是Elasticsearch的一个商业版扩展包,将安全、告警、监控、图形和报告功能捆绑在一个易于安装的软件包中),X-Pack被集成在Kibana中,提供授权认证、角色权限管控、实时监控、可视化报表和机器学习等能力。通过X-Pack角色权限管控,您可以进行索引级别的访问控制。详细信息,请参见通过Elasticsearch X-Pack角色管理实现用户权限管控官方Security APIs

Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch clusters are deployed in logically isolated virtual private clouds (VPCs). In addition, access control, authentication and authorization, encryption, and the advanced security features provided by X-Pack are used for the clusters. All the preceding features ensure the high security of Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch clusters. This topic describes the features.

Background information

Open source software is often the first target of attacks. MongoDB ransomware attacks are an example. Elasticsearch has also become the target of attacks. Attackers may attack self-managed Elasticsearch clusters that do not have professional security protection, delete important data, or interfere with business systems.

Alibaba Cloud Security Center released a warning about the security risks associated with Elasticsearch and provided an array of security hardening strategies and solutions. Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch provides solutions that are more reliable and professional for data and service security than those provided by open source Elasticsearch.

Security features

Alibaba Cloud released the fully managed Elasticsearch service in November 2017. Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch provides security protection features for you to safeguard your clusters.

The following table compares the security protection of an Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch cluster with that of a self-managed Elasticsearch cluster.

Category Built-in security feature of an Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch cluster Security protection of a self-managed Elasticsearch cluster
Access control
  • Clusters are deployed in VPCs. This way, the clusters can be isolated at the data link layer.
  • Both Elasticsearch and Kibana support whitelists for access control. You can specify IPv4 addresses, IPv6 addresses, and Classless Inter-Domain Routing (CIDR) blocks in whitelists. By default, no IP address is allowed to access the public endpoint of a cluster. If you want to allow access requests, you must configure a whitelist. For more information, see Configure a whitelist to access an Elasticsearch cluster over the Internet or a VPC.
  • Users are not allowed to log on to the node servers that are contained in a cluster.
  • Users can use only ports 9200 and 9300 to access the public and internal endpoints of clusters.
  • Purchase cloud security products, such as security groups or Cloud Firewall, to manage and quarantine source IP addresses.
  • Disable port 9200 unless you plan to use it.
  • Bind source IP addresses.
  • Change the default port.
Authentication and authorization
  • Cluster-level permission policies in Resource Access Management (RAM), such as the ReadOnlyAccess policy that grants read-only permissions and the FullAccess policy that grants administrator permissions.
  • RAM-based access control, such as the permissions on clusters, accounts, and GET, POST, and PUT commands.
  • Role-based access control (RBAC) provided by X-Pack. Access control policies can be specific to data fields.
  • Single sign-on (SSO) based on X-Pack. Active Directory, LDAP, and Elasticsearch-native Realm are supported for identity verification.
Install third-party security plug-ins, such as Search Guard and Shield.
Encryption
  • HTTPS is supported.
  • Encryption at rest is provided based on Key Management Service (KMS).
  • X-Pack is integrated to support data transmission encryption by using SSL or TLS.
  • Use storage media that support encryption at rest.
  • Disable HTTP in YML configuration files.
Monitoring and auditing
  • Operations log auditing based on X-Pack.
  • Cloud Monitor-based cluster monitoring with multiple metrics, such as cluster workload.
Use third-party tools to audit logs and monitor services.
Disaster recovery
  • Snapshots are automatically created at a scheduled time.
  • A cluster can be deployed across zones in one city to implement disaster recovery.
  • Purchase file systems to periodically back up data.
  • Use multiple clusters to implement disaster recovery.

Access control

Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch uses the following methods to control access:

  • Access over VPCs
    You can use the internal endpoint of an Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch cluster to access the cluster over a VPC. If you require a secure environment where your applications can access your Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch cluster, you can purchase an Alibaba Cloud Elastic Compute Service (ECS) instance in the same zone, region, and VPC as the Elasticsearch cluster. Then, deploy the applications on the ECS instance and use the ECS instance to access the internal endpoint of the Elasticsearch cluster.
    Note A VPC is a private network in the cloud and is isolated from the Internet. It provides secure access for your applications.
  • Whitelist-based access control

    If you want to use the internal endpoint of an Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch cluster to access the cluster, configure a whitelist for the cluster to control access. Only clients whose IP addresses are in the whitelist can be used to access the cluster. For more information, see Configure a whitelist to access an Elasticsearch cluster over the Internet or a VPC.

    If you want to use the public endpoint of an Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch cluster to access the cluster, configure a whitelist for the cluster to control access. Only clients whose IP addresses are in the whitelist can be used to access the cluster. For more information, see Configure a whitelist to access an Elasticsearch cluster over the Internet or a VPC.

Authentication and authorization

  • RAM-based access control

    The Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch console supports RAM users. You can use RAM users to isolate resources. A RAM user can view and manage only Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch clusters on which the user has permissions. For more information, see Policy check rules.

  • RBAC provided by X-Pack

    Alibaba Cloud Elasticsearch provides the X-Pack plug-in, which is a commercial extension of Elasticsearch. The plug-in is an easy-to-install bundle that provides security, alerting, monitoring, graphing, and reporting capabilities. The plug-in is integrated into Kibana to provide more capabilities, such as authentication and authorization, RBAC, real-time monitoring, visual reporting, and machine learning. RBAC can be specific to indexes. For more information, see Use the Elasticsearch X-Pack RBAC mechanism to implement access control and Security APIs in the open source Elasticsearch documentation.