保障企业业务稳定、IT系统功能正常、数据安全十分重要,可以同时保障数据备份与系统、应用容灾的灾备解决方案应势而生,且发展迅速。ECS可使用快照、镜像进行备份。

灾备设计

  • 快照备份

    阿里云ECS可使用快照进行系统盘、数据盘的备份。目前,阿里云提供快照2.0服务,提供了更高的快照额度、更灵活的自动任务策略,并进一步降低了对业务I/O的影响。使用快照进行备份时,第一次备份为全量备份,后续为增量备份,备份所需时间与待备份数据量有关。



    例如,快照1、快照2和快照3分别是磁盘的第一个、第二个和第三个快照。文件系统对磁盘的数据进行分块检查,当创建快照时,只有变化了的数据块,才会被复制到快照中。阿里云ECS的快照备份可配置为手动备份,也可配置为自动备份。配置为自动备份后可以指定磁盘自动创建快照的时间(24个整点)、重复日期(周一到周日)和保留时间(可自定义,范围是1-65536天,或选择永久保留)。

  • 快照回滚

    当系统出现问题,需要将一块磁盘的数据回滚到之前的某一时刻,可以通过快照回滚实现,前提是该磁盘已经创建了快照。注意:
    • 回滚磁盘是不可逆操作,一旦回滚完成,原有的数据将无法恢复,请谨慎操作。

    • 回滚磁盘后,从所使用的快照的创建日期到当前时间这段时间内的数据都会丢失。

  • 镜像备份

    镜像文件相当于副本文件,该副本文件包含了一个或多个磁盘中的所有数据,对于ECS而言,这些磁盘可以是单个系统盘,也可以是系统盘加数据盘的组合。使用镜像备份时,均是全量备份,且只能手动触发。

  • 镜像恢复

    阿里云ECS支持使用快照创建自定义镜像,将快照的操作系统、数据环境信息完整的包含在镜像中。然后使用自定义镜像创建多台具有相同操作系统和数据环境信息的实例。ECS的快照与镜像配置请参考快照镜像

    说明 创建的自定义镜像不能跨地域使用。

技术指标

RTO和RPO:与数据量大小有关,通常而言是小时级别。

应用场景

  • 备份恢复

    阿里云ECS可通过快照与镜像对系统盘、数据盘进行备份。如果存储在磁盘上的数据本身就是错误的数据,比如由于应用错误导致的数据错误,或者黑客利用应用漏洞进行恶意读写,此时就可以使用快照服务将磁盘上的数据恢复到期望的状态。另外ECS可通过镜像重新初始化磁盘或使用自定义镜像新购ECS实例。

  • 容灾应用

    ECS可以从架构上来实现容灾场景下的应用,比如:在应用前端购买SLB产品,后端相同应用部署至少两台ECS服务器,或者是使用阿里云的弹性伸缩技术,根据自定义ECS自身资源的使用规则来进行弹性扩容。这样即便其中一台ECS服务器故障或者资源利用超负荷,也不会使服务对外终止,从而实现容灾场景下的应用。以同城两机房部署ECS集群为例:



    • ECS在两机房均部署集群,接入侧通过SLB做两机房的接入流量负载均衡。
    • 两机房部署的Region Master节点是对等的,单Region Master节点故障不影响ECS的管控功能。
    • ECS的管控节点机房级故障切换,主要是对管控集群依赖的中间件域名重新绑定。如管控节点机房级故障,需重新将中间件域名绑定至另一个机房的管控节点。

Disaster recovery solutions help guarantee the running stability and data security of a business's IT system. Specifically, the solutions incorporate data backup and disaster recovery of systems and applications. Alibaba Cloud allows you to use snapshots and images for data backup.

Disaster recovery methods

  • Snapshot backup

    Alibaba Cloud allows you to back up system disks and data disks with snapshots. Currently, Alibaba Cloud provides the Snapshot 2.0 service, which features a higher snapshot quota and a more flexible automatic task strategy than previous snapshot services, helping to reduce impact on business I/O. When snapshots are used for data backup, the first backup is a full backup, followed by incremental backups. The backup duration depends on the amount of data to be backed up.



    As shown in the preceding figure, Snapshot 1, Snapshot 2, and Snapshot 3, are the first, second, and third snapshots of a disk. The file system checks the disk data by blocks. When a snapshot is created, only the blocks with changed data are copied to the snapshot. Alibaba Cloud allows you to configure manual or automatic snapshot backup. With automatic backup, you can specify the time of day (24 options, on the hour), recurring day of week (Monday through Sunday), and retention time for snapshot creation. The retention time is customizable, and you can set a value from 1 to 65,536 days or choose to save snapshots permanently.

  • Disk rollback

    If exceptions occur in your system and you need to roll back a disk to a previous state, you can roll back the disk so long as it has a corresponding snapshot created. Note:
    • Rolling back a disk is an irreversible action. After disk rollback is completed, data cannot be restored. Exercise caution when performing this action.

    • After a disk is rolled back, data will be irretrievably lost from the creation time of the snapshot to the current time.

  • Image-based backup

    An image file is equivalent to a replica file that contains all the data from one or more disks (a system disk or both the system disk and data disks). All image-based backups are full backups and can only be triggered manually.

  • Image-based recovery

    You can create custom images from snapshots to include the operating system and data environment in the image. The custom images can then be used to create multiple instances with the same operating system and data environment. For the configuration of snapshots and images, see Snapshots and Images.

    Note Custom images cannot be used across regions.

Technical metrics

RTO and RPO: related to the amount of data, usually at an hourly level.

Scenarios

  • Backup and restoration

    Alibaba Cloud allows you to back up system disks and data disks with snapshots and images. If incorrect data is stored on a disk due to data errors caused by application errors, or hackers exploiting application vulnerabilities for malicious access, you can use the snapshot service to restore the disk to a desired state. In addition, Alibaba Cloud allows you to reinitialize disks with images or purchase new ECS instances with a custom image.

  • Disaster recovery

    Alibaba Cloud supports the implementation of disaster recovery architecture. For example, you can buy and use a Server Load Balancer (SLB) at the front end of an application, and deploy at least two ECS instances at the back end of the same application. Alternatively, you can implement an Auto Scaling solution using the auto scaling technology provided by Alibaba Cloud by defining how to use the ECS resources. In this way, even if one of the ECS instances fails or resources are overused, business continuity will not be interrupted, thus realizing disaster recovery. Take the deployment of ECS instances in two Internet Data Centers (IDCs) in the same city for example:



    • A cluster of ECS instances is deployed in both IDCs. At the access side, SLBs are used for load balancing between the two IDCs.
    • The Region Master nodes in both IDCs are identical and operate in active/standby mode. The failure of one node does not affect the ECS control function.
    • To switch the control node of ECS instances in the case of IDC failure, the middleware domain name is bound anew as it is used for controlling the cluster. If the IDC of the control node experiences problems, the middleware domain name needs to be bound to the control node of the other IDC.