阿里云容器服务Kubernetes版ACK集成Kubernetes网络、阿里云VPC、阿里云SLB,提供稳定高性能的容器网络。本文介绍ACK集群网络及阿里云网络底层基础设施的重要概念,如容器网络CNI、Service、Ingress、提供服务发现能力的DNS等。您可以通过了解这些概念,更合理地设计应用部署模型和网络访问的方式。

容器网络CNI

图 1. 容器网络模型
网络CNI
容器化应用会在同一个节点上部署多个业务,而每个业务都需要自己的网络空间。为避免与其他业务网络冲突,需要Pod有自己独立的网络空间,而Pod中应用需要和其他网络进行通信,就需要Pod能够跟不同的网络互相访问。可见容器网络特点如下:
  • 每个Pod都拥有自己独立的网络空间和IP地址。不同Pod的应用可以监听同样的端口而不冲突。
  • Pod可以通过各自的IP地址互相访问。

    集群中Pod可以通过它独立的IP地址与其他应用互通:

    • 同一个集群中,Pod之间相互访问。
    • Pod直接访问同一个VPC下的ECS。
    • 同一个VPC下的ECS直接访问Pod。
    说明 Pod能直接访问同一个VPC下的ECS和同一个VPC下的ECS能直接访问Pod的前提是您需要正确设置安全组规则。关于如何设置安全组规则,请参见添加安全组规则

在ACK中,您可以通过两种网络模型实现上述容器网络的能力,分别是Flannel网络模式和Terway网络模式。这两种网络模式采用不同的网络模型,其特点如下:

Terway网络模式采用的是云原生的网络方案,直接基于阿里云的虚拟化网络中的弹性网卡资源来构建的容器网络。Pod会通过弹性网卡资源直接分配VPC中的IP地址,而不需要额外指定虚拟Pod网段。

Terway网络模式的特点是:

  • 容器和虚拟机在同一层网络,便于业务云原生化迁移。

  • 不依赖封包或者路由表,分配给容器的网络设备本身可以用来通信。

  • 集群节点规模不受路由表或者封包的FDB转发表等配额限制。

  • 不需要额外为容器规划Overlay的网段,多个集群容器之间只要设置安全组开放端口就可以互相通信。

  • 可以直接把容器挂到SLB后端,无需在节点上使用NodePort进行转发。

  • NAT网关可以对容器做SNAT,无需节点上对容器网段做SNAT:容器访问VPC内资源,所带的源IP都是容器IP,便于审计;容器访问外部网络不依赖conntrack SNAT,降低失败率。

  • Terway网络模式支持通过网络策略(NetworkPolicy)配置Pod间网络访问的规则。

    网络策略(NetworkPolicy)是一种关于Pod间及Pod与其他网络端点间所允许的通信规则的规范。NetworkPolicy资源使用标签选择Pod,并定义选定Pod所允许的通信规则。更多信息,请参见相关文档中的使用网络策略Network Policy

  • 在使用Alibaba Cloud Linux 2系统作为节点的操作系统时,Terway网络模式支持使用更高效的IPvlan+eBPF链路,加速容器网络性能。

Flannel网络模式中Pod的网段独立于VPC的网段。Pod网段会按照掩码均匀划分给每个集群中的节点,每个节点上的Pod会从节点上划分的网段中分配IP地址。Flannel网络基于阿里云VPC的自定义路由能力,来实现跨节点的Pod直接与VPC的互相访问。

Flannel网络模式的特点是:

  • 基于阿里云VPC的Flannel网络无封包,相对默认的Flannel VXLAN性能提升20%。

  • Pod网段是独立于VPC的虚拟网段。

  • 每个节点需要对应一个VPC的路由表条目,一个VPC下面Kubernetes节点数受限于VPC路由表的配额。关于VPC配额管理的详情,请参见相关文档中的管理配额

关于阿里云专有网络VPC网段和Kubernetes网段关系,请参见Kubernetes集群网络规划

关于如何选择合适的网络模式,请参见使用Terway网络插件

Service

由于云原生的应用,通常需要敏捷的迭代和快速的弹性,且单一容器和其相关的网络资源的生命非常短暂,所以需要固定的访问地址,以及自动负载均衡实现快速的业务弹性。ACK采用Service方式为一组容器提供固定的访问入口,并对这一组容器做负载均衡。实现原理如下:
  • 创建Service对象时,ACK会分配一个相对固定的Service IP地址。
  • 通过字段selector选择一组容器,以将这个Service IP地址和端口负载均衡到这一组容器IP和端口上。
Service网络支持以下多种模式分别对接不同来源和类型的客户端的访问:
  • ClusterIP
    ClusterIP类型的Service用于集群内部的应用间访问,如果您的应用需要暴露到集群内部提供服务,需使用ClusterIP类型的Service暴露。
    说明 创建Service时默认的Service类型为ClusterIP。
  • NodePort
    NodePort类型的Service将集群中部署的应用向外暴露,通过集群节点上的一个固定端口暴露出去,这样在集群外部就可以通过节点IP和这个固定端口来访问。
  • LoadBalancer
    LoadBalancer类型的Service同样是将集群内部部署的应用向外暴露,不过它是通过阿里云的负载均衡进行暴露的,相对于NodePort方式,有更高的可用性和性能。关于如何通过LoadBalancer类型Service暴露应用,请参见通过使用已有SLB的服务公开应用通过使用自动创建SLB的服务公开应用
  • Headless Service
    Headless Service类型的Service是在Service属性中指定clusterIP字段为None类型。采用Headless Service类型后,Service将没有固定的虚拟IP地址,客户端访问Service的域名时会通过DNS返回所有的后端Pod实例的IP地址,客户端需要采用DNS负载均衡来实现对后端的负载均衡。
  • ExternalName
    ExternalName类型的Service将集群外部的域名映射到集群内部的Service上,例如将外部的数据库域名映射到集群内部的Service名,那么就能在集群内部通过Service名直接访问。

关于Service的负载均衡配置需要注意内容,请参见Service的负载均衡配置注意事项

Ingress

在ACK集群中,与Service的4层负载均衡不同,Ingress是集群内Service对外暴露7层的访问接入点。您可以通过Ingress资源来配置不同的7层的转发规则,例如通过域名或者访问路径来路由到不同的Service上,从而达到7层的负载均衡作用。更多信息,请参见Ingress概述

图 2. Ingress和Service关系
Ingress和Service关系图

示例

常见的前后端分离的架构方式中,前后端的访问地址分别使用不同的访问路径。对应这种场景,可以采用Ingress,根据7层的访问路径负载到不同的应用实例上。ingress

服务发现DNS

ACK使用DNS来实现应用的服务发现能力,例如客户端应用可以通过Service的服务名解析出它的ClusterIP访问、可以通过StatefulSet的Pod名解析出Pod的IP地址。采用DNS服务发现的能力让集群中应用间的调用与IP地址和部署环境相解耦。

集群的Coredns会将Service名自动转换成对应的Service的IP地址,来实现不同部署环境中同样的访问入口。关于集群DNS组件的使用和调优详细信息,请参见ACK集群内DNS原理和配置说明dns

网络底层基础设施

  • VPC

    阿里云专有网络VPC(Virtual Private Cloud)是基于阿里云创建的自定义私有网络,不同的专有网络之间彻底逻辑隔离。您可以在专有网络内创建和管理云产品实例,例如云服务器、云数据库RDS版和负载均衡等。

    每个VPC都由一个路由器、至少一个私网网段和至少一个交换机组成。vpc
    • 私网网段

      在创建专有网络和交换机时,您需要以CIDR地址块的形式指定专有网络使用的私网网段。

      您可以使用下表中标准的私网网段及其子网作为VPC的私网网段。更多信息,请参见网络规划更多信息,请参见 用户指南中的网络规划章节。

      网段 可用私网IP数量 (不包括系统保留地址)
      192.168.0.0/16 65,532
      172.16.0.0/12 1,048,572
      10.0.0.0/8 16,777,212
    • 路由器

      路由器(VRouter)是专有网络的枢纽。作为专有网络中重要的功能组件,它可以连接专有网络内的各个交换机,同时也是连接专有网络和其他网络的网关设备。每个专有网络创建成功后,系统会自动创建一个路由器。每个路由器关联一张路由表。

      更多信息,请参见路由表概述

      更多信息,请参见 用户指南中的路由表概述章节。

    • 交换机

      交换机(VSwitch)是组成专有网络的基础网络设备,用来连接不同的云资源。创建专有网络后,您可以通过创建交换机为专有网络划分一个或多个子网。同一专有网络内的不同交换机之间内网互通。您可以将应用部署在不同可用区的交换机内,提高应用的可用性。

      更多信息,请参见交换机

      更多信息,请参见 用户指南中的创建交换机章节。

  • SLB

    阿里云负载均衡SLB(Server Load Balancer)通过设置虚拟服务地址,将添加的ECS实例虚拟成一个高性能、高可用的应用服务池,并根据转发规则,将来自客户端的请求分发给云服务器池中的ECS实例。

    负载均衡默认检查云服务器池中的ECS实例的健康状态,自动隔离异常状态的ECS实例,消除了单台ECS实例的单点故障,提高了应用的整体服务能力。此外,负载均衡还具备抗DDoS攻击的能力,增强了应用服务的防护能力。

    负载均衡由以下三个部分组成:
    • 负载均衡实例

      一个负载均衡实例是一个运行的负载均衡服务,用来接收流量并将其分配给后端服务器。要使用负载均衡服务,您必须创建一个负载均衡实例,并至少添加一个监听和两台ECS实例。

    • 监听

      监听用来检查客户端请求并将请求转发给后端服务器。监听也会对后端服务器进行健康检查。

    • 后端服务器

      一组接收前端请求的ECS实例。您可以单独添加ECS实例到服务器池,也可以通过虚拟服务器组或主备服务器组来批量添加和管理。

Container Service for Kubernetes (ACK) provides stable and high-performance container networks by integrating Kubernetes networking, Virtual Private Cloud (VPC), and Server Load Balancer (SLB). This topic describes the important terms involved in ACK cluster networking and Alibaba Cloud network infrastructure, such as container network interface (CNI), Service, Ingress, and DNS Service Discovery (DNS-SD). Understanding these terms helps you optimize application deployment models and network access methods.

CNI

Figure 1. Container network model
CNI
Containerized applications deploy multiple workloads on a node. Each workload requires a unique network namespace. To avoid network conflicts, each pod must have a unique network namespace. To enable the application that runs on a pod to communicate with other networks, the pod must be able to access other networks. Container networking has the following features:
  • A pod has a unique network namespace and IP address. Applications that run on different pods can listen on the same port without conflicts.
  • Pods can access each other by using their IP addresses.

    In a cluster, a pod can communicate with other applications by using a unique IP address.

    • Pods can access each other within a cluster.
    • Pods can access Elastic Compute Service (ECS) instances that are deployed in the same VPC.
    • ECS instances can access pods that are deployed in the same VPC.
    Note To ensure that pods can access ECS instances in the same VPC and ECS instances can access pods in the same VPC, you must configure correct security group rules. For more information about how to configure security group rules, see Add security group rules.

ACK provides two network plug-ins to help you implement container networking: Flannel and Terway. The two network plug-ins adopt different network models, which have the following features:

Terway adopts a cloud-native network solution and configures the container network by using elastic network interfaces (ENIs). An ENI is a virtual network interface controller (NIC) that is provided by Alibaba Cloud. An ENI assigns IP addresses within a VPC to pods. You do not need to specify a CIDR block for pods.

Terway provides the following features:

  • Containers and virtual machines (VMs) are at the same network layer, which facilitates cloud-native business migration.

  • Network devices that are allocated to containers can be used for communication without depending on packet encapsulation or route tables.

  • The number of nodes in a cluster is not restricted by the quota of the routing table or encapsulation forwarding database (FDB) table.

  • The CIDR blocks of overlay networks do not need to be planned for containers. Containers in different clusters can communicate with each other only if the security groups have open ports.

  • Containers can be attached to the backends of LoadBalancers without requiring port forwarding on nodes.

  • The NAT gateway can perform SNAT for containers. However, containers on nodes do not require SNAT. Containers use their IP addresses to access VPC resources, which facilitates auditing. In addition, containers do not rely on connection tracking (conntrack) SNAT to access external networks, which reduces the failure rate.

  • Terway allows you to use network policies to configure rules for access control between pods.

    Network policies define how pods communicate with each other and with other network endpoints. Network policies are Kubernetes resources that select pods based on labels and define communication rules for the selected pods. For more information, see Use network policies for access control in Related documents.

  • When you select Alibaba Cloud Linux 2 as the operating system of the node, Terway supports IPVLAN and extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) to provide higher network efficiency and performance.

With the Flannel network plug-in, the CIDR block of pods does not overlap with the CIDR block of the VPC. The CIDR block of pods is evenly divided among the nodes in the cluster. Each pod on a node is assigned an IP address that belongs to the CIDR block of the node. Terway enables pods on different nodes to access the VPC by using custom routes that are provided by the VPC.

Flannel provides the following features:

  • The VPC-based Flannel network does not require packet encapsulation and improves network performance by 20% compared with the default Flannel VXLAN solution.

  • The CIDR block of pods does not overlap with the CIDR block of the VPC.

  • A route entry must be added to the VPC for each node in the cluster. The number of nodes in the VPC is restricted by the quota of the routing table. For more information about VPC quotas, see Manage service quotas in Related documents.

For more information about the CIDR blocks of VPC and Kubernetes clusters, see Plan CIDR blocks for an ACK cluster.

For more information about how to select a network plug-in based on your business requirements, see Work with Terway.

Service

Cloud-native applications usually require agile iterations and rapid elasticity. Single containers and the related network resources have short lifecycles. This necessitates stable addresses and automatic load balancing to achieve rapid elasticity. In ACK, a Service provides a set of pods with a stable address and balances the loads across the pods. How a Service works
  • When you create a Service, ACK assigns a stable IP address to the Service.
  • You use the selector field to select a set of pods for the Service. The Service serves as a load balancer and forwards traffic that is sent to the Service IP and port to the IP addresses and ports of the selected pods.
ACK provides the following types of Services to handle requests from different sources and clients:
  • ClusterIP
    A ClusterIP Service is used for access within the cluster. If you want your application to provide services within the cluster, create a ClusterIP Service.
    Note The ClusterIP type is the default Service type.
  • NodePort
    A NodePort Service is used to expose an application to the Internet. You can use the IP address and port of a cluster node to expose your application. This way, your application can be accessed by using the node IP address and port.
  • LoadBalancer
    A LoadBalancer Service is also used to expose an application to the Internet. However, an SLB instance is used to expose your application, which provides higher availability and performance than a NodePort Service. For more information about how to use a LoadBalancer Service to expose an application, see Use an existing SLB instance to expose an application and Use an automatically created SLB instance to expose an application.
  • Headless Service
    A Headless Service is defined by setting the clusterIP field to None in the Service configuration file. A Headless Service has no stable virtual IP address (VIP). When a client accesses the domain of the Service, DNS returns the IP addresses of all backend pods. The client must use DNS load balancing to balance the loads across pods.
  • ExternalName
    An ExternalName Service is used to map an external domain to a Service within the cluster. For example, you can map the domain of an external database to a Service name within the cluster. This allows you to access the database within the cluster by using the Service name.

For more information about how to configure a LoadBalancer Service, see Considerations for configuring a LoadBalancer type Service.

Ingress

In ACK clusters, Services support Layer 4 load balancing. However, Ingresses manage external access to Services in the cluster at Layer 7. You can use Ingresses to configure different Layer 7 forwarding rules. For example, you can forward requests to different Services based on domain name or access path. This way, Layer 7 load balancing is implemented. For more information, see Overview.

Figure 2. The relationship between Ingress and Service
The relationship between Ingress and Service

Example

In the common architecture pattern that separates frontend and backend, different access paths are used to access frontend and backend services. In this scenario, Ingresses can be used to implement Layer 7 load balancing across different application services. ingress

DNS Service Discovery

ACK uses DNS for service discovery. For example, a client can resolve the DNS name of a Service to obtain the cluster IP of the Service, or resolve the DNS name of a pod that is created by a StatefulSet to obtain the IP address of the pod. Using DNS for service discovery allows you to invoke applications by using DNS names, regardless of IP addresses or deployment environments.

CoreDNS automatically converts the DNS name of a Service to the IP address of the Service. This allows you to use the same connection address in different deployment environments. For more information about how to configure and optimize DNS resolution in a cluster, see Introduction and configuration of the DNS service in ACK clusters. dns

Infrastructure

  • VPC

    VPC is a type of private network provided by Alibaba Cloud. VPCs are logically isolated from one other. You can create and manage cloud services in VPCs, such as ECS instances, ApsaraDB RDS, and SLB instances.

    Each VPC consists of one vRouter, at least one private CIDR block, and at least one vSwitch. vpc
    • Private CIDR blocks

      When you create a VPC and a vSwitch, you must specify the private IP address range for the VPC in CIDR notation.

      You can use the standard private CIDR blocks listed in the following table and their subsets as CIDR blocks for your VPCs. For more information, see Plan and design a VPC. For more information, see the Plan and design a VPC topic in User Guide.

      CIDR blocks Number of available private IP addresses (system reserved ones excluded)
      192.168.0.0/16 65,532
      172.16.0.0/12 1,048,572
      10.0.0.0/8 16,777,212
    • vRouters

      A vRouter is the hub of a VPC and serves as a gateway between the VPC and other networks. After a VPC is created, a vRouter is automatically created for the VPC. Each vRouter is associated with a route table.

      For more information, see Overview.

      For more information, see the Route table overview topic in User Guide.

    • vSwitches

      A vSwitch is a basic network component that connects different cloud resources in a VPC. After you create a VPC, you can create a vSwitch to divide your VPC into multiple subnets. vSwitches deployed in a VPC can communicate with each other over the private network. You can deploy your applications in vSwitches that belong to different zones to improve service availability.

      For more information, see vSwitches.

      For more information, see the Create a vSwitch topic in User Guide.

  • SLB

    After you connect ECS instances to an SLB instance, SLB uses virtual IP addresses (VIPs) to virtualize the ECS instances and adds the ECS instances to an application service pool. The application service pool features high performance and high availability. Client requests are distributed across the ECS instances based on forwarding rules.

    SLB checks the health status of the ECS instances and automatically removes unhealthy ECS instances from the pool to eliminate single points of failure. This improves the availability of your applications. You can also use SLB to defend your applications against distributed denial of service (DDoS) attacks.

    SLB consists of the following components:
    • SLB instance

      An SLB instance is a running SLB service entity that receives and distributes traffic to backend servers. To use SLB, you must create an SLB instance and create at least one listener and connect at least two ECS instances to the SLB instance.

    • Listener

      A listener checks client requests, forwards the requests to backend servers, and performs health checks on backend servers.

    • Backend server

      Backend servers are ECS instances that receive client requests that are distributed from the frontend SLB service. You can add ECS instances to a server pool, or use VServer groups or primary/secondary server groups to add and manage ECS instances in batches.