目前,所有地域的阿里云ECS实例的默认时区为CST(China Standard Time),您可以根据自己的业务需求并参照本文为ECS实例设置或者修改时区。此外,NTP(Network Time Protocol)服务能保证您的云服务器ECS的时间与标准时间同步,您可以根据本文配置NTP服务。

背景信息

时区和时间的同步性对于云服务器很重要(例如您在更新数据库时,时间的准确性对业务的影响会非常大),为避免实例上运行的业务逻辑混乱和避免网络请求错误,您需要将一台或多台实例设置在同一时区下,比如 Asia/ShanghaiAmerica/Los Angeles。此处以Centos 6.5实例为例,列举通过修改配置文件修改时区的方法:
说明 修改时区后,请切记您需要运行 hwclock -w更新实例硬件时钟。

操作步骤

  1. 远程连接 Linux实例。
    说明

    您需要以root身份打开并编辑时区配置文件,所以此处使用sudo命令。

  2. 执行命令sudo rm /etc/localtime删除系统里的当地时间链接。
  3. 执行命令sudo vi /etc/sysconfig/clock用vim打开并编辑配置文件/etc/sysconfig/clock。
  4. 输入i添加时区城市,例如添加Zone=Asia/Shanghai,按下Esc键退出编辑并输入:wq保存并退出。

    可执行命令ls /usr/share/zoneinfo查询时区列表,Shanghai为列表条目之一。

  5. 执行命令sudo ln -sf /usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Shanghai /etc/localtime更新时区修改内容。
  6. 执行命令hwclock -w更新硬件时钟(RTC)。
  7. 执行命令sudo reboot重启实例。
  8. 执行命令date -R查看时区信息是否生效,未生效可重走一遍步骤。

下一步

Linux系统有ntpdntpdate两种方式实现NTP时间同步,其中,ntpd同步时间为步进式的逐渐调整时间,ntpdate为断点更新。新购实例可使用ntpdate更新服务,已经运行业务的实例建议使用ntpd同步时间。此处提供标准NTP服务配置和自定义NTP服务配置,您可以根据需要选择性地配置。关于更多NTP服务信息请参考 内网和公共NTP服务器

前提条件

NTP服务的通信端口为UDP 123,设置NTP服务之前请确保您已经打开UDP 123端口。您可以通过netstat -nupl查看实例是否开通UDP 123端口。您可以参考文档 添加安全组规则 放行UDP 123端口。

启用标准NTP服务
  1. 远程连接 Linux实例。
  2. 执行命令sudo service ntpd start运行NTP服务。
  3. 执行命令chkconfig ntpd on启用NTP服务。
  4. 执行命令ntpstat查看是否启用了NTP服务。
  5. (可选)执行命令ntpq -p可查看NTP服务对等端的列表信息;执行命令sudo chkconfig --list ntpd可查看NTP服务的运行级别。
配置自定义NTP服务
  1. 远程连接 Linux实例。
  2. 执行命令sudo vi /etc/ntp.conf用vim打开并编辑NTP服务配置文件。
  3. 找到server ntp 服务器 iburst的信息后,输入i开始编辑文件,给您暂时不需要的NTP服务器句首加上#隐藏起来。
  4. 新添加一行NTP服务器信息,格式为:server 您需要添加的NTP服务器 iburst。完成编辑后按下Esc键并输入:wq保存退出。
  5. 执行命令sudo service ntpd start启用自定义的NTP服务。
  6. 执行命令chkconfig ntpd on,启用NTP服务。
  7. 执行命令ntpstat查看是否启用了NTP服务。

The current default time zone for Alibaba Cloud ECS instances across all regions is CST (China Standard Time). In addition, the NTP (Network Time Protocol) service guarantees that your instances are synchronized with the standard time. Follow these steps in this topic to change the time zone for your ECS instances and configure your NTP service.

Background information

Synchronizing time and the time zone is crucial for Elastic Compute Service (ECS) instances, for example, an inaccurate time may have a significant impact on business when updating your database. To avoid both business disruptions running on your instances and networking request errors, you must configure one or more instances in the same time zone, such as Asia/Shanghai or America/Los Angeles. Take CentOS 6.5 as an example to demonstrate how to change the time zone by modifying configuration file.
Note After you change the time zone for an instance, always run hwclock -w to update the real-time clock (RTC) of the instance.

Procedure

  1. Connect to the Linux instance.
    Note

    Only a root user can open and edit time zone configuration files, so we use the sudo command here.

  2. Run sudo rm /etc/localtime to delete the local time in the instance.
  3. Run sudo vi /etc/sysconfig/clock to edit the configuration file /etc/sysconfig/clock.
  4. Enter i to add the time zone and city. For example, add Zone=Asia/Shanghai. Press Esc to exit the edit and enter :wq to save and exit.

    Optional. Run ls /usr/share/zoneinfo to query the list of available time zones. For example, Shanghai is one of them.

  5. Run sudo ln -sf /usr/share/zoneinfo/XXXX/XXXXXXX /etc/localtime to update the time zone change, for example, run sudo ln -sf /usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Shanghai /etc/localtime.
  6. Run hwclock -w to update the RTC.
  7. Run sudo reboot to restart the instance.
  8. Run date -R to check whether the new time zone is effective or not. If not, repeat the preceding steps.

What to do next

The Linux instance offers the ntpdate and the ntpd two approaches of synchronizing the NTP service. The ntpdate can be used to force an immediate update and the ntpd offers a systematic approach. The ntpdate service can be used for new instances, whereas ntpd is recommended for instances that run your business. Both standard and custom NTP service configurations are provided in this section. For more information about the NTP service, see internal and public NTP server.

Prerequisites

The communication port of the NTP service is UDP 123. Before configuring the service, make sure that you enabled the UDP port 123. You can use netstat -nupl in the Linux instance to make sure whether the UDP port 123 is enabled or not. For more information, see add a security group rule.

Set up standard NTP service
  1. Connect to the Linux instance.
  2. Run sudo service ntpd start to enable the NTP service.
  3. Run chkconfig ntpd on to enable the NTP service.
  4. Run ntpstat to check whether the NTP service is enabled or not.
  5. Optional. Run ntpq -p to view a list of NTP service peers. Run sudo chkconfig --list ntpd to view the NTP service running level.
Set up custom NTP service
  1. Connect to the Linux instance.
  2. Run sudo vi /etc/ntp.conf to edit the NTP service configuration files.
  3. After finding the information about ntp server XXXX iburst, enter i and start editing the file. NTP servers that are not currently needed can be hidden by adding a pound (#) at the beginning of the lines.
  4. Add a new line of NTP server information in the format of server XXXX iburst, and the XXXX is the custom NTP endpoint. For more information, see Internet and intranet NTP servers. After editing, press Esc and enter :wq to save and exit.
  5. Run sudo service ntpd start to enable the customized NTP service.
  6. Run chkconfig ntpd on to enable the NTP service.
  7. Run ntpstat to check whether the NTP service is enabled or not.