2018年2月5日,國外安全研究人員披露了一個關於Wordpress的拒絕服務(DoS)攻擊的漏洞(CVE-2018-6389),WordPress 3.x-4.x各個版本均受該漏洞影響。惡意攻擊者可以通過讓WordPress在單個請求中載入多個Javascript檔案來消耗伺服器資源,進而引發拒絕服務。

雲盾WAF本身不受該漏洞影響。但如果您的網站業務使用WordPress,建議您配置相應的防護規則。

漏洞描述

該漏洞主要位於load-scripts.php檔案處,load-scripts.php是WordPress CMS的內建指令碼。load-scripts.php檔案通過傳遞nameload參數來選擇性地調用必需的Javascript檔案,這些name參數間以”,”隔開。

例如,https://example.com/wp-admin/load-scripts.php?c=1&load[]=jquery-ui-core,editor&ver=4.9.1,這個請求中載入的Javascript檔案是jquery-ui-coreeditor

由於在script-loader.php檔案中定義的181個Javascript檔案都可以被載入在單個請求中,惡意攻擊者在無需授權登入的情況下可以發送大量請求,導致伺服器負載增加,從而實現拒絕服務的攻擊的效果。

防護建議

建議您使用精準存取控制和CC攻擊自訂規則功能對您的WordPress網站業務進行防護。

  • 通過精準存取控制功能,限制向load-scripts.php檔案傳遞參數的數量。例如,配置以下規則限制對load-scripts.php檔案傳遞的參數長度不大於50個字元。

  • 通過CC攻擊防護自訂功能,限制同一個IP對load-scripts.php檔案的請求頻率。例如,配置以下規則限制對同一個IP對load-scripts.php檔案的請求頻率不超過每5秒100次。

關於精準存取控制和CC攻擊防護自訂規則的功能介紹,請查看精準存取控制自訂CC防護

On February 5, 2018, a security researcher disclosed a denial-of-service (DoS) vulnerability in WordPress. The vulnerability affects all versions of WordPress from 3.x to 4.x. Attackers can trigger a DoS attack and consume server resources by using WordPress to load multiple JavaScript files in a single request.

WAF is not affected by this vulnerability. However, if your website business uses WordPress, we recommend that you configure appropriate protection rules.

Vulnerability description

This vulnerability is found in the load-scripts.php file. load-scripts.php is the built-in script of WordPress, a Content Management System (CMS) system. The load-scripts.php file selectively calls required JavaScript files by passing their names into the load parameter. The names are separated with commas (,).

For example, in the request of https://example.com/wp-admin/load-scripts.php?c=1&load[]=jquery-ui-core,editor&ver=4.9.1, JavaScript files jquery-ui-core and editor are loaded.

All 181 JavaScript files defined in the script-loader.php file can be loaded in a single request. An attacker can send a large number of requests without authorization, and this results in increased server load and triggers DoS attacks.

Protection recommendations

We recommend that you use the custom protection policy and HTTP flood protection features provided by WAF to protect your WordPress website.

  • You can use the custom protection policy feature to restrict the number of parameters passed by load-scripts.php. For example, you can add the following rule to restrict the length of the parameter passed by load-scripts.php to up to 50 characters.Create a rule
  • You can also use the custom HTTP flood protection feature to restrict the frequency at which IP addresses can send requests to the load-scripts.php file. For example, you can add the following rule to restrict the frequency at which an IP address sends requests to the load-scripts.php file to up to 100 times per 5 seconds.Create a rule

For more information about the custom protection policy and custom HTTP flood protection features, see Custom protection policy and HTTP flood protection.