选择配置合适的 Hadoop 集群是 E-MapReduce 产品使用的第一步。E-MapReduce 配置选型不仅要考虑企业大数据使用场景,估算数据量、服务可靠性要求,还要考虑企业预算。

大数据使用场景

E-MapReduce 产品当前主要满足企业的以下大数据场景:

  • 批处理场景

    该场景对磁盘吞吐和网络吞吐要求高,处理的数据量也大,但对数据处理的实时性要求不高,您可选用 MapReduce、Pig、Spark 组件。该场景对内存要求不高,选型时您需要重点关注大作业对 CPU 和内存的需求,以及 Shuffle 对网络的需求。

  • Ad-Hoc 查询

    数据科学家或数据分析师使用即席查询工具检索数据。该场景对查询实时性、磁盘吞吐和网络吞吐要求高,您可选用 E-MapReduce 的 Impala 和 Presto 组件。该场景对内存要求高,选型时需要考虑数据和并发查询的数量。

  • 流式计算、高网络吞吐和计算密集型场景

    选用 E-MapReduce Flink、Spark Streaming 和 Storm 组件。

  • 消息队列

    该场景对磁盘吞吐和网络吞吐要求高,并且内存消耗大,存储不依赖于 HDFS,您可选用 E-MapReduce Kafka。为避免对 Hadoop 造成影响,E-MapReduce 将 Kafka 与 Hadoop 分为两个集群。

  • 数据冷备场景

    该场景对计算和磁盘吞吐要求不高,但要求冷备成本低,推荐使用 EMR D1 实例做数据冷备,D1 本地盘实例存储成本为 0.003$/月/GB。

E-MapReduce 节点

E-MapReduce 节点有三种实例类型:主实例(Master)、核心实例(Core)和计算实例(Task)。

E-MapReduce 存储可以采用高效云盘、SSD 云盘和本地盘。磁盘效能为 SSD云盘 > 本地盘 > 高效云盘。

E-MapReduce 底层存储支持 OSS(仅标准型 OSS)和 HDFS。相对于 HDFS,OSS 的数据可用性更高(99.99999999%),HDFS 的数据可用性由云盘或本地盘存储的可靠性来保证。

存储价格大致估算如下:

  • 本地盘实例存储为 0.003 $/GB/月
  • OSS标准型存储为 0.02 $/GB/月
  • 高效云盘存储为 0.05 $/GB/月
  • SSD云盘存储为 0.143 $/GB/月

E-MapReduce 选型

  • Master 节点选型

    • Master 节点主要部署 Hadoop 的 Master 进程,例如,NameNode 和 ResourceManager 等。

    • 生产集群建议打开高可用HA,E-MapReduce 的 HDFS、YARN、Hive 和 HBase 等组件均已实现 HA。生产集群建议在节点配置位置开启高可用。如果购买时未开启高可用,集群将无法在后续使用过程中开启高可用功能。

    • Master 节点主要用来存储 HDFS 元数据和组件 Log 文件,属于计算密集型,对磁盘 IO 要求不高。HDFS 元数据存储在内存中,建议根据文件数量选择 16 GB 以上内存空间。

  • Core 节点选型

    • Core 节点主要用来存储数据和执行计算,运行 DataNode 和 Nodemanager。

    • HDFS(3 备份)数据量大于 60 TB,建议采用本地盘实例(ECS.d1,ECS.d1NE),本地盘的磁盘容量为:(CPU 核数/2)*5.5 TB*实例数量。例如,购买 4 台 8 核 D1 实例,磁盘容量为:8/2*5.5*4 台=88 TB。因为 HDFS 采用 3 备份,所以本地盘实例最少购买 3 台,考虑到数据可靠性和磁盘损坏因素,建议最少购买 4 台。

    • HDFS 数据量小于 60 TB,可以考虑高效云盘和 SSD 云盘。

  • Task 节点选型

    Task 节点主要用来补充 Core 节点 CPU 和内存计算能力的不足,节点并不存储数据,也不运行 DataNode。您可根据 CPU 和内存需求来估算实例个数。

E-MapReduce 生命周期

E-MapReduce 支持弹性扩展,可以快速的扩容,灵活调整集群节点配置,或者对 ECS 节点升降配

可用区选择

为保证效率,E-MapReduce 最好与业务系统部署在同一地域的同一个可用区

To use E-MapReduce (EMR), you must select appropriate clusters. When you select configurations for EMR, consider the use of big data in your enterprise and your financial budget, and estimate the volume of data and the reliability of services that you require.

Big data scenarios

EMR applies to the following enterprise big data scenarios:
  • Batch operations

    This scenario requires both high disk throughput and high network throughput, supports processing of large volumes of data, but has low requirements on the timeliness of data processing. You can use MapReduce, Pig, or Spark for this scenario. This scenario does not require a large memory capacity. Therefore, you need to focus on the requirements of jobs on the vCPU and memory, and the network requirements when you perform data shuffling.

  • Ad hoc queries

    Data scientists and data analysts use ad hoc query tools to retrieve data. This scenario requires real-time queries, high disk throughput, and high network throughput. You can use Impala or Presto for this scenario. This scenario requires a large memory capacity. You must consider the volume of both data and concurrent queries your business needs to handle.

  • Stream computing, high network throughput, and compute-intensive scenarios

    You can use Flink, Spark Streaming, or Storm for these scenarios.

  • Message queues

    In this scenario, high disk throughput and high network throughput are required, the memory usage is high, and data storage does not depend on HDFS. You can use Kafka.

  • Cold backup

    This scenario does not require high disk or high computing throughput but requires low cost. We recommend that you use EMR d1 instances for cold backups. The storage cost of each d1 instance is USD 0.003/month/GB.

EMR nodes

An EMR cluster consists of three types of nodes: master, core, and task nodes. For more information, see Node categories.

You can select ultra disks, local disks, standard SSDs, or local SSDs for EMR storage. These disks are ranked in descending order of performance: local SSDs > standard SSDs > local disks > ultra disks.

EMR underlying storage supports OSS (OSS Standard storage only) and HDFS. OSS has a higher data availability than HDFS. The data availability of OSS is 99.99999999%, while the data availability of HDFS depends on the reliability of cloud disk or local disk storage.

Storage prices:
  • Local disk storage: USD 0.003/GB/month
  • OSS Standard storage: USD 0.02/GB/month
  • Ultra disk storage: USD 0.05/GB/month
  • Standard SSD storage: USD 0.143/GB/month

Select configurations for EMR

  • Select master node configurations.
    • Master nodes are used to deploy the master processes of Hadoop, such as NameNode and ResourceManager.
    • EMR services such as HDFS, YARN, Hive, and HBase use the high availability architecture. We recommend that you enable high availability for production clusters in the Hardware Settings step. If high availability is not enabled when you create an EMR cluster, it cannot be enabled later.
    • Master nodes are used to store HDFS metadata and component log files. These nodes are compute-intensive with low disk I/O requirements. HDFS metadata is stored in memory. The minimum recommended memory size is 16 GB based on the number of files.

  • Select core node configurations.

    • Core nodes are used to store data, run computing tasks, and run processes such as DataNode and NodeManager.
    • If the volume of data stored in HDFS exceeds 60 TB, we recommend that you use instances with local disks, such as ECS d1 and ECS d1ne instances. The local disk capacity is calculated by using the following formula: (Number of vCPUs/2) × 5.5 TB × Number of instances.

      For example, if you purchase four d1 instances with eight vCPUs, the local disk capacity is 88 TB, which is calculated by using the following formula: 8/2 × 5.5 × 4. HDFS requires three replicas. Therefore, you must purchase at least three instances that use local disks. To ensure data reliability and disaster recovery, we recommend that you purchase at least four instances.

    • If the volume of data stored in HDFS is less than 60 TB, you can use ultra disks or standard SSDs.
  • Select task node configurations.

    Task nodes are used if the computing capabilities of vCPUs and the memory of core nodes are insufficient. Task nodes do not store data or run DataNode. You can estimate the number of task nodes based on your vCPU and memory requirements.

EMR lifecycle

EMR supports auto scaling. You can scale out a cluster by following the instructions provided in Scale out a cluster or scale ECS instances up or down by following the instructions provided in Overview of instance upgrade and downgrade.

Select a zone

We recommend that you deploy both EMR and your business system in the same zone of the same region to ensure high efficiency. For more information, see Regions and zones.