HBase的rowkey设计可以说是使用HBase最为重要的事情,直接影响到HBase的性能,常见的RowKey的设计问题及对应访问为:

的行由行键按字典顺序排序,这样的设计优化了扫描,允许存储相关的行或者那些将被一起读的邻近的行。然而,设计不好的行键是导致 hotspotting 的常见原因。当大量的客户端流量( traffic )被定向在集群上的一个或几个节点时,就会发生 hotspotting。这些流量可能代表着读、写或其他操作。流量超过了承载该region的单个机器所能负荷的量,这就会导致性能下降并有可能造成region的不可用。在同一 RegionServer 上的其他region也可能会受到其不良影响,因为主机无法提供服务所请求的负载。设计使集群能被充分均匀地使用的数据访问模式是至关重要的。

为了防止在写操作时出现 hotspotting ,设计行键时应该使得数据尽量同时往多个region上写,而避免只向一个region写,除非那些行真的有必要写在一个region里。

下面介绍了集中常用的避免 hotspotting 的技巧,它们各有优劣:

Salting

Salting 从某种程度上看与加密无关,它指的是将随机数放在行键的起始处。进一步说,salting给每一行键随机指定了一个前缀来让它与其他行键有着不同的排序。所有可能前缀的数量对应于要分散数据的region的数量。如果有几个“hot”的行键模式,而这些模式在其他更均匀分布的行里反复出现,salting就能到帮助。下面的例子说明了salting能在多个RegionServer间分散负载,同时也说明了它在读操作时候的负面影响。

假设行键的列表如下,表按照每个字母对应一个region来分割。前缀‘a’是一个region,‘b’就是另一个region。在这张表中,所有以‘f’开头的行都属于同一个region。这个例子关注的行和键如下:

foo0001
foo0002
foo0003
foo0004

现在,假设想将它们分散到不同的region上,就需要用到四种不同的 salts :a,b,c,d。在这种情况下,每种字母前缀都对应着不同的一个region。用上这些salts后,便有了下面这样的行键。由于现在想把它们分到四个独立的区域,理论上吞吐量会是之前写到同一region的情况的吞吐量的四倍。

a-foo0003
b-foo0001
c-foo0004
d-foo0002

如果想新增一行,新增的一行会被随机指定四个可能的salt值中的一个,并放在某条已存在的行的旁边。

a-foo0003
b-foo0001
c-foo0003
c-foo0004
d-foo0002

由于前缀的指派是随机的,因而如果想要按照字典顺序找到这些行,则需要做更多的工作。从这个角度上看,salting增加了写操作的吞吐量,却也增大了读操作的开销。

Hashing

可用一个单向的 hash 散列来取代随机指派前缀。这样能使一个给定的行在“salted”时有相同的前缀,从某种程度上说,这在分散了RegionServer间的负载的同时,也允许在读操作时能够预测。确定性hash( deterministic hash )能让客户端重建完整的行键,以及像正常的一样用Get操作重新获得想要的行。

考虑和上述salting一样的情景,现在可以用单向hash来得到行键foo0003,并可预测得‘a’这个前缀。然后为了重新获得这一行,需要先知道它的键。可以进一步优化这一方法,如使得将特定的键对总是在相同的region。

Reversing the Key(反转键)

第三种预防hotspotting的方法是反转一段固定长度或者可数的键,来让最常改变的部分(最低显著位, the least significant digit )在第一位,这样有效地打乱了行键,但是却牺牲了行排序的属性

单调递增行键/时序数据

在一个集群中,一个导入数据的进程锁住不动,所有的client都在等待一个region(因而也就是一个单个节点),过了一会后,变成了下一个region… 如果使用了单调递增或者时序的key便会造成这样的问题。使用了顺序的key会将本没有顺序的数据变得有顺序,把负载压在一台机器上。所以要尽量避免时间戳或者序列(e.g. 1, 2, 3)这样的行键。

如果需要导入时间顺序的文件(如log)到HBase中,可以学习OpenTSDB的做法。它有一个页面来描述它的HBase模式。OpenTSDB的Key的格式是[metric_type][event_timestamp],乍一看,这似乎违背了不能将timestamp做key的建议,但是它并没有将timestamp作为key的一个关键位置,有成百上千的metric_type就足够将压力分散到各个region了。因此,尽管有着连续的数据输入流,Put操作依旧能被分散在表中的各个region中

简化行和列

在HBase中,值是作为一个单元(Cell)保存在系统的中的,要定位一个单元,需要行,列名和时间戳。通常情况下,如果行和列的名字要是太大(甚至比value的大小还要大)的话,可能会遇到一些有趣的情况。在HBase的存储文件( storefiles )中,有一个索引用来方便值的随机访问,但是访问一个单元的坐标要是太大的话,会占用很大的内存,这个索引会被用尽。要想解决这个问题,可以设置一个更大的块大小,也可以使用更小的行和列名 。压缩也能得到更大指数。

大部分时候,细微的低效不会影响很大。但不幸的是,在这里却不能忽略。无论是列族、属性和行键都会在数据中重复上亿次。

列族

尽量使列族名小,最好一个字符。(如:f 表示)

属性

详细属性名 (如:"myVeryImportantAttribute") 易读,最好还是用短属性名 (e.g., "via") 保存到HBase.

行键长度

让行键短到可读即可,这样对获取数据有帮助(e.g., Get vs. Scan)。短键对访问数据无用,并不比长键对get/scan更好。设计行键需要权衡

字节模式

long类型有8字节。8字节内可以保存无符号数字到18,446,744,073,709,551,615。 如果用字符串保存——假设一个字节一个字符——需要将近3倍的字节数。

下面是示例代码,可以自己运行一下:

// long
//
long l = 1234567890L;
byte[] lb = Bytes.toBytes(l);
System.out.println("long bytes length: " + lb.length);   // returns 8

String s = String.valueOf(l);
byte[] sb = Bytes.toBytes(s);
System.out.println("long as string length: " + sb.length);    // returns 10

// hash
//
MessageDigest md = MessageDigest.getInstance("MD5");
byte[] digest = md.digest(Bytes.toBytes(s));
System.out.println("md5 digest bytes length: " + digest.length);    // returns 16

String sDigest = new String(digest);
byte[] sbDigest = Bytes.toBytes(sDigest);
System.out.println("md5 digest as string length: " + sbDigest.length);    // returns 26

不幸的是,用二进制表示会使数据在代码之外难以阅读。下例便是当需要增加一个值时会看到的shell:

hbase(main):001:0> incr 't', 'r', 'f:q', 1
COUNTER VALUE = 1

hbase(main):002:0> get 't', 'r'
COLUMN                                        CELL
 f:q                                          timestamp=1369163040570, value=\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x01
1 row(s) in 0.0310 seconds

这个shell尽力在打印一个字符串,但在这种情况下,它决定只将进制打印出来。当在region名内行键会发生相同的情况。如果知道储存的是什么,那自是没问题,但当任意数据都可能被放到相同单元的时候,这将会变得难以阅读。这是最需要权衡之处。

倒序时间戳

一个数据库处理的通常问题是找到最近版本的值。采用倒序时间戳作为键的一部分可以对此特定情况有很大帮助。该技术包含追加( Long.MAX_VALUE - timestamp ) 到key的后面,如 [key][reverse_timestamp] 。

表内[key]的最近的值可以用[key]进行Scan,找到并获取第一个记录。由于HBase行键是排序的,该键排在任何比它老的行键的前面,所以是第一个。

该技术可以用于代替版本数,其目的是保存所有版本到“永远”(或一段很长时间) 。同时,采用同样的Scan技术,可以很快获取其他版本。

行键和列族

行键在列族范围内。所以同样的行键可以在同一个表的每个列族中存在而不会冲突。

行键不可改

行键不能改变。唯一可以“改变”的方式是删除然后再插入。这是一个常问问题,所以要注意开始就要让行键正确(且/或在插入很多数据之前)。

行键和region split的关系

如果已经 pre-split (预裂)了表,接下来关键要了解行键是如何在region边界分布的。为了说明为什么这很重要,可考虑用可显示的16位字符作为键的关键位置(e.g., "0000000000000000" to "ffffffffffffffff")这个例子。通过 Bytes.split来分割键的范围(这是当用 Admin.createTable(byte[] startKey, byte[] endKey, numRegions) 创建region时的一种拆分手段),这样会分得10个region。

48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48                                // 0
54 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10                 // 6
61 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -68                 // =
68 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -126  // D
75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 72                                // K
82 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 14                                // R
88 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -44                 // X
95 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -102                // _
102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102                // f

但问题在于,数据将会堆放在前两个region以及最后一个region,这样就会导致某几个region由于数据分布不均匀而特别忙。为了理解其中缘由,需要考虑ASCII Table的结构。根据ASCII表,“0”是第48号,“f”是102号;但58到96号是个巨大的间隙,考虑到在这里仅[0-9]和[a-f]这些值是有意义的,因而这个区间里的值不会出现在键空间( keyspace ),进而中间区域的region将永远不会用到。为了pre-split这个例子中的键空间,需要自定义拆分。

教程1:预裂表( pre-splitting tables ) 是个很好的实践,但pre-split时要注意使得所有的region都能在键空间中找到对应。尽管例子中解决的问题是关于16位键的键空间,但其他任何空间也是同样的道理。

教程2:16位键(通常用到可显示的数据中)尽管通常不可取,但只要所有的region都能在键空间找到对应,它依旧能和预裂表配合使用。

一下case说明了如何16位键预分区

public static boolean createTable(Admin admin, HTableDescriptor table, byte[][] splits)
throws IOException {
  try {
    admin.createTable( table, splits );
    return true;
  } catch (TableExistsException e) {
    logger.info("table " + table.getNameAsString() + " already exists");
    // the table already exists...
    return false;
  }
}

public static byte[][] getHexSplits(String startKey, String endKey, int numRegions) {
  byte[][] splits = new byte[numRegions-1][];
  BigInteger lowestKey = new BigInteger(startKey, 16);
  BigInteger highestKey = new BigInteger(endKey, 16);
  BigInteger range = highestKey.subtract(lowestKey);
  BigInteger regionIncrement = range.divide(BigInteger.valueOf(numRegions));
  lowestKey = lowestKey.add(regionIncrement);
  for(int i=0; i < numRegions-1;i++) {
    BigInteger key = lowestKey.add(regionIncrement.multiply(BigInteger.valueOf(i)));
    byte[] b = String.format("%016x", key).getBytes();
    splits[i] = b;
  }
  return splits;
}

Rowkey design is an important factor that affects the performance of ApsaraDB for HBase. The following text provides a collection of common problems and their solutions:

Rows are sorted in lexicographical order by rowkey. This design optimizes scanning and allows you to store related rows or adjacent rows that will be read together. However, poor rowkey design is a common cause of hotspotting. Hotspotting occurs when a large amount of traffic is concentrated on one or a small number of nodes in a cluster. Traffic refers to operations such as reads and writes. If the traffic overloads the server that hosts a region, the performance of the region will degrade and may even cause the region to become unavailable. This may also have adverse effects on other regions in the same region server because the server cannot provide services for the requested load. Therefore, it is important to design data access patterns that can distribute load evenly across clusters.

To prevent hotspotting during write operations, the rowkey must be designed so that data can be written to as many regions as possible at the same time. Try to avoid writing data to only one region, unless it is necessary for the data to be in one region.

The following sections describe common methods to prevent hotspotting. Each method has its own pros and cons.

Salting

Salting in HBase refers to placing a random number at the beginning of a rowkey. This operation randomly assigns a prefix to each rowkey to cause it to sort differently than usual. The number of the possible prefixes corresponds to the number of regions to which you want to distribute data. If you notice rowkey patterns that appear repeatedly in other more evenly distributed rows, we recommend that you use salting. In the following example, salting distributes the load across multiple region servers. The example also illustrates the negative impact salting has on read operations.

The following table shows a few rowkeys, which are divided into regions based on their prefixes. For example, rowkeys that have the prefix 'a' are distributed to Region A, and rowkeys that have the prefix 'b' are distributed to Region B. The rowkeys of the following table all start with 'f'. Therefore, these rows are distributed to a single region.

foo0001
foo0002
foo0003
foo0004

To distribute the rows evenly across different regions, you need four salts: a, b, c, and d. Each letter prefix corresponds to a different region, which distributes the rowkeys across four different regions. The following rowkeys are prefixed with a different letter each, and are written to four different regions at the same time. The throughput is four times that of writing all the data to one region.

a-foo0003
b-foo0001
c-foo0004
d-foo0002

When you insert a new row, a random prefix from one of the four possible salt values is assigned to the row.

a-foo0003
b-foo0001
c-foo0003
c-foo0004
d-foo0002

When salting is performed, prefixes are assigned at random, which improves the throughput of write operations. However, the original order of the rows are affected, which increases the workload of read operations.

Hashing

Compared with salting, hashing is the use of a one-way hash to generate a consistent prefix instead of a randomly generated prefix. This allows you to specify the same prefix for specific rows in a way that distributes the load across region servers, but allows for predictability during read operations. You can use deterministic hash to refactor a rowkey on the client and retrieve the row by using the GET operation.

Take the example described in the salting section. You can use a one-way hash to obtain the rowkey foo0003 and predict the prefix a. You can then combine the rowkey and prefix to obtain the row. This method can be further optimized. For example, always make the specific rowkey pairs in the same region.

Reversing the Key

Another common method used to prevent hotspotting is to reverse a fixed-length or numeric rowkey so that the most frequently changed part (the least significant digit) is in the front. This randomizes the rowkey at the cost of row order.

Monotonically increasing rowkeys or time series data

When data is written to an ApsaraDB for HBase cluster, the process is locked. During this time, all clients will wait for a region (a single node) to become unlocked. After the write operation completes, the cycle starts again. This problem frequently occurs when monotonically increasing or time series data are used as rowkeys. This also applies to sequential rowkeys, which orders non-sequential data in a sequential order, causing hotspotting. Therefore, try to avoid using timestamps or sequences (for example, 1, 2, 3) as rowkeys.

If you need to import files ordered by time (such as logs) to ApsaraDB for HBase, we recommend that you reference OpenTSDB documentation. The documentation includes a page that describes the pattern for ApsaraDB for HBase. The format of rowkey in OpenTSDB is [metric_type] [event_timestamp]. At first glance, this seems to contradict the idea of not using timestamps as rowkeys. However, OpenTSDB puts metric_type before event_timestamp. There are hundreds of metric_type values which are enough to distribute the load across the regions. Therefore, the PUT operations can still be distributed across various regions of the table, despite a continuous data input stream.

Minimize row and column sizes

In ApsaraDB for HBase, values are stored as cells in the system. To find a cell, you need to know the row, column name, and timestamp. Typically, if the size of the rows or column names is too large or even larger than the size of the value, some interesting scenarios may occur. There is an index in the storefiles of ApsaraDB for HBase that is used to facilitate random access to values. However, if the coordinates required to access a cell is too large, the index may consume a large amount of memory and is ultimately exhausted. To solve this problem, you can set a larger region size, or use smaller rows and column names. You can also use compression to solve this problem to a greater degree.

In most cases, minor inefficiencies do not have great impacts on performance. However, in big data scenarios, it cannot be ignored. because column families, properties, and rowkeys may be repeated hundreds of millions of times in the data.

Column family

Make sure that the name of the column family is as small as possible. We recommend that you use only one character. (For example, use f)

Properties

Although the detailed property names (such as myVeryImportantAttribute) are easy to understand, we recommend that you use short property names (for example, via) in ApsaraDB for HBase.

Rowkey length

Make the rowkey short enough to be readable, which is helpful for obtaining data. (for example, Get vs. Scan). The short rowkey is useless for data access, but it is not better than a longer rowkey on improving the retrieve capabilities of get/scan. You need tradeoffs when you design rowkeys.

Byte pattern

The long type has 8 bytes. You can save unsigned integers up to 18,446,744,073,709,551,615 within 8 bytes. If you store the preceding number as a string, assuming that each character takes up on byte, the number of bytes required to store the number is nearly three times the original.

You can use the following sample code to test this:

// long
//
long l = 1234567890L;
byte[] lb = Bytes.toBytes(l);
System.out.println("long bytes length: " + lb.length);   // Returns 8

String s = String.valueOf(l);
byte[] sb = Bytes.toBytes(s);
System.out.println("long as string length: " + sb.length);    // Returns 10

// hash
//
MessageDigest md = MessageDigest.getInstance("MD5");
byte[] digest = md.digest(Bytes.toBytes(s));
System.out.println("md5 digest bytes length: " + digest.length);    // Returns 16

String sDigest = new String(digest);
byte[] sbDigest = Bytes.toBytes(sDigest);
System.out.println("md5 digest as string length: " + sbDigest.length);    // Returns 26

However, binary representation makes the data hard to read outside the code. In the following example, a shell is displayed when you want to add a value:

hbase(main):001:0> incr 't', 'r', 'f:q', 1
COUNTER VALUE = 1

hbase(main):002:0> get 't', 'r'
COLUMN                                        CELL
 f:q                                          timestamp=1369163040570, value=\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x01
1 row(s) in 0.0310 seconds

The shell tries to print a string, but in this case, it can only print a hexadecimal. The same thing happens when the rowkey is in the region. That will be fine if you know what is stored, but it may be hard to understand the result if any data can be put in the same cell. This is the most important consideration.

Reverse timestamp

A common problem in databases is finding the latest version of a row. In this case, a reversed timestamp can be used as part of the rowkey to facilitate sorting. This technology includes appending (Long. MAX_VALUE-timestamp) to the end of a key. For example, [key] [reverse_timestamp].

You can use [key] to scan the value of the latest [key] in the table and obtain the first record. The rowkeys of ApsaraDB for HBase are sorted in a sequential order, so the key is the first and before any other older rowkeys.

This technique can be used instead of requesting the version numbers in order to permanently save all versions (or for an extended period of time). In addition, you can quickly obtain other versions by using the same scan technique.

Rowkey and column family

The rowkey is within a column family. Therefore, the same rowkey can exist in each column family of the same table without any conflicts.

Rowkeys cannot be modified

Rowkeys cannot be modified. The only way to modify a rowkey is to delete it and then insert a new one. We recommend that you use a well-designed rowkey from the beginning (or before you insert a large amount of data).

Relationship between the rowkey and the region split

If the table has been pre-splitted, the next step is to understand how rowkeys are distributed across the region boundaries. Consider using displayable 16-bit characters as the key part of the rowkey to explain the importance. For example, 0000000000000000 to ffffffffffffffff. You can obtain 10 regions by using Bytes.split to specify the key ranges. This is a splitting method when you create a region with Admin.createTable(byte[] startKey, byte[] endKey, numRegions).

48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48 48                                // 0
54 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10 -10                 // 6
61 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -67 -68                 // =
68 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -124 -126  // D
75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 75 72                                // K
82 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 18 14                                // R
88 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -40 -44                 // X
95 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -97 -102                // _
102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102 102                // f

The problem is that the data will be stored in the first two regions and the last region, which causes heavy workloads on these regions due to uneven data distribution. You can refer to the ASCII Table to understand the reason. Based on the ASCII table, 0 is the 48th and f is the 102nd. Only the values [0-9] and [a-f] are meaningful, so the values of the range from 58th to 96th will not appear in the keyspace and the regions in the middle within this range will never be used. To pre-split the keyspace in this example, you need to customize the split.

Tutorial 1: Pre-splitting tables is a good practice. However, when you pre-split tables, make sure that all regions have the corresponding keyspaces. Although the preceding example is about the keyspace of the 16-bit key, the solution is also applicable to other keyspaces.

Tutorial 2: Although the 16-bit key is not preferred (usually used for the data that can be displayed), it can still be used with the pre-splittling tables if all regions have the corresponding keyspaces.

The following case shows how to pre-split a 16-bit rowkey.

public static boolean createTable(Admin admin, HTableDescriptor table, byte[][] splits)
throws IOException {
  try {
    admin.createTable( table, splits );
    return true;
  } catch (TableExistsException e) {
    logger.info("table " + table.getNameAsString() + " already exists");
    // the table already exists...
    return false;
  }
}

public static byte[][] getHexSplits(String startKey, String endKey, int numRegions) {
  byte[][] splits = new byte[numRegions-1][];
  BigInteger lowestKey = new BigInteger(startKey, 16);
  BigInteger highestKey = new BigInteger(endKey, 16);
  BigInteger range = highestKey.subtract(lowestKey);
  BigInteger regionIncrement = range.divide(BigInteger.valueOf(numRegions));
  lowestKey = lowestKey.add(regionIncrement);
  for(int i=0; i < numRegions-1;i++) {
    BigInteger key = lowestKey.add(regionIncrement.multiply(BigInteger.valueOf(i)));
    byte[] b = String.format("%016x", key).getBytes();
    splits[i] = b;
  }
  return splits;
}