在安全性群組的使用過程中,通常會將所有的雲端服務器放置在同一個安全性群組中,從而可以減少初期配置的工作量。但從長遠來看,業務系統網路的互動將變得複雜和不可控。在執行安全性群組變更時,您將無法明確添加和刪除規則的影響範圍。

合理規劃和區分不同的安全性群組將使得您的系統更加便於調整,梳理應用提供的服務並對不同應用進行分層。這裡推薦您對不同的業務規劃不同的安全性群組,並設定不同的安全性群組規則。

區分不同的安全性群組

  • 公網服務的雲端服務器和內網伺服器盡量屬於不同的安全性群組

    是否對外提供公網服務,包括主動暴露某些連接埠對外訪問(例如 80、443 等),被動地提供連接埠轉寄規則(例如雲端服務器具有公網 IP、EIP、NAT 連接埠轉寄規則等),都會導致自己的應用可能被公網訪問到。

    2 種情境的雲端服務器所屬的安全性群組規則要採用最嚴格的規則,建議拒絕優先,預設情況下應當關閉所有的連接埠和協議,僅僅暴露對外提供需要服務的連接埠,例如 80、443。由於僅對屬於對外公網訪問的伺服器編組,調整安全性群組規則時也比較容易控制。

    對於對外提供伺服器編組的職責應該比較明晰和簡單,避免在同樣的伺服器上對外提供其它的服務。例如 MySQL、Redis 等,建議將這些服務安裝在沒有公網存取權限的雲端服務器上,然後通過安全性群組的組組授權來訪問。

    如果當前有公網雲端服務器已經和其它的應用在同一個安全性群組 SG_CURRENT。您可以通過下面的方法來進行變更。

    1. 梳理當前提供的公網服務暴露的連接埠和協議,例如 80、443。
    2. 新建立一個安全性群組,例如 SG_WEB, 然後添加相應的連接埠和規則。
      说明 授權策略:允許,協議類型:ALL, 連接埠:80/80,授權對象:0.0.0.0/0, 授權策略:允許,協議類型:ALL,連接埠:443/443,授權對象:0.0.0.0/0。
    3. 選擇安全性群組 SG_CURRENT, 然後添加一條安全性群組規則,組組授權,允許 SG_WEB 中的資源訪問SG_CURRENT。
      说明 授權策略:允許,協議類型:ALL,連接埠:-1/-1,授權對象:SG_WEB,優先順序:按照實際情況自訂[1-100]。
    4. 將一台需要切換安全性群組的執行個體 ECS_WEB_1 添加到新的安全性群組中。
      1. 在 ECS 控制台中,選擇 安全性群組管理
      2. 選擇 SG_WEB > 管理執行個體 > 添加執行個體,選擇執行個體 ECS_WEB_1 加入到新的安全性群組 SG_WEB 中,確認 ECS_WEB_1 執行個體的流量和網路工作正常。
    5. 將 ECS_WEB_1 從原來的安全性群組中移出。
      1. 在 ECS 控制台中,選擇 安全性群組管理
      2. 選擇 SG_WEB > 管理執行個體 > 添加執行個體,選擇 ECS_WEB_1 ,從 SG_CURRENT 移除,測試網路連通性,確認流量和網路工作正常。
      3. 如果工作不正常,將 ECS_WEB_1 仍然加回到安全性群組 SG_CURRENT 中,檢查設定的 SG_WEB 暴露的連接埠是否符合預期,然後繼續變更。
    6. 執行其它的伺服器安全性群組變更。
  • 不同的應用使用不同的安全性群組

    在生產環境中,不同的作業系統大多情況下不會屬於同一個應用分組來提供負載平衡服務。提供不同的服務意味著需要暴露的連接埠和拒絕的連接埠是不同的,建議不同的作業系統盡量歸屬於不同的安全性群組。

    例如,對於 Linux 作業系統,可能需要暴露 TCP(22)連接埠來實現 SSH,對 Windows 可能需要開通 TCP(3389) 遠端桌面連線。

    除了不同的作業系統歸屬不同的安全性群組,即便同一個鏡像類型,提供不同的服務,如果之間不需要通過內網進行訪問的話,最好也劃歸不同的安全性群組。這樣方便解耦,並對未來的安全性群組規則進行變更,做到職責單一。

    在規劃和新增應用時,除了考慮劃分不同的虛擬交換器配置子網,也應該同時合理的規劃安全性群組。使用網段+安全性群組約束自己作為服務提供者和消費者的邊界。

    具體的變更流程參見上面的操作步驟。

  • 生產環境和測試環境使用不同的安全性群組

    為了更好的做系統的隔離,在實際開發過程中,您可能會構建多套的測試環境和一套線上環境。為了更合理的做網路隔離,您需要對不同的環境配置使用不同的安全性原則,避免因為測試環境的變更重新整理到了線上影響線上的穩定性。

    通過建立不同的安全性群組,限制應用的訪問域,避免生產環境和測試環境聯通。同時也可以對不同的測試環境分配不同的安全性群組,避免多套測試環境之間互相干擾,提升開發效率。

僅對需要公網訪問子網或者雲端服務器分配公網 IP

不論是傳統網路還是Virtual Private Cloud 中,合理的分配公網 IP 可以讓系統更加方便地進行公網管理,同時減少系統受攻擊的風險。在專用網路的情境下,建立虛擬交換器時,建議您盡量將需要公網訪問的服務區的 IP 區間放在固定的幾個交換器(子網 CIDR)中,方便審計和區分,避免不小心暴露公網訪問。

在分布式應用中,大多數應用都有不同的分層和分組,對於不提供公網訪問的雲端服務器盡量不提供公網IP,如果是有多台伺服器提供公網訪問,建議您配置公網流量分發的負載平衡服務來公網服務,提升系統的可用性,避免單點。

對於不需要公網訪問的雲端服務器盡量不要分配公網 IP。專用網路中當您的雲端服務器需要訪問公網的時候,優先建議您使用 NAT Gateway,用於為 VPC 內無公網 IP 的 ECS 執行個體提供訪問互連網的代理服務,您只需要配置相應的 SNAT 規則即可為具體的 CIDR 網段或者子網提供公網訪問能力,具體配置參見SNAT。避免因為只需要訪問公網的能力而在分配了公網 IP(EIP) 之後也向公網暴露了服務。

最小原則

安全性群組應該是白名單性質的,所以需盡量開放和暴露最少的連接埠,同時儘可能少地分配公網 IP。若想訪問線上機器進行任務日誌或錯誤排查的時候直接分配公網 IP,掛載 EIP 雖然簡便,但是畢竟會將整個機器暴露在公網之上,更安全的策略是通過跳板機來管理。

使用跳板機

跳板機由於其自身的許可權巨大,除了通過工具做好審計記錄。在專用網路中,建議將跳板機分配在專有的虛擬交換器之中,對其提供相應的 EIP 或者 NAT 連接埠轉寄表。

首先建立專有的安全性群組 SG_BRIDGE,例如開放相應的連接埠,例如 Linux TCP(22) 或者 Windows RDP(3389)。為了限制安全性群組的入網規則,可以限制能登入的授權對象為企業的公網出口範圍,減少被登入和掃描的機率。

然後將作為跳板機的雲端服務器加入到該安全性群組中。為了讓該機器能訪問相應的雲端服務器,可以配置相應的組授權。例如在 SG_CURRENT 添加一條規則允許 SG_BRIDGE 訪問某些連接埠和協議。

使用跳板機 SSH 時,建議您優先使用 SSH 金鑰對 而不是密碼登入。

總之,合理的安全性群組規劃使您在擴容應用時更加遊刃有餘,同時讓您的系統更加安全。

In practice, you may have a tendency to place all Elastic Compute Service (ECS) instances within a single security group to reduce initial configuration workloads. However, in the long run, this practice may make business system interactions more complex and less controllable. When you add rules to or remove rules from the security group, you cannot identify the impact scope of the rules.

Background information

Plan and define security groups properly to make your systems easier to adjust. Sort out the services provided by applications and classify the applications into different levels. We recommend that you plan different security groups for different business and add different rules to the security groups.

Create different security groups

  • Create different security groups for ECS instances that provide Internet-facing services and those that provide internal network-facing services.

    The applications on an ECS instance may be accessible over the Internet regardless of whether the instance provides Internet-facing services, including proactively exposing specific ports (such as ports 80 and 443) for external access and passively providing port forwarding rules (such as NAT port forwarding rules and forwarding rules based on the system-assigned public IP address or elastic IP address of the instance).

    In the two preceding scenarios, use the strictest security group rules for the instance. We recommend that you first add a rule to deny access from all protocols on all ports and then add rules to allow access only to ports required by external services, such as ports 80 and 443. The security group contains only Internet-facing ECS instances. It is easy to adjust the rules in the security group.

    The security group that contains Internet-facing ECS instances must have clear and simple responsibilities to ensure that the instances provide no services other than primary services. For example, for MySQL and Redis applications, we recommend that you deploy them on ECS instances that do not provide Internet access, and then configure rules to allow access from authorized security groups to the instances.

    Assume that an Internet-facing ECS instance named ECS_WEB_1 and some applications belong to the SG_CURRENT security group. You can perform the following steps to change the security group of the ECS_WEB_1 instance:
    1. Identify the protocols and ports used to provide Internet-facing services, such as ports 80 and 443.
    2. Create a security group named SG_WEB and add a rule with the following attributes to the SG_WEB security group. For more information, see Create a security group.
      • Action: Allow
      • Protocol type: All
      • Port range: 80/80 and 443/443
      • Authorization object: 0.0.0.0/0
    3. Add a rule with the following attributes to the SG_CURRENT security group to allow access from the SG_WEB security group. For more information, see Add security group rules.
      • Action: Allow
      • Protocol type: All
      • Port range: -1/-1
      • Authorization object: SG_WEB
      • Priority: Select a value in the range of 1 to 100 based on your requirements.
    4. Add the ECS_WEB_1 instance to the SG_WEB security group.
      1. Log on to the ECS console.
      2. In the left-side navigation pane, choose Network & Security > Security Groups.
      3. Find the SG_WEB security group and click Manage Instances in the Actions column.
      4. Click Add Instance.
      5. In the Add Instance dialog box, select ECS_WEB_1 from the drop-down list and click OK. Confirm that data can be transferred to or from the ECS_WEB_1 instance and that the network of the instance works normally.
    5. Remove the ECS_WEB_1 instance from the SG_CURRENT security group.
      1. Log on to the ECS console.
      2. In the left-side navigation pane, choose Network & Security > Security Groups.
      3. Find the SG_CURRENT security group and click Manage Instances in the Actions column.
      4. Select the ECS_WEB_1 instance and click Remove from Security Group.
      5. In the Remove ECS Instance from Security Group message, click OK.
      6. Check the network connectivity of the instance to ensure that data can be transferred to or from the instance and that the network of the instance works normally.

        If the ECS_WEB_1 instance fails the network connectivity check, add the instance back to the SG_CURRENT security group. Then, check whether ports in the SG_WEB security group are exposed as expected. If yes, proceed with security group changes. If no, modify the port settings.

    6. Proceed with security group changes.
  • Use different security groups for different applications

    In most cases, different operating systems in a production environment do not belong to the same application group for load balancing. To provide different services, operating systems must have different ports exposed and blocked. We recommend that you assign different operating systems to different security groups.

    For example, for a Linux operating system, you may need to expose TCP port 22 to allow SSH connections. For a Windows operating system, you may need to expose TCP port 3389 to allow Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP) connections.

    If instances that use the same image but provide different services do not need to communicate with each other over the internal network, we recommend that you also assign these instances to different security groups. This helps decouple image types from security groups, simplify subsequent changes to security group rules, and ensure that instances have simple responsibilities.

    When you plan and add new applications, you must properly plan security groups in addition to using vSwitches to define subnets. Use CIDR blocks and security groups to distinguish yourself as a service provider or a consumer.

    For specific change procedures, see the preceding section.

  • Use different security groups in production and testing environments

    To better isolate systems, you may build multiple testing environments and a single production environment in actual development. You may need to configure different security group rules for different environments to properly isolate networks. This way, you can prevent changes made for testing purposes from being uploaded to the production environment and affecting the stability of the production environment.

    You can use security groups to confine access domains of applications and avoid communication between production and testing environments. You can also assign different security groups to different testing environments to block traffic between the environments and improve development efficiency.

Only assign public IP addresses to ECS instances that require Internet access

For the classic network or virtual private clouds (VPCs), proper allocation of public IP addresses facilitates Internet access management and reduces the attack surface of systems. In VPCs, we recommend that you allocate ECS instances that require Internet access to several specified vSwitches. This makes it easy to audit and distinguish the instances and helps avoid unexpected exposure of ECS instances for Internet access.

Most distributed applications have different layers and groups. For ECS instances that do not provide Internet access, we recommend that you do not assign public IP addresses. If multiple instances that provide Internet access, we recommend that you configure Server Load Balancer (SLB) to distribute Internet traffic to improve system availability and avoid single points of failure. For more information, visit the Server Load Balancer product page.

For ECS instances that do not need to access the Internet, we recommend that you do not assign public IP addresses. In VPCs, if your ECS instances do not have public IP addresses but do require Internet access, we recommend that you use NAT gateways to provide Internet proxy services for the instances. You need only to configure SNAT entries to provide Internet access for specific CIDR blocks or subnets. This way, you can avoid exposing services to the Internet after public IP addresses are assigned, when only outbound Internet access is required. For more information, see Create an SNAT entry on an Internet NAT gateway.

Principle of least privilege

Security groups are expected to work like whitelists. Therefore, open and expose as few ports as you need and allocate as few public IP addresses as you need. You can associate elastic IP addresses with online ECS instances to allow easy access to the instances for task log queries and troubleshooting. However, this operation exposes the instances to the Internet. We recommend that you use jump servers instead to manage ECS instances to improve security.

Use a jump server

A jump server has much higher permissions. You must use tools to thoroughly record and audit relevant operations. We recommend that you assign the jump server to a dedicated vSwitch in a VPC and then associate the corresponding elastic IP address or NAT port forwarding table with the jump server.

Create a dedicated security group named SG_BRIDGE and open required ports. For example, open TCP port 22 for Linux operating systems and RDP port 3389 for Windows operating systems. To restrict inbound access to the security group, you can allow only specified public IP addresses of your enterprise to access the security group. This way, you can reduce the probability that resources are scanned or accessed.

Add the ECS instance that functions as a jump server to the security group. To allow the jump server to access ECS instances in another security group, you can configure a rule that allows access to that security group for the jump server. For example, you can add a rule to a security group named SG_CURRENT to allow access from the SG_BRIDGE security group to specific protocols and ports.

When you use the jump server for SSH communication, we recommend that you use SSH key pairs to log on to ECS instances. For more information, see Overview.

In summary, proper planning of security groups makes it easy for you to scale applications and improve the security of your system.