edit-icon download-icon

Network selection

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2017

Log Service provides access points to three network types: intranet, private network, and the Internet. This allows for easy access and convergence of data in hybrid network environments.

Each region is provided with three access points:

  • Intranet (classic network): Can be accessed by services within the same region. This type of access point is recommended for optimal bandwidth link quality.
  • Internet (classic network): Can be accessed by any service. The access speed varies with link quality. HTTPS is recommended for transmission security.
  • Private network (VPC): Can be accessed through VPC by services in the same region.


Assume that Log Service is created in China East 1 (Hangzhou). The following table shows access to Log Service from different types of networks.

Data source Network access type Network solution
China East 1 (Hangzhou) ECS classic network Intranet
China East 1 (Hangzhou) ECS VPC Private network
China East 2 (Shanghai) ECS classic network/VPC Internet (HTTPS)
IDC Leased line connected to China East 1 (Hangzhou) Intranet
IDC Internet (HTTPS)

Access reference

  • Logtail: Refer to Install Logtail for Windows and Install Logtail for Linux.
    • To collect logs on a non-ECS server, you need to place a user ID (through the touch command) on the server to indicate the server owner. For details, refer to Configure user IDs for non-Alibaba Cloud ECS.
    • In VPC, if machine groups cannot be identified by IP addresses, use user-defined IDs to manage machines. The IDs are used to group machines as web-server and app-server with support of automatic resizing.
  • API/SDK: Configure access points.
  • Tracking Pixel/Android/IOS SDK: Access Log Service through the Internet.
  • Syslog: Refer to the above Logtail description.
Thank you! We've received your feedback.