您可以通过基于最后一次访问时间(Last Access Time)策略的生命周期规则来自动监测数据的访问模式并识别冷数据,然后将识别出来的冷数据进行存储类型的转换,从而达到数据的冷热分层存储,最终降低存储成本。

使用场景

  • 多媒体场景

    某网站的视频、图片存储在OSS上,历史数据会逐渐从热转冷。因此,您可能需要将网站内长时间不被访问的数据保存为低频访问类型。此外,部分数据距离上传时间已久,但仍然是热门访问数据,这部分数据需要继续保存为标准存储类型。在该场景下应选用基于最后一次访问时间的生命周期规则,用于自动识别冷热数据并进行分层存储,从而降低存储成本。

  • 相册或网盘场景

    对于长时间没有访问的冷数据,希望设置自定义转储天数,自动将冷数据转为低频访问类型,并确保数据的实时访问。

  • 生命科学场景

    基因测序生成的大量业务数据,往往需要根据数据的最后访问时间而非最后修改时间来判断数据的冷热。按以往,客户只能手动通过日志分析或其他方式进行数据冷热的分层管理。但如果选用基于最后一次访问时间的生命周期规则,则可实现由服务端根据最后访问时间来自动识别冷热数据并实现数据分层存储。不仅如此,您还可以在同一条生命周期规则中同时结合最后访问时间与最后修改时间的策略,从而更灵活地进行数据管理。

操作方式

您可以在OSS管理控制台先开启Bucket级别的访问追踪功能,然后创建基于最后一次访问时间的生命周期规则,从而实现数据的智能分层存储。具体步骤,请参见设置生命周期规则

注意事项

  • 支持地域

    仅华北1(青岛)、华北5(呼和浩特)、德国(法兰克福)以及澳大利亚(悉尼)地域支持创建基于最后一次访问时间的生命周期规则。

  • 最后一次访问时间更新策略

    开启访问追踪后,OSS默认以访问跟踪开启时间作为Bucket中所有Object的最后一次访问时间,后续会根据Object的访问情况自动更新Object的最后一次访问时间。如果24小时内,同一个Object有多次GetObject请求,则OSS会将首次GetObject的请求时间记录为Object最后一次访问时间。

    此外,访问目标Object对应的软链接时不会更新目标Object的最后一次访问时间。

  • 转储的Object类型

    基于最后一次访问时间的生命周期规则支持将Object从标准存储类型转为低频访问类型,还可以选择当Object被访问后是否自动转回标准存储类型。不支持转储为归档或冷归档存储类型。

  • 费用说明
    • Object监控管理费用

      开启访问追踪后会产生Object监控管理费,但OSS暂不收取该费用。

    • 存储费用

      您可以针对任意大小的Object设置基于最后一次访问时间的生命周期规则,OSS会根据Object所处的存储类型收取不同的存储费用。当Object处于标准存储类型时,按照标准存储容量收费。当Object处于低频访问类型时,按照低频访问容量收费。但是,当Object小于64 KB时,按照64 KB计算。当Object大于或等于64 KB时,按照实际大小计算。

    • 低频访问不足规定时长容量费用

      低频访问类型Object有最低30天的存储时长要求。如果存储时长未达到最低天数要求,还会产生不足规定时长容量费用。该计费项结合生命周期规则的示例说明如下:

      示例一:标准类型Object在其创建10天后,通过生命周期将其转换为低频访问类型,过了5天后又将其转回标准存储。此时会产生15天的低频访问不足规定时长容量费用。

      示例二:标准类型Object在其创建10天后,通过生命周期将其转换为低频访问类型,过了15天后将其删除。此时会产生5天的低频访问不足规定时长容量费用。

      通过CopyObject将Object覆写为低频访问类型时,Object也有最小存储天数限制。例如标准存储类型文件在其创建10天后,通过CopyObject覆写操作将存储类型转换为低频存储,再过10天后将其删除。此时会产生20天的低频访问存储不足规定时长费用。

    • 低频访问数据取回费用

      访问低频访问类型文件产生的费用,按数据取回量计费。

常见问题

  • 创建的生命周期规则为什么没有即刻生效?

    生命周期规则创建后的24小时内,OSS会加载规则。规则加载完成后,OSS会在每天的北京时间8:00开始执行规则,并在随后的24小时内执行完毕。因此,生命周期规则创建后最多可能需要48小时才会生效。

  • 如果针对Bucket内相同前缀的Object创建了两条生命周期规则,其中一条规则基于最后一次修改时间,另外一条规则基于最后一次访问时间,最终执行效果会怎么样?

    例如,针对目标存储空间examplebucket创建了两条生命周期规则,规则一指定该Bucket内所有前缀为doc的Object在距离最后一次修改时间30天后删除,规则二指定该Bucket内所有前缀为doc的Object在距离最后一次访问时间30天后转低频访问类型。

    由于OSS执行生命周期规则时遵循以用户最低开销为原则,因此仅规则一生效。原因是规则一中指定30天后直接删除与前缀匹配的Object,此后将不再产生任意费用。而规则二转为低频访问类型仍会收取相关存储费用或者数据取回费用等。

  • 已配置的生命周期规则变更后何时生效,原有规则命中的数据如何处理?

    例如,您已经针对前缀为er的Object配置了距离最后一次访问时间30天后转低频、又过了30天后当Object被访问时选择将其转为标准存储类型的生命周期规则。但是在距离最后一次访问时间的35天后,您将生命周期指定的前缀er变更为re,此时原有Object仅转存为低频访问类型,转存为标准存储类型的行为不生效。变更规则命中Object的最后一次访问时间也是从Bucket开启访问追踪时开始统计。

  • 在已开启版本控制的Bucket内开启智能分层,Bucket内不同版本的Object存储层级如何分布?

    在已开启版本控制Bucket内的每一个Object都有唯一的版本ID,且不同版本ID的Object相互独立。因此可能会出现历史版本Object为低频访问类型,但是最新版本Object为标准存储类型的情况。

  • 是否支持关闭访问追踪?

    支持,前提是当前Bucket不存在基于最后一次访问时间的生命周期规则。关闭访问追踪后,系统将停止追踪Object的最后一次访问时间信息。待下一次开启访问追踪后,将重新刷新所有Object的最后一次访问时间。

You can configure lifecycle rules for a bucket based on the last access time of objects in the bucket. Then, Object Storage Service (OSS) monitors the access patterns of objects in the bucket, identifies cold data, and then converts the storage class of cold data. This way, cold data is stored by using storage classes that are different from those of hot data, which helps you reduce storage costs.

Scenarios

  • Multimedia data storage

    If you store the videos and images of your website in an OSS bucket, the data may become infrequently accessed over time. For data that becomes infrequently accessed, you may need to convert the storage class of the data to Infrequent Access (IA). For data that has been uploaded for a long time but is still frequently accessed, you need to keep the storage class of the data as Standard. In this case, you can configure a lifecycle rule based on the last access time for the bucket to store cold and hot data by using different storage classes to reduce storage costs.

  • Albums or network disks

    You can configure a lifecycle rule based on the last access time for a bucket that is used to store albums or used as network disks. In this case, the storage class of cold data is automatically converted to IA after the lifecycle rule is triggered. In addition, the storage class of the cold data can be converted back to Standard when the data is accessed, which ensures real-time access to the data.

  • Life science data storage

    A large amount of data is generated in DNA sequencing. Users need to determine whether the data is frequently accessed based on the last access time but not last modified time of the data. In the past, users must manually analyze logs to identify cold and hot data and then use different methods to manage cold and hot data. In this case, you can configure a lifecycle rule based on the last access time. This way, OSS automatically identifies cold and hot objects based on the last access time of the objects and stores the objects by using different storage classes. In addition, you can specify policies based on the last access time and last modified time in the same lifecycle rule to flexibly manage data.

Implementation methods

To create a lifecycle rule based on the last access time for a bucket, you must enable access tracking for the bucket in the OSS console. For more information, see Configure lifecycle rules.

Usage notes

  • Supported regions

    You can configure lifecycle rules based on the last access time only for buckets in the China (Qingdao), China (Hohhot), Germany (Frankfurt), and Australia (Sydney) regions.

  • Policies based on the last access time

    After you enable access tracking for a bucket, the last access time of all objects in the bucket is set to the time when access tracking is enabled and is updated based on the actual access time of the objects. If multiple GetObject requests are sent to access the same object within 24 hours, the last access time of the object is set to the time when the object is accessed by the first GetObject request within the period.

    In addition, if a symbolic link is accessed, the last access time of the object that the symbolic link points to is not updated.

  • Supported storage classes

    In a lifecycle rule based on the last access time, you can specify policies to convert the storage class of objects from Standard to IA. In addition, you can specify whether to convert the storage class of the IA objects back to Standard after the objects are accessed. The storage classes of objects cannot be converted to Archive or Cold Archive based on lifecycle rules based on the last access time.

  • Billing
    • Storage fees

      You can configure lifecycle rules based on the last access time for objects of all sizes. You are charged storage fees for the objects based on the sizes and storage classes of the objects. If the storage class of the objects is Standard, you are charged storage fees based on the sizes of the objects and the unit price of Standard objects. If the storage class of the objects is IA, you are charged storage fees based on the sizes of the objects and the unit price of IA objects. Objects have a minimum billable size of 64 KB. Objects that are equal to or larger than 64 KB in size are billed based on their actual sizes.

    • Storage fees for IA objects that are stored for less than the minimum storage duration

      IA objects have a minimum storage duration of 30 days. You are charged for the entire minimum storage duration of IA objects if the IA objects are stored for less than the minimum storage duration. The following examples show how IA objects are charged when lifecycle rules based on the last access time are configured:

      Example 1: A Standard object is converted to an IA object 10 days after the object is created, and then is converted back to a Standard object five days later based on a lifecycle rule. In this case, you are also charged for the remaining 15 days of the IA objects minimum storage duration of 30 days.

      Example 2: A Standard object is converted to an IA object 10 days after the object is created, and then is deleted 15 days later based on a lifecycle rule. In this case, you are also charged for the remaining five days of the IA objects minimum storage duration of 30 days.

      If you call CopyObject to overwrite a Standard object with an IA object, the IA object also has a minimum storage duration. For example, you call CopyObject to convert the storage class of a Standard object to IA 10 days after the Standard object is created, and then delete the IA object after 10 days. In this case, you are also charged for the remaining 20 days of the IA objects minimum storage duration.

    • Retrieval fees for IA objects

      When you access IA objects, you are charged data retrieval fees based on the size of the retrieved IA objects.

FAQ

  • Why does a lifecycle rule not take effect immediately after it is created?

    After a lifecycle rule is configured, OSS loads the rule within 24 hours. After the lifecycle rule is loaded, OSS runs the rule every day at 08:00:00 (UTC+8) and completes the actions triggered by the rule within 24 hours. Therefore, it takes 48 hours at most for a lifecycle rule to take effect after it is created.

  • What will happen if I configure a lifecycle rule based on the last modified time and a lifecycle rule based on the last access time at the same time for objects that have the same prefix in the same bucket?

    For example, you configure two lifecycle rules for a bucket named examplebucket at the same time. The first rule specifies that all objects prefixed with doc in examplebucket are deleted 30 days after the objects are last modified. The second rule specifies that the storage class of all objects prefixed with doc in examplebucket is converted to IA 30 days after the objects are last accessed.

    If the first rule is implemented, no fees are incurred after the specified objects are deleted based on the rule. If the second rule is implemented, you are still charged storage fees and data retrieval fees after the storage class of the specified objects is converted based on the rule. In this case, only the first lifecycle rule takes effect because OSS implement lifecycle rules based on which fewer fees are incurred.

  • When does a lifecycle rule take effect after I modify the rule? What will happen to the objects to which the original rule applies?

    For example, you configure a lifecycle rule for objects whose names contain the er prefix. Based on the lifecycle rule, the storage class of the objects is converted to IA 30 days after the objects are last accessed, and the storage class of the objects can be converted back to Standard when the IA objects are accessed 30 days later. In this case, if you change the prefix that you specify in the lifecycle rule from er to re 35 days after the objects prefixed with er are last accessed, the storage class of these objects has already been converted to IA and cannot be converted back to Standard based on the original lifecycle rule. After the lifecycle rule is modified, the last access time of the objects whose names contain the re prefix is tracked after access tracking is enabled for the bucket.

  • How are objects stored if I configure lifecycle rules based on the last access time for a versioned bucket?

    In a versioned bucket, each object has a unique version ID. Objects with different version IDs are stored as different objects. Therefore, after you configure lifecycle rules based on the last access time for a versioned bucket, the storage class of the current version of an object may be different from that of a previous version of the same object.

  • Can I disable access tracking?

    Yes. However, before you disable access tracking for a bucket, you must make sure that no lifecycle rules based on the last access time are configured for the bucket. After you disable access tracking for a bucket, OSS stops tracking the last access time of objects in the bucket. If you enable access tracking for the bucket again, the last access time of objects in the bucket is reset.