本文介绍RDS PostgreSQL的一些开发运维建议,帮助您有效提升数据库使用的规范性、稳定性和高性能。

设计

  • 表结构中字段定义的数据类型建议与应用程序中的定义保持一致,表之间字段校对规则一致,避免报错或无法使用索引的情况发生。
  • 建议分区表的主键序列全局唯一。
  • 对于存在定期历史数据删除需求的业务,建议数据表按时间分区,删除时使用DROP或者TRUNCATE操作对应的表,不建议使用DELETE操作。
  • 对于频繁更新的表,建议在建表时指定表的FILLFACTOR=85,每页预留15%的空间用于HOT更新。
    CREATE TABLE test123(id int, info text) WITH(FILLFACTOR=85);  
  • 临时表建议以tmp_开头,子表建议根据业务场景以规则结尾,例如按年分区的主表如果为tbl,则子表为tbl_2016、tbl_2017等。
索引
  • B-Tree索引字段至多2000字节,如果存在超过2000字节的字段需要新建索引,建议使用函数索引(例如哈希值索引)或分词索引。
  • 对于线性顺序存储的数据(如流式数据、时间字段或自增字段),通常查询时使用范围查询,建议使用BRIN索引,减少索引的大小,加快数据插入速度。
    CREATE INDEX idx ON tbl using BRIN(id);
  • 建议避免全表扫描(大数据量扫描的数据分析除外),PostgreSQL支持几乎所有数据类型的索引。

    索引接口包括:B-Tree、Hash、GIN、GiST、SP-GiST、BRIN、RUM(扩展接口)、Bloom(扩展接口)、PASE(扩展接口)。

  • 主键索引建议以pk_ 开头, 唯一索引建议以uk_开头,普通索引建议以idx_开头。
数据类型及字符集
  • 建议选择合适的数据类型,目标数据为数字时不建议使用字符串,目标数据可以存为树类型时不建议使用字符串。

    使用合理的数据类型,可以提高数据的查询效率。

    PostgreSQL支持的数据类型如下:精确的数字类型、浮点、货币、字符串、字符、字节流、日期、时间、布尔、枚举、几何、网络地址、比特流、文本、UUID、XML、JSON、数组、复合类型、范围类型、对象、行号、大对象、ltree树结构类型、cube多维类型、earth地球类型、hstore类型、pg_trgm相似类型、PostGIS(点、线段、面、路径、经纬度、raster、拓扑等)。

  • 所有字符的存储与表示,建议使用UTF-8编码。
  • COMMENT内容不建议使用中文,避免由于写入与读取的编码不一样而降低可读性。
  • 逻辑备份(pg_dump)时建议与COMMENT内容的编码一致,避免乱码。

数据查询

  • SELECT语句中使用AS关键字设置别名时,建议使用:小写字母(a~z),下划线(_),数字(0~9)。
  • 不建议使用COUNT(列名)COUNT(常量)来替代COUNT(*)COUNT(*)是SQL92定义的标准统计行数的语法,会统计NULL值(真实行数),而COUNT(列名)不会统计。
  • 使用COUNT(多列列名)时,多列列名必须使用括号,例如COUNT( (col1,col2,col3) )。注意使用COUNT(多列列名)时,所有NULL行都会被计数,所以效果与COUNT(*)一致。
  • 不建议使用SELECT * FROM t,用具体的字段列表代替*,避免返回用不到的字段。
  • 除ETL(Extract-Transform-Load)程序外,建议避免向客户端返回大数据量,若数据量过大,应该考虑相应需求是否合理。
  • 对于需要范围查询的场景,建议使用范围类型以及GiST索引,提高范围检索的查询性能。
  • 如果应用经常访问较大结果集的数据(例如100条),建议将数据聚合成1条,例如经常要按ID访问此ID的数据,建议定期按ID聚合数据,查询时返回的记录数越少响应越快。

管理

  • 删除和修改记录时,为避免误删除,建议先使用SELECT确认后,再提交执行。
  • DDL操作(以及类似的可能获取锁的操作,例如VACUUM FULLCREATE INDEX等)建议设置锁等待,用于防止堵塞所有与该DDL锁对象相关的查询。
    begin;  
    SET local lock_timeout = '10s';  
    -- DDL query;  
    end;
  • 您可以使用EXPLAIN ANALYZE查看实际的执行计划,但是如果需要查看的执行计划涉及数据变更时,必须在事务中执行EXPLAIN ANALYZE,查看完成后再进行回滚。
    begin;  
    EXPLAIN ANALYZE query;  
    rollback;
  • 建议为每个业务分配不同的数据库账号,不建议多个业务共用一个数据库账号。
  • 数据库名推荐由部门名称与功能组成或与应用名一致,提升辨识度。
  • 建议为每个业务分配对应的SCHEMA,schema_name与user name一致。
  • 大批量删除和更新数据时,建议分批次操作,不建议在一个事务中完成,以免一次产生较多垃圾。如果一定要大批量操作的话,建议操作前检查数据表膨胀率,操作后使用清理表空间(pg_repack)重组表。

性能与稳定性

  • 在代码中写分页查询逻辑时,建议当count为0应直接返回,避免执行后面的分页语句。
  • 游标使用后建议及时关闭。
  • 建议使用TRUNCATE代替DELETE全表,提升性能。
  • 对于高并发的应用场景,建议使用绑定变量(PreparedStatement),防止数据库硬解析消耗过多的CPU资源。建议使用程序的连接池,避免性能下降。如果程序没有连接池,建议在应用层和数据库之间架设连接池,例如使用PgBouncer或者Pgpool-II作为连接池。
  • 如果您的数据不需要持久化,建议使用UNLOGGED table来提升数据写入和修改的性能。
  • 在函数或程序中,不建议使用COUNT(*)判断是否存在数据。 建议在语句中使用LIMIT 1
  • 避免频繁创建和删除临时表,以减少系统表资源的消耗。
  • PostgreSQL支持DDL事务,支持回滚DDL,建议将DDL封装在事务中执行,必要时可以回滚,但是需要注意事务的长度,避免长时间堵塞DDL对象的读操作。
  • 尽量在业务层面避免死锁的产生,例如一个用户的数据,尽量在一个线程内处理,而不要跨线程(即跨数据库会话处理)。
  • 对于网络复杂并且RT(Reaction Time)要求很高的场景,如果业务逻辑冗长,建议减少数据库和程序之间的交互次数,使用数据库存储过程(如 PL/pgSQL)或内置函数。PostgreSQL内置的PL/pgSQL函数语言提供处理复杂业务逻辑的功能。

    PostgreSQL还内置了分析函数、聚合函数、窗口函数、普通类型函数、复杂类型函数、数学函数和几何函数等多种函数。

  • 如果有大批量的数据入库,建议使用copy语法,或者INSERT INTO table VALUES (),(),...();的方式,提高写入速度。

监控与诊断分析

  • RDS PostgreSQL支持通过增强监控查看操作系统及数据库的性能监控项,您可以查看30天内任意时间范围内的指标数据变化,有利于判断性能下降的时间点,排查性能问题,还可以根据不同的时间范围(如30分钟、1小时、7天等)查看各指标的平均值、最大值和最小值,掌握实例的运行情况,比较系统操作峰值与非峰值时的性能差异。增强监控的更多信息,请参见查看增强监控
  • RDS PostgreSQL支持设置一键告警,对您关注的指标设置监控项,在触发监控项的报警规则时,通过邮件和短信通知报警联系组中的所有联系人,有利于及时发现隐患,提升系统稳定性。更多信息,请参见管理报警

相关参考

关于PostgreSQL的更多开发运维建议,请参见PostgreSQL 数据库开发规范

This topic describes some development and O&M recommendations that can help you increase the security compliance, stability, and performance of your ApsaraDB RDS for PostgreSQL instance.

Design

Table design
  • We recommend that the data types defined for the fields of the schema in your RDS instance be consistent with those defined in your application. We also recommend that the same rules be used to check fields for all tables. This way, you can prevent errors and the inability to use indexes.
  • If a partitioned table has a primary key column, we recommend that a unique sequence be created on the primary key column of the partitioned table.
  • If you need to delete historical data on a regular basis, we recommend that you partition tables by time. We also recommend that you execute the DROP or TRUNCATE statement on tables to delete data. We recommend that you do not execute the DELETE statement on tables to delete data.
  • If you need to frequently update a table, we recommend that you set the FILLFACTOR parameter of the table to 85 and reserve 15% of the available storage space when you create the table. The reserved storage space is used for updates of hot data in the table.
    CREATE TABLE test123(id int, info text) WITH(FILLFACTOR=85);  
  • We recommend that the names of temporary tables start with tmp_. We also recommend that the names of child tables end with the rule based on which the parent table of the child tables is partitioned. For example, if the name of a parent table that is partitioned by year starts with tbl, the names of the child tables of the parent table also start with tbl. Examples: tbl_2016 and tbl_2017.
Index design
  • A B-tree index contains fields of up to 2,000 bytes. If an index contains more than 2,000 bytes, a new index is required. We recommend that you create a function index, such as a hash index. Otherwise, we recommend that you use an analyzer to analyze the data before an index is created on the data.
  • Some data, such as streaming data, time fields, and auto-increment fields, may be stored in a linear order. In most cases, range queries are run to query this data. We recommend that you create BRIN indexes to reduce the size per index and speed up data insertion.
    CREATE INDEX idx ON tbl using BRIN(id);
  • We recommend that you do not run full table scans, except when you need to scan and analyze a large amount of data. ApsaraDB RDS for PostgreSQL supports indexes of almost all data types.

    The following types of indexes are supported: B-tree, Hash, GIN, GiST, SP-GiST, BRIN, RUM, Bloom, and PASE. Among these types of indexes, RUN, Bloom, and PASE are extended indexes.

  • We recommend that the names of primary key indexes start with pk_, the names of unique indexes start with uk_, and the names of regular indexes start with idx_.
Data type design and character set design
  • We recommend that you choose an appropriate data type for the data you want to write. If you want to write numeric data or the data that you want to write can be stored in tree structures, we recommend that you do not choose the string data type.

    An appropriate data type increases query efficiency.

    ApsaraDB RDS for PostgreSQL supports the following data types: Numeric, Floating-Point, Monetary, String, Character, Binary, Date/Time, Boolean, Enumerated, Geometric, Network Address, Bit String, Text Search, UUID, XML, JSON, Array, Composite, Range, Object identifier, row number, large object, ltree structure, Data Cube, geography, H-Store, pg_trgm module, and PostGIS. PostGIS includes data types such as point, line segment, surface, path, latitude, longitude, raster, and topology.

  • We recommend that all characters be stored and represented in the UTF-8 format.
  • We recommend that you do not use Chinese characters in COMMENT. If you use Chinese characters in COMMENT, input encoding is inconsistent with output encoding and the readability of data deteriorates.
  • When you use the pg_dump plug-in to create a logical backup for your RDS instance, we recommend that you use the same encoding that is used to encode COMMENT. This prevents garbled characters.

Data query

  • If you use the AS keyword in an alias in SELECT statements, we recommend that the alias contain lowercase letters, underscores (_), and digits.
  • We recommend that you do not use COUNT (column_name) or COUNT (constants). We recommend that you use COUNT(*). COUNT(*) is a standard function that is defined in SQL-92 to count the number of rows. COUNT(*) counts in NULL values, but COUNT (column_name) does not count in NULL values.
  • If COUNT (DISTINCT) is used, the names of the multiple columns that you want to specify must be enclosed in a pair of parenthesis (()). Example: COUNT( (col1,col2,col3) ). COUNT (DISTINCT) counts in all NULL values. Therefore, COUNT (DISTINCT) produces the same result as COUNT(*).
  • We recommend that you do not use SELECT * FROM t. Replace the wildcard (*) with an array of fields that you need. This way, ApsaraDB RDS returns only the fields that you specify and does not return fields that you do not need.
  • We recommend that you prevent ApsaraDB RDS from returning large amounts of data to the database client, except for extract, transform, and load (ETL) operations. If the amount of data that is returned for a query is abnormally large, consider whether the execution plan of the query is optimal.
  • If you need to run range queries, we recommend that you use the Range data type and GiST indexes to improve query performance.
  • If your application frequently initiates queries for which a large number of results are returned, we recommend that you aggregate all results for such a query into a result set. For example, if the number of results returned for a query reaches 100, we recommend that you aggregate the 100 results for the query into a result set. In addition, if your application frequently accesses the results in the result set by ID, we recommend that you aggregate the results by ID on a regular basis. A small number of results returned indicates shorter response time.

Instance management

  • Before you commit the transactions that are run to delete or modify data, we recommend that you execute the SELECT statement to confirm the transactions. This helps you prevent accidental operations.
  • If you need to perform DDL operations or other similar operations that may acquire locks on specific objects, we recommend that you configure a lock wait mechanism such as VACUUM FULL and CREATE INDEX. The lock wait mechanism is used to prevent these operations from blocking queries on the locked objects.
    begin;  
    SET local lock_timeout = '10s';  
    -- DDL query;  
    end;
  • You can execute the EXPLAIN ANALYZE statement to view the execution plan of a query. However, if the execution plan of a query involves data changes, you must execute the EXPLAIN ANALYZE statement in the transaction, and roll the transaction back after the statement is executed.
    begin;  
    EXPLAIN ANALYZE query;  
    rollback;
  • We recommend that you associate different database accounts with different applications. We recommend that you do not share the same database account with different applications.
  • We recommend that the name of each database consist of the department name and the feature name or be consistent with the application name. This makes it easy to identify each database.
  • We recommend that you allocate a schema for each of your applications. The name of a schema must be consistent with the name of the user.
  • If you need to delete data or update a large amount of data, we recommend that you break the data into batches and delete or update each batch of data in an independent transaction. We recommend that you do not delete or update all data in one transaction. If you delete or update all data in one transaction, a large amount of junk data is generated. If you need to perform a large number of operations on a table, we recommend that you check the bloat rate of the table before the operations and use the Use pg_repack to clear tablespaces plug-in to reorganize the table after the operations.

Performance and stability

  • When you write the logic of paged query into the code, we recommend that you configure ApsaraDB RDS to return the result of a paged query if the value that is returned by the COUNT () function is 0. This way, ApsaraDB RDS does not need to execute the subsequent statements for the paged query.
  • If you no longer need the cursor feature, we recommend that you disable this feature.
  • If you want to delete data from a table, we recommend that you execute the TRUNCATE statement instead of the DELETE statement on the table. This can improve the performance of your RDS instance.
  • If your application initiates highly concurrent queries, we recommend that you use the PreparedStatement variable in these queries to prevent hard parsing from consuming excessive CPU resources. We recommend that you enable the connection pool feature of your application to prevent the performance of your RDS instance from deteriorating. If your application does not support the connection pool feature, we recommend that you configure a connection pool between your application and your RDS instance. For example, PgBouncer or Pgpool-II can be used as a connection pool.
  • If your data does not need to be persistently stored, we recommend that you use the UNLOGGED table statement to improve the performance of data writes and modifications.
  • We recommend that you do not nest the COUNT(*) function in functions or programs to check whether a data record exists. We recommend that you use the LIMIT 1 clause in statements.
  • Do not frequently create or delete temporary tables. This way, you can reduce the consumption of system table resources.
  • PostgreSQL supports DDL transactions and supports the rollback of DDL statements. We recommend that you encapsulate DDL statements in transactions. You can roll the DDL statements back if necessary. However, you plan an appropriate length for these transactions. If these transactions are long, the read operations on the objects that are being accessed by these transactions may be blocked for a long period of time.
  • We recommend that you prevent deadlocks in your application. For example, you can process the data from a user in one thread. We recommend that you do not process the data from a user across threads or across database sessions.
  • For scenarios with complex networks and high Reaction Time (RT) requirements, if the business logic is lengthy, we recommend that you reduce the number of interactions between your application and your RDS instance. In addition, use the PL/pgSQL language or built-in functions. PL/pgSQL is a procedural programming language that is supported by PostgreSQL and is used to process complex business logic.

    PostgreSQL supports the following common functions and complex functions: analytic functions, aggregate functions, windows functions, mathematical functions, and geometric functions.

  • If a large amount of data needs to be written to your RDS instance, we recommend that you run the copy command or execute the INSERT INTO table VALUES (),(),...(); statement to improve the writing speed.

Monitoring and diagnostics

  • ApsaraDB RDS for PostgreSQL supports the alerting feature. You can configure an alert rule for a metric that you are concerned about. If the rule of the metric is triggered, ApsaraDB RDS notifies all the contacts in the alert contact group by emails and text messages. This feature helps you detect potential issues in a timely manner and improves system stability. For more information, see Configure an alert rule on an ApsaraDB RDS for PostgreSQL instance.

References

For more information about PostgreSQL, see PostgreSQL database development specifications.